(For conducting primary/original research)
Image from: Harvey, BJ, Lang ES, JR Frank, eds. The research guide: a primer of residents, other health care trainees, and practitioners. Ottawa: Royal College of Physicans and Surgeons of Canada; 2011.
JoVE provides access to over 10,000 videos of laboratory methods and science concepts, including a complete video library, journals, and access to the Encyclopedia of Experiments. Multidisciplinary journals include behavioural sciences, biochemistry, bioengineering, biology, cancer research, chemistry, developmental biology, engineering, environment, genetics, immunology, medicine, and neuroscience.
Epidemiology: an Introduction by
Across the last forty years, epidemiology has developed into a vibrant scientific discipline that brings together the social and biological sciences, incorporating everything from statistics to the philosophy of science in its aim to study and track the distribution and determinants of health events. A now-classic text, the second edition of this essential introduction to epidemiology presents the core concepts in a unified approach that aims to cut through the fog and elucidate the fundamental concepts. Rather than focusing on formulas or dogma, the book presents basic epidemiologic principles and concepts in a coherent and straightforward exposition. By emphasizing a unifying set of ideas, students will develop a strong foundation for understanding the principles of epidemiologic research.
Essential Epidemiology: An introduction for students and health professionals by
Taking a practical approach and supported by global examples from all areas of health, the new edition of this popular and highly commended textbook has been updated to reflect current epidemiological thinking and teaching. Based on feedback from teachers and students, material has been reordered to better suit courses and reflect the underlying logic and purpose of epidemiology. * Provides students with a rounded picture of the field by emphasizing the commonalities across different areas of epidemiology, including clinical epidemiology, and highlighting the key role of epidemiology in public health * Avoids complex mathematics by restricting this to optional material, thereby keeping the book accessible to students from non-quantitative backgrounds * Integrated and supplementary questions help students to reinforce concepts * A wealth of online material is available at www.cambridge.org/essential_epidemiology, including additional questions, advanced material for key concepts, recommendations for further reading, links to useful websites and slides for teaching, supporting both students and teachers.
Handbook for clinical research : Design, statistics, and implementation by
With over 80 information-packed chapters, Handbook for Clinical Research delivers the practical insights and expert tips necessary for successful research design, analysis, and implementation. Using clear language and an accessible bullet point format, the authors present the knowledge and expertise developed over time and traditionally shared from mentor to mentee and colleague to colleague. Organized for quick access to key topics and replete with practical examples, the book describes a variety of research designs and statistical methods and explains how to choose the best design for a particular project. Research implementation, including regulatory issues and grant writing, is also covered. The book opens with a section on the basics of research design, discussing the many ways in which studies can be organized, executed, and evaluated. The second section is devoted to statistics and explains how to choose the correct statistical approach and reviews the varieties of data types, descriptive and inferential statistics, methods for demonstrating associations, hypothesis testing and prediction, specialized methods, and considerations in epidemiological studies and measure construction. The third section covers implementation, including how to develop a grant application step by step, the project budget, and the nuts and bolts of the timely and successful completion of a research project and documentation of findings: procedural manuals and case report forms collecting, managing and securing data operational structure and ongoing monitoring and evaluation and ethical and regulatory concerns in research with human subjects. With a concise presentation of the essentials for successful research, the Handbook for Clinical Research is a valuable addition to the library of any student, research professional, or clinician interested in expanding the knowledge base of his or her field. Key Features: Delivers the essential elements, practical insights, and trade secrets for ensuring successful research design, analysis, and implementation Presents the nuts and bolts of statistical analysis Organized for quick access to a wealth of information Replete with practical examples of successful research designs √ from single case designs to meta-analysis - and how to achieve them Addresses research implementation including regulatory issues and grant writing "
Health Research Methods: A Canadian Perspective by 
Introduction to Research Methods and Data Analysis in the Health Sciences by
Whilst the 'health sciences' are a broad and diverse area, and includes public health, primary care, health psychology, psychiatry and epidemiology, the research methods and data analysis skills required to analyse them are very similar. Moreover, the ability to appraise and conduct research is emphasised within the health sciences - and students are expected increasingly to do both. Introduction to Research Methods and Data Analysis in the Health Sciences presents a balanced blend of quantitative research methods, and the most widely used techniques for collecting and analysing data in the health sciences. Highly practical in nature, the book guides you, step-by-step, through the research process, and covers both the consumption and the production of research and data analysis. Divided into the three strands that run throughout quantitative health science research - critical numbers, critical appraisal of existing research, and conducting new research - this accessible textbook introduces: Descriptive statistics Measures of association for categorical and continuous outcomes Confounding, effect modification, mediation and causal inference Critical appraisal Searching the literature Randomised controlled trials Cohort studies Case-control studies Research ethics and data management Dissemination and publication Linear regression for continuous outcomes Logistic regression for categorical outcomes. A dedicated companion website offers additional teaching and learning resources for students and lecturers, including screenshots, R programming code, and extensive self-assessment material linked to the book's exercises and activities. Clear and accessible with a comprehensive coverage to equip the reader with an understanding of the research process and the practical skills they need to collect and analyse data, it is essential reading for all undergraduate and postgraduate students in the health and medical sciences.
Medical Writing and Research Methodology for the Orthopaedic Surgeon by
This unique guide is designed to facilitate the complex task of getting a paper published in an orthopaedics journal. The editors have enlisted expert orthopaedic surgeons from prestigious academic institutions, who share essential advice on how to set up and write on your research. The book addresses fraud issues, the correct use of English and editing, how to develop a sound research methodology, and editors' and reviewers' expectations, along with the main reasons for rejection. The future of the Impact Factor, altmetrics and Open Access journals are also discussed, and will be of special interest to young faculty who are starting their research career. The chapters are structured in a reproducible and easy-to-follow format. In addition, the editors offer tips and tricks for non-native speakers writing in English. As such, the book provides an accessible and comprehensive resource for all those seeking guidance on how to publish their research work in the field of orthopaedics.
Mixed Methods in Health Sciences Research by
This must-have mixed methods resource for any health science researcher presents key theories, concepts, and approaches in an accessible way. Packed with illustrations from the health sciences literature, this ready-to-use guidebook shows readers how to design, conduct, review, and use mixed methods research findings. Helpful checklists, figures, tables, templates, and much more give readers examples that will elevate the quality of their research, facilitate communication about their methods, and improve efficiency over the course of their projects. Real-world examples and insights from mixed methods researchers provide unique perspectives on every aspect of mixed methods research. This book successfully pulls together foundational mixed methods principles, synthesizes the knowledge base in the field, and translates it for a health science researcher audience.
The Practice of Reproducible Research by
The Practice of Reproducible Research presents concrete examples of how researchers in the data-intensive sciences are working to improve the reproducibility of their research projects. In each of the thirty-one case studies in this volume, the author or team describes the workflow that they used to complete a real-world research project. Authors highlight how they utilized particular tools, ideas, and practices to support reproducibility, emphasizing the very practical how, rather than the why or what, of conducting reproducible research. Part 1 provides an accessible introduction to reproducible research, a basic reproducible research project template, and a synthesis of lessons learned from across the thirty-one case studies. Parts 2 and 3 focus on the case studies themselves. The Practice of Reproducible Research is an invaluable resource for students and researchers who wish to better understand the practice of data-intensive sciences and learn how to make their own research more reproducible.
Researching health : Qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods by
The second edition of Researching Health covers everything that a student or new researcher will need when starting to conduct their own research in a range of healthcare settings. The chapters guide the reader through each specific qualitative, quantitative and mixed method, and show how these work in practice. In the second edition, the authors place particular focus on the critical appraisal of research - asking not only how different forms of research can be conducted, but also how we can use the research of others effectively. Two new chapters have also been included, on: - Gender and Health Research - Public Health ResearchA full companion website accompanies the book, with a range of teaching materials for lecturers and online learning resources for students. It is an ideal companion for undergraduate and postgraduate students on health programmes. The book is also valuable reading for researchers, academics, managers and practitioners working across the healthcare field.
