Government Information: Thematic Guides

On this Page:

• Canadian Reports
• Official Canadian Sites
• Canadian Publications
• United States
• International Reports, Publications and Databases
• Statistics
• Mapping Files

Canadian Reports

• For the Public's Health: Final Report of the Ontario Expert Panel on SARS and Infectious Disease Control
  • from CA2 ON H640 2004F56 (Documents)
  • from the Internet Archive
• Learning from SARS - Renewal of Public Health in Canada
  (Naylor report)
  CA1 HW680 2003L22 (Documents Reference)
• Building on Values: The Future of Health Care in Canada
  (Romanow report)
  CA1 Z1 2001F01 (Documents)
• A Framework for Reform: Report of the Alberta Premier's Advisory Council on Health
  (Mazankowski report)
  CA2 AL HW700 2001F66 (Documents)
• The Health of Canadians - The Federal Role
  (Kirby report)
  CA1 YC28 2001I57 (Documents)
• Caring for Medicare: Sustaining a Quality System
  (Fyke report)
  Saskatchewan Commission on Medicare
  CA2 SA H760 2001C15 (Documents)
• Walkerton Inquiry
  (water quality and water-borne disease)
  CA2 ON WI... (Documents)

Official Sites

• Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI)
• Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR)
• Health Canada
• Public Health Agency of Canada
  • Canadian Hospitals Injury Reporting and Prevention Program (CHIRPP)
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Chronic Diseases
  • Surveillance
  • Public Health Infobase
• Health Council of Canada (Archived)
• Ontario Ministry of Health
• Ontario Ministry of Long-Term Care
• College of Nurses of Ontario – Data Query Tool
• World Health Organization

Canadian Publications

• PHAC – Reports and Publications
• Canada Communicable Disease Report (PHAC)
• Canadian Social Trends (Statistics Canada)
• Insights on Canadian Society (Statistics Canada)
• Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention in Canada: Research, Policy and Practice (formerly Chronic Diseases in Canada)
• Health Canada Drug Product Database
  "contains product specific information on drugs approved for use in Canada"
• Health Reports (Statistics Canada)
• Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System (WHMIS) (Health Canada)
• Pathogen Safety Data Sheets and Risk Assessment (PHAC)

United States

• HealthData.gov
• National Center for Health Statistics (part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)
• Health Resources and Services Administration Data Warehouse

International Reports, Publications and Databases

• WHO World Health Report
• UNDP Human Development Reports
• IMF World Economic Outlook Reports
• World Bank World Development Report
• World Bank World Development Indicators
• UNSD Social Indicators
• ADB Asian Development Outlook
• ADB Key Indicators for Asia and the Pacific
• ADBG African Development Report
• World Bank Africa Development Indicators
• OECD Health Data
• WHO Global Health Observatory data
• WHO Bulletins
• Other Country Information

Statistics

• Health Canada – Clinical Trials Database
• Canadian Health Surveys, 1950-1997 (archived)
  CA1 HW 97C32 (Documents)
• Ontario Population Health Index of Databases (OPHID) (archived)
• Ontario Marginalization Index (ON-Marg)
• Statistics Canada Sources:
  • Health
  • Health Indicators
  • Health Reports
• Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI)
  • Discharge Abstract Database
    Captures the administrative, clinical, and demographic information on hospital discharges. Available through ODESI. Consult the Guide to accessing DAD at Queen's (PDF).
  • National Health Expenditure Trends
  • Quick Stats
• WHO Global Heath Observatory (includes WHOSIS)
• Canadian Health Measures Survey
• Census of Canada
• Survey files are available through ODESI

Mapping

• Canadian Health Region Boundary Files