Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as other related materials. Some will contain the full text of journals but if not, click
or the full text link if available
If the Get It link does not find anything, don't assume that the Library does not hold the item. A search in Omni for the title of the journal (or book) might find it.
If clicking on a full text link does not take you directly to the article, you will need to navigate a bit to get the article you want - depending on the resource provider.
America: History and Life
Indexes the literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from pre-historic times to the present
Historical Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books and dissertations. Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada)
Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database of both scholarly and general interest articles.
JSTOR
A multidisciplinary database of archived scholarly journals, which contain a great deal of historical material. However, JSTOR does not contain the most recent 3-5 years. If you only search JSTOR, you may be missing a lot.
Gender Studies
Indexes and abstracts covering the full spectrum of gender-related scholarship, including gender studies, ethnic studies, health issues and sexual diversity.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940
Primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues affecting LGBTQ communities around the world, such as the gay rights movement, activism, and the HIV/AIDS crisis
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
More databases dealing with Gender.
Use the advanced search interface and some combination of the following techniques to increase the effectiveness of your searches:
|
Search Technique |
What It Does |
|
quotation marks |
Searches for exact phrase |
|
Truncation (usually an *) |
Searches for all forms of a word |
|
Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) |
Lets you broaden or narrow your search |
|
Database thesaurus or index |
Allows you to pinpoint the exact indexing terms the database uses |
Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.
But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them.
Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholarly from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference between scholarly, trade and popular periodicals.
There are many scholarly journals which focus on this topic and which you will find indexed in the various databases.
