Local Research and Glocal Perspectives in English Language Teaching by 
Co-planning: five essential practices to integrate curriculum and instruction for English learners by 
But Does This Work with English Learners? by
A rare blend of the humane and practical, But Does This Work with English Learners? is a book on how to leverage our ELs' full linguistic repertoires in the ELA classroom, while remaining sensitive to those barriers that could restrict learning. With this book as your guide, you'll learn how to: Look beyond the labels, and better understand the diversity of ELs, English language proficiency levels, and sociopolitical influences Teach and assess through reader's workshops, recognizing where comprehensible input fits in and adapting recurring features like support, choice, conferenceing, and academic conversations Teach and assess through writer's workshops, including modifications to quick-writes, minilessons, conferencing, sharing, and more Teach through structures and community with classroom schedules and behaviour norms, and activities like All About Me Paragraphs and Six Things You Need to Know About Me Listicles Embrace identity in inquiry cycles via research and family interviews, mentor texts and essays, pictorial autobiographies, memory paragraphs, and more Answer your own FAQs such as How do I teach students if I don't know their language? What about grammar? How do I teach the grade-level ELA standards while I teach the language?
The Classroom Teacher's Guide to Supporting English Language Learners by
This book answers your key questions about educating English Language Learners (ELLs) and offers detailed guidance and concrete applications for your classroom. Designed as a one-stop-shop for classroom teachers of all grade levels and content areas, this book is chock full of essential information, delivered in a practical, concise format. In each chapter, you will find checklists, instructional strategies, tables, tools and ideas for next steps. The resources and examples provided are easy to implement and can be used the next day in your teaching. Topics addressed include: Getting to know your ELLs Considering how culture, language and academic background impact learning Bridging the home/school connection Pairing content and language objectives Gauging learner progress Collaborating with ELL staff Much more! amp;lt;P> Gauging learner progress Collaborating with ELL staff Much more!
Digital-Age Teaching for English Learners by
Bridge the Digital Divide with Research-Informed Technology Models Building from significant developments in education policy, research, and remote learning innovations, this newly revised edition offers unique ways to bridge the digital divide that disproportionally affects culturally and linguistically diverse learners. Designed to support equitable access to engaging and enriching digital-age education opportunities for English learners, this book includes Research-informed and evidence-based technology integration models and instructional strategies Sample lesson ideas, including learning targets for activating students' prior knowledge while promoting engagement and collaboration Tips for fostering collaborative practices with colleagues Vignettes from educators incorporating technology in creative ways Targeted questions to facilitate discussions about English language development methodology
Dispelling Misconceptions about English Language Learners by
Nearly three-quarters of public schools in the United States enroll English language learners (ELLs). That means teachers at all grade levels need to know how to help these students achieve full academic English language proficiency. In Dispelling Misconceptions About English Language Learners, Barbara Gottschalk dispels 10 common misconceptions about ELLs and gives teachers the information they need to help their ELLs succeed in the classroom. From her perspective as a teacher of English as a second language, Gottschalk answers several key questions:*Just who is an English language learner?*Why is it important to support home language maintenance and promote family engagement?*What are the foundational principles for instruction that help educators teach ELLs across the content areas?*How can teachers recognize and incorporate the background knowledge and experiences ELLs bring to class?*Why is it important to maintain high standards and expectations for all students, including ELLs?*How can a teacher tell when an ELL needs special education versus special teaching? By answering these questions, and more, Gottschalk gives teachers a crystal-clear understanding of how to reach ELLs at each stage of English language acquisition. Her expert guidance reinforces for teachers what they are already doing right and helps them understand what they might need to be doing differently.
The ELL Teacher's Toolbox by
Practical strategies to support your English language learners The ELL Teacher's Toolbox is a practical, valuable resource to be used by teachers of English Language Learners, in teacher education credential programs, and by staff development professionals and coaches. It provides hundreds of innovative and research-based instructional strategies you can use to support all levels of English Language Learners. Written by proven authors in the field, the book is divided into two main sections: Reading/Writing and Speaking/Listening. Each of those sections includes "Top Ten" favorites and between 40 and 70 strategies that can be used as part of multiple lessons and across content areas. Contains 60% new strategies Features ready-to-use lesson plans Includes reproducible handouts Offers technology integration ideas The percentage of public school students in the U.S. who are English language learners grows each year--and with this book, you'll get a ton of fresh, innovative strategies to add to your teaching arsenal.
Equitable Access for English Learners, Grades K-6 by
Plain and simple: until our English learners have equitable access to the curriculum, they'll continue to struggle with subject area content. And if you're relying on add-on's to fit in from your language arts basal or a supplementary program, Mary Soto, David Freeman, and Yvonne Freeman are here to equip you with much more effective, efficient, and engaging strategies for helping your English learners read and write at grade level. One assurance right from the start: the authors are not suggesting you reinvent your curriculum. Instead, Equitable Access for English Learners, Grades K-6, focuses on how to fortify foundational practices already in place. First, you'll learn more about the Equitable Access Approach, then it's time to dive into the book's four units of study. Drawing on each units many strategies, you'll discover how to apply them to any unit in your own language arts curriculum and start differentiating: How to draft and implement language objectives to help English learners meet academic content standards How to make instructional input comprehensible, including translanguaging strategies that draw on your students' first languages when you don't know how to speak them How to utilize the characteristics of text to support readers, along with rubric for determining a text's cultural relevance How to build students' academic content knowledge and develop academic language proficiency Each unit addresses a commonly taught topic in today's language arts programs and comes with ready-to-go review and preview activities, key strategies, grade-level adaptations, reflection exercises, and printable online resources. Taken as a whole, they constitute an all-new approach for providing the equitable and excellent access our English learners so rightfully deserve.
ESL (ELL) Literacy Instruction: A Guidebook to Theory and Practice by
Now in its fourth edition, ESL (ELL) Literacy Instructioncombines a comprehensive scope with practical, research-based tools and applications for reading instruction. Designed for use by pre-service and in-service teachers, this guidebook provides the context and expertise to plan and implement reading programs that match the needs and abilities of students at all ages and levels of proficiency. The book explains different models of literacy instruction from systematic phonics to whole language instruction, discusses controversies in the field, and includes specific teaching methods within each model. The fourth edition highlights recent developments in education policy, new models of instruction, and devotes greater attention to issues surrounding assessment. An expanded companion website integrates with the text to offer additional tools and examples, and readers are encouraged to develop their own teaching strategies within their own instructional models. Providing a thorough overview of the history and major issues of ESL (ELL) literacy instruction, this book will be of great interest to pre-service and in-service teachers at all levels, from kindergarten to adult learners. within their own instructional models. Providing a thorough overview of the history and major issues of ESL (ELL) literacy instruction, this book will be of great interest to pre-service and in-service teachers at all levels, from kindergarten to adult learners.
Learning in a New Language by
Within today's multilingual communities, a growing percentage of students are emergent bilinguals-bringing to school a home language other than English and thus poised to become bilingual as they acquire the new language. As a result, school leaders need to have essential background knowledge and a wealth of strategies at their fingertips to ensure that all students are prepared for college, career, and civic engagement. In Learning in a New Language, author Lori Helman offers educational leaders a comprehensive and accessible guide to best practices for supporting students from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds in a school environment that embraces equity. Helman discusses:*Changing demographics that require educational leaders to enlarge and enhance their approaches*The importance of engaging families in forming a cohesive school community that contributes to student success*Fundamental approaches to creating equity for linguistically diverse students in the school change process*The role of language in academic learning and what makes learning in a new language unique*Evidence-based strategies for literacy and content-area classrooms*Practical tips for where to start in supporting emergent bilinguals in the classroom, and presents dozens of online resources for further exploration.The responsibilities of educational leaders continue to expand as they work toward managing school sites and ensuring equity of student opportunity and achievement. Helman provides a one-stop resource for the foundational knowledge and practical guidance needed to strategically take on these responsibilities.
Success with Multicultural Newcomers and English Learners by
This book is a road map for teachers and school leaders who need to meet the needs of increasing numbers of Newcomers and other English Learners (ELs). The authors draw from years of experience in working with, listening to, and coaching administrators, teachers, and coaches nationwide to help you develop and implement an effective plan for your school. Beginning with the core belief that "getting to know the student is pivotal," the authors show how to address both the academic and the social needs of Newcomers to help them integrate and excel--from their first day of school. The main components of the plan are the following: - Identifying your students and assessing educational and socioemotional needs. - Identifying qualified teachers and staff. - Developing highly effective programs for Newcomers and other ELs. - Accelerating English learners' acquisition of language, literacy, and knowledge through proven classroom teaching techniques. - Supporting Newcomers' socioemotional well-being through classroom and administrative structures. - Designing, implementing, and sustaining professional development for all staff. If you already have a plan for integrating Newcomers and ELs, you can use the information in this book to assess and strengthen it and to learn more about resources for continued coaching and growth. Whether your school has a formal plan or not, the information in this practical guide can help your staff better collaborate to attend to the needs and build on the strengths of Newcomers and ELs in your school.
Teaching English Language Learners, K-12 by
Bring the English language to life with this valuable new resource! Some say that learning a second language is like drinking water from a fire hose. But teaching it does not have to be like standing under Niagara Falls. This is the fundamental message of Jerry Jesness' new quick-start guide Teaching English Language Learners K-12. In our climate, ELL teachers face immense demands as educators because the ELL class is often the critical, transitional step into a student's entire education. The author provides specific strategies to address the special challenges for instructors. This valuable resource offers a terrific framework to nurture that motivating spark in English Language learners. For ELL educators, it's more than a job--it's a mission! Teaching English Language Learners K-12 includes: * Customizing instructions to create developmentally and culturally appropriate lessons for all learners * Comprehensive vocabulary checklists for common English words and concepts * Practical methods for using the learner's native language and culture in the classroom * Helpful strategies for teaching spoken English, reading, and writing * Encouraging tips to become a better ELL teacher This book delivers a concise array of teaching strategies, curriculum, and things ESL teachers need to know to become most confident in their work and most effective with their students.
Team up, Speak up, Fire up! Educators, Students, and the Community Working Together to Support English Learners by
Cohan, Honigsfeld, and Dove bring together current research, authentic examples of best practices, and voices from the field to champion the power of purposeful collaboration and provide educators with resources that will empower them to support English learners (ELs) and their families. Guided by four core principles-common purpose, shared mindset, diverse team membership, supportive environment-the authors explain how to meet the challenges of collaborating with ELs and help all stakeholders-administrators, teachers, students, parents, community leaders-develop new and effective ways of working together for the success of each learner.
Unlocking English Learners′ Potential by
Content teachers and ESL teachers, take special note: if you're looking for a single resource to help your English learners meet the same challenging content standards as their English-proficient peers, your search is complete. Just dip into this toolbox of strategies, examples, templates, and activities from EL authorities Diane Staehr Fenner and Sydney Snyder. The best part? Unlocking English Learners' Potential supports teachers across all levels of experience. The question is not if English Learners can succeed in today's more rigorous classrooms , but how. This book is all about the how: How to scaffold ELs' instruction across content and grade levels How to promote ELs' oral language development and academic language How to build ELs' background knowledge How to design and use formative assessment with ELs Along the way, you'll build collaboration, advocacy, and leadership skills that we all need if we're to fully support our English learners. After all, any one of us with at least one student acquiring English is now a teacher of ELs.
Using Understanding by Design in the Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Classroom by
How can today's teachers, whose classrooms are more culturally and linguistically diverse than ever before, ensure that their students achieve at high levels? How can they design units and lessons that support English learners in language development and content learning--simultaneously? Authors Amy Heineke and Jay McTighe provide the answers by adding a lens on language to the widely used Understanding by Design(R) framework (UbD(R) framework) for curriculum design, which emphasizes teaching for understanding, not rote memorization. Readers will learnthe components of the UbD framework;the fundamentals of language and language development;how to use diversity as a valuable resource for instruction by gathering information about students' background knowledge from home, community, and school;how to design units and lessons that integrate language development with content learning in the form of essential knowledge and skills; andhow to assess in ways that enable language learners to reveal their academic knowledge. Student profiles, real-life classroom scenarios, and sample units and lessons provide compelling examples of how teachers in all grade levels and content areas use the UbD framework in their culturally and linguistically diverse classrooms. Combining these practical examples with findings from an extensive research base, the authors deliver a useful and authoritative guide for reaching the overarching goal: ensuring that all students have equitable access to high-quality curriculum and instruction.
We can't teach what we don't know: White teachers, multiracial schools 3rd ed. by
For author Gary Howard, the issues and passions that sparked the writing of the First Edition of this now classic work are as intense today as they were then. In the Third Edition, Howard reviews the progress we have made in the interim (for example, the first Black president in the White House), as well as the lack of progress (the gutting of the 1965 Voting Rights Act, the epidemic of Black youth killed by police, and the persistence of race-based educational disparities). Making a case for the “fierce urgency of now,” this new edition deepens the discussion of race and social justice in education with new and updated material. Aligned with our nation’s ever more diverse student population, it speaks to what good teachers know, what they do, and how they embrace culturally responsive teaching. This essential text is widely used in teacher preparation courses and for in-service professional development. (From the publisher's web site.)
Collaborating for English Learners by
Looking for a silver bullet to accelerate EL achievement? There is none.
But this, we promise: when EL specialists and general ed teachers pool their expertise, your ELs’ language development and content mastery will improve exponentially. Just ask the tens of thousands of Collaboration and Co-Teaching users and now, a new generation of educators, thanks to this all-new second edition: Collaborating for English Learners.
Why this new edition? Because more than a decade of implementation has generated for Andrea Honigsfeld and Maria Dove new insight into what exemplary teacher collaboration looks like, which essential frameworks must be established, and how integrated approaches to ELD services benefit all stakeholders. Essentially a roadmap to the many different ways we can all work together, this second edition of Collaborating for English Learners features:
All-new examples, case studies, illustrative video, and policy updates
In-depth coverage of the full range of strategies and configurations for determining the best model to adopt
Templates, planning guides, and other practical tools to put collaboration into practice
Guidelines, self-assessments, and questionnaires for evaluating the strategies’ effectiveness
By this time, the big benefits of teacher collaboration are well documented. Where teachers and schools struggle still is determining the best way to do so, especially when working with our ELs. That’s where Andrea Honigsfeld, Maria Dove, and their second edition of Collaborating for English Learners will prove absolutely indispensable. After all, there are no two better authorities.
Academic Success for English Language Learners by
Balancing conceptual foundations with practical strategies, the book's four-part format includes chapters written by some of the field's most respected researchers and teachers. It offers a solid repertoire of techniques for creating a positive instructional environment. Part I: Theoretical Considerations -- Presents a variety of ideas to stimulate thinking and help teachers develop their own theories of practice. Part II: Sociocultural Issues and Implications -- Focus on sociocultural concerns and their implications in the classroom. Part III: The Classroom: Instruction and Assessment Practices -- Presents a wide range of pedagogical and classroom management strategies. Part IV: Readings In Specific Content Area -- Relates many of the preceding strategies and issues to specific content areas across grade levels, including math, literature, social studies, science, physical education, music and art.
Big ideas for expanding minds : teaching English language learners across the curriculum by 
Cultivating Genius by
In Cultivating Genius, Dr. Gholdy E. Muhammad presents a four-layered equity framework--one that is grounded in history and restores excellence in literacy education. This framework, which she names, Historically Responsive Literacy, was derived from the study of literacy development within 19th-century Black literacy societies. The framework is essential and universal for all students, especially youth of color, who traditionally have been marginalized in learning standards, school policies, and classroom practices. The equity framework will help educators teach and lead toward the following learning goals or pursuits: Identity Development--Helping youth to make sense of themselves and others Skill Development-- Developing proficiencies across the academic disciplines Intellectual Development--Gaining knowledge and becoming smarter Criticality--Learning and developing the ability to read texts (including print and social contexts) to understand power, equity, and anti-oppression When these four learning pursuits are taught together--through the Historically Responsive Literacy Framework, all students receive profound opportunities for personal, intellectual, and academic success. Muhammad provides probing, self-reflective questions for teachers, leaders, and teacher educators as well as sample culturally and historically responsive sample plans and text sets across grades and content areas. In this book, Muhammad presents practical approaches to cultivate the genius in students and within teachers.
Hands-On English Language Learning - Early Years by
The Hands-On English Language Learning program is a resource for classroom teachers, specialist teachers working with English-language learners, and other educational professionals who support these students. To assist your students in developing language skills, this resource includes: specific curricular connections for each lesson to identify links to subject-area themes in language arts, mathematics, science, social studies, health, physical education, and the arts integrated class activities to promote learning in context for all students in the classroom suggested activities focus on curricular topics in all subject areas, while supporting English language learners relevant topics such as the classroom and school, clothing, food, hobbies and interests, plants and animals of Canada, the world, and the environment age-appropriate, high-interest learning activities that foster the development of essential English language vocabulary and skills in listening, speaking, reading, writing, viewing, and representing activities (in keeping with the philosophy of all Portage & Main Press Hands-On programs) that are student-centred and focus on real-life, hands-on experiences Please note: All blackline masters are included on a CD.
Hands-On English Language Learning: Middle Years by
Hands-on English Language Learning program is a resource for classroom teachers, specialist teachers working with English-language learners, and other educational professionals who support these students. In developing the resource, the authors referred to current curricular documents and to research in English-language acquisition. Careful attention has been given to basic language skills, essential subject-specific vocabulary, and knowledge required by middle-years English-language learners. To assist your students in developing language skills, this resource includes: specific curricular connections for each lesson to identify links to subject-area themes in language arts, mathematics, science, social studies, health, physical education, and the arts integrated class activities to promote learning in context for all students in the classroom career connections that offer students an opportunity to explore employability skills and career choices within the context of English-language learning suggested activities focus on curricular topics in all subject areas, while supporting English-language learners lesson topics that relate specifically to the interests and lives of middle-years students relevant topics, such as the classroom and school, clothing, food, hobbies and interests, plants and animals of Canada, the world, and the environment age-appropriate, high-interest learning activities that foster the development of essential English-language vocabulary and skills in listening, speaking, reading, writing, viewing, and representing activities (in keeping with the philosophy of all Portage & Main Press Hands-On programs) that are student-centred and focus on real-life, hands-on experiences Please note: All blackline masters are included on a CD.
Teaching English Language Learners by
Teaching English Language Learners: Content and Language in Middle and Secondary Mainstream Classrooms is a user-friendly guide for planning, implementing, and assessing high-level, content-area instruction for English Language Learners. Starting with an overview of second language acquisition and the cultural variables that impact teaching and learning, this text goes on to detail planning strategies, units and lessons in the subject areas where it is most difficult to shelter content and scaffold language skills: middle and secondary Math, English Language Arts, History, and Science. Teaching English Language Learners will leave preservice teachers with a foundational understanding of how to purposefully structure, build, and present effective lessons for English Language Learners in these mainstream, content-area courses.