Meet your departmental liasion librarian
Every department has a subject specialist (Liaison Librarian) who is dedicated and responsbile for subject-specific collections and providing both teaching and research support for faculty, students, and staff.
You can find your liaison librarian by selecting your department from the list of Subject Librarians by Subject in our staff directory or by selecting from the following list:
- Education : The Education faculty liaison team provides collections and research support for Teacher Candidates, Continuing Teacher Education, Faculty and Graduate Students in Education, and community teachers and librarians.
- Engineering and Science : The Engineering and Science faculty liaison team supports the research and teaching of the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science and Science departments of the Faculty of Arts and Science, as well as the research centres in Engineering and Science.
- Health Sciences: The Health Sciences faculty liaison team is a partner in the Faculty of Health Sciences vision, serving faculty, staff, students and health professionals who study, work, and conduct research in the health science disciplines of medicine, nursing, occupational therapy, physical therapy, and the life sciences.
- Humanities and Social Sciences: The Humanities and Social Sciences faculty liaison team provides resources, services and collections for students, faculty and community members in the Humanities and Social Sciences departments of the Faculty of Arts and Science, the Smith School of Business and the School of Policy Studies.
- Law: The Law faculty liaison team provides collections, legal materials and research support for the Faculty of Law
- W.D. Jordan Rare Books and Special Collections (RBSC): staff will happily work with you to identify material from rare books and special collections relevant to the course you’re teaching. RBSC offers classes of up to 30 students at a time a firsthand introduction to primary source literacy. Submit a class request via this form, or reach out to us directly
- Archives
Queen's University Archives manages, preserves, conserves, and makes accessible the information assets and historical record of the University in support of the teaching, research, service, and administration interests of Queen's University. As well it has private papers related to Kingston and the region, and houses the City of Kingston Archives.
Your Liaison Librarian can:
- Develop tailored workshops and presentations for your courses.
- Meet with your students to guide them in their discovery of information resources.
- Offer advice on developing assignments that target research skills.
- Train teaching and research assistants on searching library resources.
- Assist in linking to course readings and other materials in myCourses.
- Create course guides to highlight relevant resources for course assignments.
- Buy additional material you need to support your teaching. Please let your Liaison Librarian know about any gaps in our collection or complete our Recommend a new collection acquisition form
