Chemistry

New Chemistry Books - December 2018

IN THIS ISSUE

• ChemRxiv Update
• Reference Works
• Book Series
• Books

CHEMRXIV UPDATE

ChemRxiv announces streamlined submission of research for journal peer review

Now in its second year of successfully sharing research findings openly with the global chemistry community, ChemRxiv today announced Direct Journal Transfer, a new feature that will help authors submit their posted preprints to established journals for editorial consideration and peer review. – ACS press release, Nov. 30, 2018

REFERENCE WORKS

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 99th ed. (2018-19)
Call number: Online
The 99th Edition contains two new tables of major importance.

• Chemical Reaction Rate Constants for Atmospheric Studies — This document contains the latest data on reaction rates and equilibrium constants covering the most important atmospheric chemistry reactions. These data come from the most recent NASA-JPL tables
• Persistent Lines of the Neutral Atomic Elements — This document has line spectra and transition probability data from the latest NIST updates on atomic spectra

Expanded tables in the Online Edition include:

• Physical Constants of Organic Compounds — Data on an additional 9000+ compounds
• Synonym Index of Organic Compounds — Companion to the above table
• Table of the Isotopes — Data for all known isotopes
• Line Spectra of the Elements — The complete CRC Handbook line spectra data set with over 46,000 lines
• Atomic Transition Probabilities — References are now available in the Online Edition
• Physical Constants of Inorganic Compounds — Data on more than 3000 additional compounds
• CAS Registry Number Index of Inorganic Compounds — Companion to the above table
• Optical Properties of Selected Elements — The Online Edition gives values of the optical properties at finer energy intervals
• Optical Properties of Selected Inorganic and Organic Solids — The Online Edition gives values of the optical properties at finer energy intervals; the full table should be consulted for cases where there are resonances or regions of sharp changes of optical properties with wavelength
• Electron Affinities — References are now available in the Online Edition

Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary, 16th ed. (2016)
Call number: Online (Knovel)

NIST Standard Reference Database 103b. Thermodynamic Data for Pure Compounds
Call number: Online (Knovel)

NIST Standard Reference Database 103b is a large electronic database containing detailed descriptions and property data for approximately 27,000 pure compounds.

BOOK SERIES

Advances in Quantum Chemistry, Vol. 73 (Elsevier, 2016)
Call number: Online

BOOKS

Diversity in the Scientific Community, ACS Symposium Series, Vols. 1255, 1256 (2017)
Call Number: Q175.5 .D548 2017

Lives and Times of Great Pioneers in Chemistry: Lavoisier to Sanger (World Scientific, 2016)
Call Number: QD21 .R36 2016

Chemistry for Higher Education: A Practical Guide to Designing a Course in Chemistry (Walter de Gruyter, 2018)
Call Number: QD41 .A667 2018

Foundations of Molecular Structure Determination, 2nd ed., Oxford Chemistry Primers (2015)
Call Number: QD95 .D84 2015

Catalyst-free Organic Synthesis, Green Chemistry Series, Vol. 51 (RSC, 2018)
Call Number: QD262 .B73 2018

Chiral Lewis Acids, Topics in Organometallic Chemistry, Vol. 62 (Springer, 2018)
Call Number: QD262 .C5235 2018

Elementary Processes in Organic Photovoltaics, Advances in Polymer Science, Vol. 272 (Springer 2018)
Call Number: QD281.P6 F6 v.272

Nanogels for biomedical applications, RSC Smart Materials, Vol. 30 (2018)
Call Number: R857.M3 N36 2018

Biocatalysis: An Industrial Perspective, RSC Catalysis Series, Vol. 29 (2018)
Call Number: TP248.65.E59 B544 2018