Reference resources are a great place to begin your research. They can help you define terms as well as to find basic information about a topic, a chronicle of its history, theories, key people and sometimes a bibliography of additional sources.
There are many different types of reference sources, which include dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, bibliographies, handbooks, style manuals to name a few.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
REF HQ1115 .E54 2009 (Stauffer Library)
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Culture
Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures
REF HQ1170.E53 2004
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender : Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender
REF HQ1115 .E43 2001 (Stauffer Library)
Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culture
REF HQ76.96 .R68 2006 (Stauffer Library)
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women : Global Women's Issues and Knowledge
REF HQ1115 .R69 2000 (Stauffer Library)
The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies
Handbooks and companions provide a survey of the state of research about a topic or region, historiography or concise overviews as well as ongoing debates among historians.
A Companion to Global Gender History
The Routledge Companion to Sexuality and Colonialism
For more companions and handbook, go to the Gender Studies subject guide.
Bibliographies like Oxford Bibliographies offer authoritative research guides helping you to narrow the vast number of citations to the best scholarship on a given topic.
There are guides on Gender, Masculinity, Sexualities, Sexuality to name a few.
