Afropop Worldwide: award-winning public radio program and multimedia platform dedicated to music from Africa and the African diaspora.
Sounds of Black Composers: playlists for women, film & tv scores, LGBTQ, folk, Black liberation, diaspora, and many curated collections.
Black Film Archive: Films from 1915 to 1979, organized chronologically and by genre, including music.
Archives of African American Music and Culture: Repository covering African American since post-World War II era including popular, religious, and classical music. Documentation of Black radio
African American Art Song Alliance: Contributions to art song, as composers, performers, and scholars with list of published works, links to resources for research and performance, and list of composers; profile includes their biography and media files.
Afrocentric Voices in "Classical" Music: Focuses on classically trained singers and composers of African descent and vocal music forms they influenced, including opera, art songs, and Negro spirituals. Artist Biographies and bibliography.
Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio Iberoamericano: Ibero-American digital cultural heritage of sound recordings and scores, featuring many Latin American music genres.
Black Composers: A Guide to Resources at the Library of Congress
Black Opera Research Network (BORN): History, experiences, politics, and practices of Black opera with published literature and operatic works.
The Black Music History Library: Books, articles, documentaries, films, and podcasts on Black origins of traditional and popular music from 18th c. to present. Organized chronologically and by genre
Blacks in classical music II: an international bibliography and resource guide: Print Reference (Stauffer) ; ML128.B45 B53 2023
Center for Black Music Research: Role of black music in world culture (United States, Africa, Europe, Latin America, Caribbean): personal papers, scores, sheet music, AV, photographs, books, periodicals, and recordings. Includes CBMR collection guides.
Strings / Chamber Repertoire by BIPOC Composers (USC Thornton School of Music)
Early Music America: Diverse repertoire and list of BIPOC composers before 1850, e.g. Black and Brown Composers in Baroque Latin America: An Introduction to the Repertoire and presentation slides.
Expanding the Canon: Black Composers in the Music Theory Classroom
Inclusive Early Music: Inclusive approaches to teaching music history before 1750 with bibliography (Zotero Group library) and shared assignments.
Indigenous Studies Portal Research Tool: Articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs on Indigenous peoples of Canada including bibliography on Indigenous Music & Song
Latin American Choral Music: Composers 1550 - present: archives and links to websites, choral and musical organizations, research institutes, universities and libraries, databases, and e-periodicals.
National Museum of American History: document diverse popular musical traditions and performances such as Guide to Duke Ellington Collection and Jazz Oral Histories and Latin Jazz.
On Music Theory, and Making Music More Welcoming for Everyone. " American music theory has been framed and taught almost exclusively by white men. As a result, whiteness and maleness are woven into the fabric of the field, and BIPOC music theorists face enormous hurdles due to their racial identities. In On Music Theory, Philip Ewell brings together autobiography, music theory and history, and theory and history of race in the United States to offer a black perspective on the state of music theory and to confront the field’s white supremacist roots."
The Oxford Book of Choral Music by Black Composers: on order
Dataset of composers who identify as Black, Indigenous, or People of Colour (BIPOC) with a connection to Canada (e.g. are Canadian, working in Canada, or from an Indigenous nation in Canada). Created by Doi, Carolyn; Hilts, Janet, 2021, "BIPOC Canadian Composers". (2021-10-29).
Black Canadian Composers of Art Song: Part of the Canadian Art Song Project.
BIPOC Voices: Database of works for one or more singers accompanied by instruments. This includes opera, oratorio, orchestral art song, vocal chamber music, and other formats.
A Resource on Vocal Works by BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, Person of Colour) Composers
Institute for Composer Diversity: Includes composer, works, and choral works diversity databases
Diverse Music Theory Examples: Includes BIPOC composer list.
Diversify the Stand: Programming Resources: Inlcudes lists of compositions by under-represented composers.
Music by Asian and Asian-American Composers: Lists by genre and section for women.
Music Theory Examples by BI-POC composers
Composers of Color Resource Project: Includes scores, analytical notes, annotated scores, and music theory lesson plans. See the Anti-Racist Music Theory Examples.
African Diaspora Music Project: Inlcudes list of composers and links to their websites.
…and we were heard: underrepresented composers with audio tracks and databases of repertoire.
plainsightSOUND (rediscovering colonial and postcolonial voices in British classical music)