African Studies
CRL’s collection of African-related resources contains a wide variety of newspapers, monographs, archival collections, serials, government publications, and dissertations, spanning four centuries and covering virtually every country in Africa. Available via interlibrary loan.
Cooperative Africana Microform Project
The Cooperative Africana Microform Project (CAMP), founded in 1963, is a joint effort by research libraries throughout the world and the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) to promote the preservation of publications and archives concerning the nearly fifty nations of Sub-Saharan Africa and to make these materials in microform available to researchers. Available via interlibrary loan.
There is no single place to search for information and research on Africa. Depending on your research topic and discipline focus, different sources of information will be important to you, such as discipline-specific article indexes, news sites, and theses or dissertations.
Omni is a great place to start your research on African Studies. You can locate books, ebooks, chapters, journal/magazine/newspaper articles, conference proceedings, theses, videos, and more, on your specific topic, all from a single search box. The resources listed on this page are a selection from the many resources, both in print and available online, that Queen's University Library has on African Studies.
One of the largest multidisciplinary article indexes. Find articles in peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports covering a broad spectrum of topics.
Academic OneFile
Multidisciplinary index to scholarly peer-reviewed academic journals, as well as newspaper and audio material, including podcasts and news transcripts.
JSTOR 
Covers a large range of subject areas including African Studies. JSTOR: African Studies
Project MUSE
A joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU. Can limit your search results to Project Muse: African Studies.
PAIS (Public Affairs International)
Covers publications on global public policy and social issues.
Worldwide Political Studies Abstracts
Indexes international political science, international relations, and complementary fields including law, military policy, labor relations, and public administration/policy.
AfricaBib
An open access database that indexes the following types of materials: books and government documents; articles appearing in edited books; periodical and journal articles; Masters theses and Ph.D. dissertations as well as a few B.A. theses and honors papers; and conference papers.
African Journals Online: Open Access Collection
"African Journals OnLine (AJOL) is the world's largest and pre-eminent collection of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals." The OA collection contains over 200 open access titles.
African Journal Archive
The African Journal Archive is a retrospective open access journal service that preserves and makes available African journal literature dating as far back as 1906, originating from a wide base of publishers and societies on the African continent. The "access key" indicates which titles are available.
African e-Journals Project
To expand free, online access to journals published in Africa, the African e-Journals Project has digitized full text of articles of eleven social science and humanities journals.
Africana Periodical Literature
The Africana Periodical Literature database provides metadata of articles on Africa covering a wide range of topics, from geography, history and anthropology to agriculture, women's studies, medicine and health. It currently contains more than 177,000 records from over 800 journals. There is a strong focus on journals published in Africa. More than 41,100 articles have a link to full text, and more than 73,900 articles have an abstract.
Connecting Africa
A gateway to African research information and materials produced worldwide. It provides access to 65315 publications from 93 repositories.
Sabinet African Journal Archive
The African Journal Archive is a retrospective open access journal service that preserves and makes available African journal literature dating as far back as 1906, originating from a wide base of publishers and societies on the African continent.
Cambridge Histories Online: Middle East and African Studies
Includes the Cambridge History of Africa and the Cambridge History of South Africa
Dictionary of African Biography
From the pharaohs to Frantz Fanon, Dictionary of African Biography provides a comprehensive overview of the lives of the men and women who shaped Africa’s history. Unprecedented in scale, DAB covers the whole continent from Tunisia to South Africa, from Sierra Leone to Somalia.
AllAfrica.com
AllAfrica is a voice of, by and about Africa - aggregating, producing and distributing 900 news and information items daily from over 150 African news organizations and our own reporters to an African and global public.
Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of A Continent
Africa Focus brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary resources: research and teaching materials collected by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable items related to these fields held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries. This collection contains more than 3000 slides, 500 photographs, and 50 hours of sounds from forty-five different countries.
African Oral Narratives
Open access digital library containing collections of oral and life histories, folklore, and songs from Ethiopia, Ghana, and South Africa. These audio and video resources capture the voices and experiences of ordinary men and women. In more than a half dozen African languages, these materials can be used for conducting historical research and to learn about many African cultures and languages.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. It includes published recordings owned by the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label, archival audio collections of the Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels, and music recorded around the African continent and the South Asian subcontinent.