The following databases and collections include Indigenous news content such as newspapers.
Alternative Press Index
Interdisciplinary index of over 300 periodicals, newspapers and magazines which report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database
Canadian magazines, scholarly journals, news and wire feeds and Canada focused articles spanning business, education, current affairs; also agriculture, economics, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and many more subject areas.
Ethnic NewsWatch
A resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. This includes community publications not found in any other database.
Independent Voices (Open Access)
An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Indigenous Peoples, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press, and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Aboriginal Multi-Media Society
Produces the national newspaper Windspeaker, as well as Raven's Eye, Alberta Sweetgrass, Ontario Birchbark, and Saskatchewan Sage newspapers.
Anishinabek News
Published by the Union of Ontario Indians.
Espaces Autochtones
A Radio-Canada site to unveil, explain and understand Indigenous realities.
Muskrat Magazine
An online Indigenous arts, culture, and living magazine that honours the connection between humans and Indigenous traditional ecological knowledge by exhibiting original works and critical commentary.
Turtle Island News
National weekly newspaper, published at the Grand River Territory of the Six Nations in southern Ontario.
Two Row Times
A free weekly news publication aimed at reaching the Ontario-wide Native market as well as Haudenosaunee communities in the United States.
Wawatay News
Ontario's First Nation Voice since 1974. The Wawatay Native Communications Society serves the communication needs of First Nations people and communities of Nishnawbe Aski Nation through the distribution of a monthly newspaper, daily radio programming, television production services and a multimedia website that seeks to preserve and enhance Indigenous languages and cultures in northern Ontario.
Windspeaker
Windspeaker, established in 1974, is Canada's most widely circulated Indigenous news publication.
APTN News
Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN) is a Canadian television network that provides programming made by, for, and about Indigenous Peoples and issues.
CBC News Indigenous
CBC News site that deals with Indigenous issues including news stories, video and podcasts.
First Nations Drum
National newspaper (No longer publishing but archived content can be accessed).
Eastern Door
A community-based newspaper serving the community of Kahnawake, Quebec.
Ha-Shilth-Sa
First Nations Newspaper featuring news from Nuu-chah-nulth peoples in British Columbia.
IndigiNews
Created in partnership through a partnership between Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN) and The Discourse, IndigiNews currently covers the Okanagan Valley and Vancouver Island.
Ku'ku'kwes News
Independent news website that covers Atlantic Canada.
Nunatsiaq News
Weekly newspaper that serves Nunavut and the Nunavik region of Quebec. Articles are published in English, French, Inuktitut or Inuinnaqtun
Nunavut News North
NNSL Media is the umbrella of Northern News Services Limited’s seven weekly newspapers, two websites and an array of social media channels across the Northwest Territories and Nunavut. Newspapers include the News/North and Yellowknifer.
Raven's Eye (AMMSA)
A news publication specifically designed for the Indigenous people of British Columbia and Yukon.
The Native American Journalists Association (NAJA)
NAJA serves and empowers Indigenous journalists through programs and actions designed to enrich journalism and promote Indigenous people and cultures.
Select Indigenous news podcasts in Canada:
Media Indigena: Indigenous current affairs
A weekly roundtable about Indigenous issues and events in Canada and beyond. Hosted by Rick Harp.
Espaces Autochtones (in French)
From Radio-Canada, provides coverage of Indigenous news, including topical issues, accomplishments and the history of different communities