Newspapers

• British Whig 1834-1926 (merged with Daily Standard to form Whig-Standard in 1926)
  online (incomplete): 1834-1849 via Ontario Community Newspapers Portal
• Daily British Whig 1849-1926 check Omni for microfilm and folio holdings (incomplete)
  online (incomplete): 1850-1926 via Ontario Community Newspapers Portal
• Weekly British Whig 1834-1926 check Omni for microfilm holdings (incomplete)
  online (incomplete): 1856-1895 via Ontario Community Newspapers Portal
• Daily Standard 1908-1926   check Omni for microfilm holdings
• Daily News 1851-1903   (continued 1908-1926 as Daily standard)
• 1851-1901  check Omni for microfilm holdings (incomplete)
• 1862-1864  online via Paper of Record
• 1868-1882 (incomplete) online via Ontario Community Newspapers Portal

Selective Pre-1926 Kingston Newspapers:

• Chronicle and Gazette 1833-1847
• 1833-1845  online via Paper of Record
• 1835-1847 (incomplete) online via Ontario Community Newspapers Portal
• 1819-1845 check Omni for microfilm and folio holdings
• Kingston Chronicle 1819-1833   (continued by Chronicle and Gazette)
  1819-1832 (incomplete) online via Ontario Community Newspapers Portal
  1819-1833  check Omni for microfilm and folio holdings
• Kingston Gazette 1810-1818  (superseded by Kingston Chronicle)
  1810-1818 (incomplete) online via Ontario Community Newspapers Portal- check Omni for microfilm and folio holdings

Indexes for Kingston Newspapers Prior to 1985:

• 1810-1832   no index
• 1833-1845   online via Paper of Record
• 1849-1861   no index
• 1862-1864   online via Paper of Record
• 1865-1984   no index

Digital Kingston
A collection of digitized source material from rare and special collections. Includes the KFPL's index to the Kingston Whig-Standard and its predecessors from 1810-1848.

 

How to Find Kingston Frontenac Newspapers (Kingston Frontenac Public Library)
Part 1  How to Browse all Dates

Part 2  Search 1810-1926

Part 3  Index 1810-1849

 

Current news, check Pressreader. Access is restricted to on-campus use only.

1844-  Microfilm AN5.6.T67G55
1844-  Globe and Mail from 1844 (excluding latest 3-4 years)
11/1977-  Canadian Newsstream
11/1977-  Factiva
1985-  Gale CPI.Q

 

 

10/1998-2010  Microfilm AN5.6.T67N386
11/1998-  Factiva (Includes Financial Post from 1990- )
10/1998-  Canadian Newsstream (delayed 1 day)
 

1907-1998  Stauffer Microfilms (HG3.F53t)
1990-   Factiva (search the National Post)
10/1998-   Canadian Newsstream (delayed 1 day; search the National Post)
1985-10/1998   Canadian Newsstream
Indexes:
1907-1948   Index to the Financial Post   REF HG3 .F52 1990u
1920-1976   Canadian Periodical Index   REF AI3 .C21
1988-1999   CPI.Q

 

1846-1997  Microfilm AN5.6 .O88 C58 (with gaps)
9/1985-   Canadian Newsstream (delayed 1 day)
2001-   Factiva

 

1892-   Microfilm AN5.6.T67 T67
1894-   Toronto Star from 1894 (excluding latest 3 years)
1985-   Canadian Newsstream
1986-   Factiva

 

1985-   Canadian Newsstream 

1987-   Factiva
1872-1927 Proquest Historical Newspapers

 

Microfilm: AN2.B6 C56 (1965-1996)
1988-1 day ago Factiva
1908-1999 Proquest Historical Newspapers

 

 

1851-   Microfilm AN2.N5N48
1980-   Factiva
1851-2009   ProQuest Historical Newspapers

1968-1996   Microfilm AN2.W3 W37 (Stauffer Compact)
6/1984-  Factiva

1981-  Factiva

On 24 August 1959, The Manchester Guardian changed its name to The Guardian. This change reflected the growing prominence of national and international affairs in the newspaper.  In September 1961, The Guardian, which had previously only been published in Manchester, began to be printed in London.

1785-  Microfilm AN4.L6T56 (excluding latest 2-3 months)
1785-2019  The Times Digital Archive
1981-  Factiva

   Indexes:
   1906-1950  Microfilm AI21.T5