Lexile Framework for Reading Map
Use to identify a range of levels for your students. Lexile levels also appear in NoveList so if you know one book that is at an appropriate level, you can use its lexile level to find others that are similar in range.
Reading A-Z
Queen's does not have a subscription to this fully-online levelled reading program that includes progress tracking. Worth being aware of this product as it is used in many school boards.
Create a free account. Enter scanned or typed text sample to be analyzed.
Find a Book (Lexile site)
Search NoveList at Your Public Library
The Search by Lexile feature in NoveList allows users to quickly search for titles with a specificLexile score. If you’re looking for titles with a score of 700, select the Advanced Search, and enter a score at the Lexile Range Search limiter in the Limit Your Results section. To match to audience age, select an Audience level.
This database is available from many Canadian public libraries and school boards. Search here for fiction – by grade level -- on any theme or subject area.
The Fountas and Pinnell leveled book list K-8+. Teaching Collection LB 1573 .F638 2013
Leveled books (K-8) : matching texts to readers for effective teaching. Teaching Collection LB 1573 .F643 2006
This list includes call numbers to books in the Children's and Young Adult collection.
Leveling books K-6 : matching readers to text. Teaching Collection LB 1573 .W39 2000
This e-book collection from Scholastic pairs online fiction and non-fiction e-books on a similar topic. Includes word matching, sequencing, and lesson plans. K - Grade 3.
To access the collection, find the Queen's username and password under LANGUAGE on the PJ Password page.
Can't remember the password for the PJ Password page? If you are at the Queen's Faculty of Education email us for a reminder using your Queen's email address.
At the Open Library, be sure to check out the Curated Collections and helpful booklists, including: