Skip to Main Content

Newspapers

A guide to available modern and historical newspapers.

Newspapers: Websites

Please note: some of the content on these websites may be restricted to subscribers.

Portals

Provides contact, circulation, publication, demographic and staffing information for member newspapers from the United States and Canada. 
 
Provides links to news websites with fulltext news content from around the world. Includes television and radio news.

 

Over 1200 newspapers across the US, from the 1700s–2000s.
 
Provides links to thousands of newspapers from around the world, and has excellent coverage of Canadian local and community news. 
 
Provides links to free content on thousands of news and magazine websites from around the world. Organized geographically, and includes short descriptions.

Canada

"...offers newspaper, television and unique online content from some of the nation's most trusted and well-respected media properties, including National Post, Global National, Ottawa Citizen [etc.]"
 
Canada's national public broadcaster provides news and entertainment programming in English and French.
 

Le Devoir

One of Canada's leading French-language newspapers.
 
A google search engine that allows for searching or browsing 4,500 news sources. Topics are updated every 15 minutes.
 
The Journal (Queen's University Student Newspaper) from Sept 8, 2000-
Print copies for previous years are located at Queen's Archives.
 
The most comprehensive French-language news site in North America: Regional, provincial, national and international news.
 
News Media Canada provides links to the websites of Canadian newspapers, with excellent coverage of local and community papers
 
 
A Canadian alternative news website, with a political focus.

United States

One of the most popular American 24-hour television news stations, CNN's website offers print news on the topics and stories of the day.
 
"...recognised worldwide for its authoritative, accurate, and analytical reporting, is one of the world's leading global business news organisations."
 
Business news content.
 
An American cable news station and provides information about the latest headlines.
 
"...a network of collectively run media outlets for the creation of radical, accurate, and passionate telling of the truth."
 
"An independent nonprofit whose roots lie in a commitment to social justice implemented through […] investigative reporting."
 
"...America's oldest weekly magazine and one of its premier journals of opinion. Established by abolitionists in 1865..."
 
 

Wired.com

Wired News offers breaking news, as well as sections devoted to technology, culture, business and politics.

World

For more international news content, please see the Portals section.
 
"Free from the shackles of censorship and government control Aljazeera has offered its audiences in the Arab world much needed freedom of thought, independence, and room for debate. In the rest of the world, ... offers a different and a new perspective."
 
"...aims to provide access to the information and ideas everyone needs to make sense of an increasingly complex world, providing background and context to the news."
 

Reuters
"Reuters is a global information company providing indispensable information tailored for professionals in the financial services, media and corporate markets."

 
Contains reprinted (and in some cases translated and edited) news articles from outside the United States, as well as some original material. Includes a selection of worldwide editorial and political cartoons.