Standards & Codes
In order to locate a standard you need the following pieces of information: name or acronym of the standards developing organization (SDO), standard number, title of the standard, and date of standard. Consult the appropriate standards database (ASTM, IEEE, etc...) to locate the desired standard. Also check Omni for print standards located in Queen's University Library. For more help with standards please visit library guide on standards & codes.
If you're looking for standards on a particular subject, search appropriate keywords ("smoke detectors" or "smoke alarms") in the search engines at the bottom of the page.
ANSI provides free, read-only access to standards incorporated by reference (IBR) in the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations.
Full-text access to 12,000 active standards, plus ASTM journals and publications.
Many current CGSB standards are freely available from the Government of Canada Publications website. The complete set should be available in the fall of 2017.
Access to more than 3,000 current and historical CSA standards and related documents.
Note: The CSA Standards collection is on a new platform that recommends that downloaded PDF documents be opened using the desktop version of Adobe Reader or Acrobat and NOT the built in browser reader. Additionally, the PDF document cannot be accessed off campus. Please use the online version.
Full-text access to more than 2,000 current IEEE standards documents. Includes ISO/IEC/IEEE standards.
If you can't locate a standard in any of our print and online resources, try one of the following standards search engines.
The ANSI Webstore is a searchable database of more than 300,000 standards published by over 100 organizations around the world.
Ei Compendex is the world's most comprehensive engineering literature database. It covers journals, conference proceedings, book series, theses and standards from AIAA, ASCE, ASTM, BSI, IEEE and SAE.
Search, purchase and download thousands of standards from hundreds of major SDOs.
This website provides access to more than 400 international standards (abstracts only) and data on two million patents related to renewable energy. It is maintained by the International Renewable Energy Agency.
Search, purchase and download more than 1 million standards documents published by over 300 SDOs.
This site contains information about U.S. federal, state and military standards.
Search, purchase and download more than 100,000 active and withdrawn Canadian and international standards from BNQ (Quebec), CGA, CGSB, CSA, IEC, ISO and ULC.
Search, purchase and download more than 500,000 standards and codes from hundreds of SDOs.
This website provides access to standards published by UL.
