Check out resources for Early Career Researchers from the publisher Springer Nature.
The Biomedical Writer: What You Need to Succeed in Academic Medicine by 
English and Reflective Writing Skills in Medicine by
Reflective writing is an established and integral part of undergraduate medical curricula, and also features in postgraduate medical education and revalidation. This book guides and teaches medical students - and all medical and paramedical staff - through the process of writing reflective essays and less formal reflective pieces clearly, concisely, and accurately. Sections on English writing skills, alongside anonymised successful and unsuccessful examples of reflected essays, explore both the principles and practice of effective writing. This clear, practical book is a valuable resource for medical undergraduates and postgraduates, whether English be their first or an additional language.
How NOT to Write a Medical Paper by
It is witty from the opening paragraph....'Final Advice' is just two pages but, alone, justifies the price of the book. -- The Journal of Laryngology & Otology ...this booklet would be good to circulate around the housestaff (residents and fellows). -- American Journal of Neuroradiology Writing a medical paper, or any other scientific text, is full of pitfalls which make it difficult to get it accepted for publication. This unique book gives practical advice on how one can circumvent these dangers. It is richly filled with examples, predominantly negative ones. which exhibit how one should not write a medical paper. This book highlights the fallibilities that manuscripts are often susceptible to, and hence will help writers avoid committing those mistakes. Special Features: Abundant information about a complex subject condensed in a small format Numerous examples from bad manuscripts to drive home concepts Practical advice on mistakes to be avoided Explanation of the fate of a manuscript after its submission and, eventually, acceptance, to help writers understand expectations and responses Lucid language, and enjoyable read This book will be of value to anyone with an interest in scientific publishing. Junior medical scientists (independent of specialty), experienced scientists who wish to venture as authors, reviewers, and even editorial personnel can refer to the book time and again.
How to Write a Lot by
All academics need to write, but many struggle to finish their dissertations, articles, books, or grant proposals. Writing is hard work and can be difficult to wedge into a frenetic academic schedule. How can we write it all while still having a life? In this second edition of his popular guidebook, Paul Silvia offers fresh advice to help you overcome barriers to writing and use your time more productively. After addressing some common excuses and bad habits, he provides practical strategies to motivate students, professors, researchers, and other academics to become better and more prolific writers. Silvia draws from his own experience in psychology to explain how to write, submit, and revise academic work, from journal articles to books, all without sacrificing evenings, weekends, and vacations. The tips and strategies in this second edition have been updated to apply to academic writing in most disciplines. Also new to this edition is a chapter on writing grant and fellowship proposals.
How to Write Better Medical Papers by
This book guides medical researchers through all stages of transforming their scientific data and ideas into a published paper. Many researchers in medicine, including the life sciences and health sciences, struggle to get their research written and published. Manuscripts are typically rejected and/or sent back for revisions several times before ever being published. One reason for this is that researchers have not received much instruction in the specific subjects and skills needed to write and publish scientific medical papers: research methodology, ethics, statistics, data visualization, writing, revising, and the practicalities of publishing. Instead of wasting the reader's time discussing trivialities of punctuation, spelling, etc., this book tackles all the major scientific issues that routinely lead to manuscripts getting rejected from the journals. The section "Preparing" covers the range of methodological, ethical, and practical aspects that researchers need to address before starting to write their paper. The section "Analyzing" reviews commonplace problems in the statistical analysis and presentation, and how to resolve those problems. The section "Drafting" describes what to write in all the various parts of a paper (the Introduction, Methods, Results, Discussion, Abstract, etc.) The section "Revising" explains and illustrates how to improve the writing style of any manuscript. The section "Publishing" discusses how to navigate the peer review process and all other practical aspects of the publishing phase. This book draws on the author's decade of experience as an independent medical writer and research consultant, but it is not written merely as the personal opinion of yet another expert. The entire book is grounded in the existing scientific and scholarly literature, with extensive references and a lengthy annotated bibliography, so readers can quickly obtain more information on any aspect they want. Thus this book provides a more evidence-based, scholarly account of how medical scientific papers should be written, in order to improve medical communication and accelerate scientific progress. After reading this entire book cover to cover, medical researchers will know how to write better quality medical papers, and they will be able to publish their work in better journals with less time and struggle. This book is essential reading for anyone conducting research in clinical medicine, life sciences, or health sciences.
Mastering Scientific and Medical Writing by
This self-help guide is intended for scientists and medical professionals and students who wish to improve their scientific writing skills. Exercises invite the reader to practice the most important aspects of scientific writing. Although the book addresses certain issues more troublesome to scientific communicators of a non-English language origin, the guide will be of equal benefit to those whose first language is English. If you want not only to write but to write well, this book is for you. This second edition takes into account new developments in the area of scientific communication. In particular, the importance of authenticity is addressed, drawing attention to the sensitive issue of plagiarism in scientific texts.
Medical Writing: A Guide for Clinicians, Educators, and Researchers by
This book is a clear and comprehensive guide that assists readers in translating observations, ideas, and research into articles, reports, or book chapters ready for publication. For both researchers and practicing physicians, skills in medical writing are essential. Dr. Robert B. Taylor, a distinguished leader in academic medicine, uses a clear, conversational style throughout this book to emphasize the professional and personal enrichment that writing can bring. The text includes in depth instructions for writing and publishing: review articles, case reports, editorials and letters to the editor, book reviews, book chapters, reference books, research protocols, grant proposals, and research reports. This third edition is additionally fully updated to include the intricacies of medical writing and publishing today, with new coverage of: open access, pay to publish and predatory journals, peer review fraud, publication bias, parachute studies, public domain images, and phantom authors. Loaded with practical information, tips to help achieve publication, and real world examples, Medical Writing can improve skills for clinicians, educators, and researchers, whether they are new to writing or seasoned authors.
Medical Writing and Research Methodology for the Orthopaedic Surgeon by
This unique guide is designed to facilitate the complex task of getting a paper published in an orthopaedics journal. The editors have enlisted expert orthopaedic surgeons from prestigious academic institutions, who share essential advice on how to set up and write on your research. The book addresses fraud issues, the correct use of English and editing, how to develop a sound research methodology, and editors' and reviewers' expectations, along with the main reasons for rejection. The future of the Impact Factor, altmetrics and Open Access journals are also discussed, and will be of special interest to young faculty who are starting their research career. The chapters are structured in a reproducible and easy-to-follow format. In addition, the editors offer tips and tricks for non-native speakers writing in English. As such, the book provides an accessible and comprehensive resource for all those seeking guidance on how to publish their research work in the field of orthopaedics.
Publishing and presenting clinical research by 
Publishing Your Medical Research by
Publishing Your Medical Research is the second edition of the award-winning book that provides practical information on how to write a publishable paper. This edition includes additional details to help medical researchers succeed in the competitive "publish or perish" world. Using a direct and highly informative style, it does more than help you write a paper; it presents the technical information, invaluable modern advice, and practical tips you need to get your paper accepted for publication. A singular source for the beginning and experienced researcher alike, Publishing Your Medical Research is a must for any physician, fellow, resident, medical scientist, graduate student, or biostatistician seeking to be published. Praise for Publishing Your Medical Research "This book is an excellent and well-documented guide to the design of clinical trials, the analysis of data, and the construction of a high-quality manuscript. Both the novice and the expert will derive many helpful suggestions from its content." Gertrude B. Elion, D.Sc. Nobel Laureate in Medicine "Where medical school lacks, this book provides. In one volume, Dan Byrne gathers essential information for all authors interested in publishing biomedical papers." Robert Jacoby Former Editor, American Medical Writers Association Journal Book Awards: American Medical Writers Association: Will Solimene Award, Outstanding quality - Print media Ralph A. Deterling Award, Distinction in Medical Communication Morris Fishbein Award, Honorable mention for excellence in medical communication for health professionals Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Writing a Biomedical Sciences Article in an Interconnected Age by
We live in an unprecedented era of flourishing of scientific publishing. However, many professionals in the biomedical sciences find writing articles to be a daunting task. The book is meant to serve as a practical writing guide that covers the writing process from the project's inception until online distribution of the published article.The book covers the framework for constructing a scientific study into a coherent narrative that can later be easily translated into a written manuscript. The content of each article section in accordance with the IMRAD format is covered and many details for the construction of additional submission materials are provided. Characteristics of papers reporting on specific types of research are presented as well as article types other than the general full research article. The book is full of resources for additional reading and learning.There are many writing guides on the market. Most of them are general, cover a wide range of scientific writing, and are mainly aimed at students. This book is best suited for young professionals who are a few years out of school. They no longer enjoy the benefit of close mentoring by a thesis adviser or equivalent, but still lack the experience to lead writing projects on their own. Through her experience of teaching young professionals and editing their work, Dr Diskin has learned their unique set of needs and the book has been written in an attempt to address them. Dr Diskin addresses the reader in the second person, with an ever-supportive tone. Importantly, the practicalities of writing articles in today's interconnected environment are discussed throughout the book. Topics such as coordinating the writing in a multinational team, use of different types of software in the writing process and resources available online to support the writer are addressed in detail.
Writing for Publication in Nursing by 
Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare by
Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare is aninvaluable guide to ?getting it right', focusing on allaspects of writing for publication. It will help the reader todevelop skills in writing articles, book reviews and other forms ofpublications, and can also be used as an aide-mémoire foreditors and journal or book reviewers. It explores: How to get started How to write various forms of publication including abstracts,papers, book reviews, journal articles and books Good practice in reviewing The editorial process Ethical and legal aspects of publishing Offering guidance, tips, examples and activities, this practicalhow-to book written by experts in the field is essential readingfor all nurses and healthcare professionals.
Writing High-Quality Medical Publications by
The imperative to "publish and not perish" has never been more compelling. Yet millions of manuscripts are prepared each year without a clear path to publication by a peer-reviewed medical journal. Enter "The Gutkin Manual." Drawing from the author's distinguished, nearly 30-year career, this comprehensive and supportive guide helps to get your paper accepted--and by the journal of first choice. Elucidating pivotal principles of quality, and biostatistics, and informed by the belief that your writing can be engaging, elegant, and memorable--no matter how technical and complex the subject matter, this volume can be your trustworthy companion as you seek to enhance both the structure and substance of your manuscripts.
Writing to Improve Healthcare by
This new book is a 'what and how to' guide to writing for successful scholarly publication in the emerging fields of healthcare improvement and patient safety. While there are many useful authors¿ aids for scholarly biomedical publication, none focuses explicitly on these relatively new fields. It offers practical advice that includes preparation and organization of a scholarly healthcare improvement manuscript, where to submit it to find the most likely interested editor and journal, how to take full advantage of coauthors¿ working together effectively, and strategies for authors to reach a broader health professions readership.
Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks by
"Wow. No one ever told me this!" Wendy Laura Belcher has heard this countless times throughout her years of teaching and advising academics on how to write journal articles. Scholars know they must publish, but few have been told how to do so. So Belcher made it her mission to demystify the writing process. The result was Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks, which takes this overwhelming task and breaks it into small, manageable steps. For the past decade, this guide has been the go-to source for those creating articles for peer-reviewed journals. It has enabled thousands to overcome their anxieties and produce the publications that are essential to succeeding in their fields. With this new edition, Belcher expands her advice to reach beginning scholars in even more disciplines. She builds on feedback from professors and graduate students who have successfully used the workbook to complete their articles. A new chapter addresses scholars who are writing from scratch. This edition also includes more targeted exercises and checklists, as well as the latest research on productivity and scholarly writing. Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks is the only reference to combine expert guidance with a step-by-step workbook. Each week, readers learn a feature of strong articles and work on revising theirs accordingly. Every day is mapped out, taking the guesswork and worry out of writing. There are tasks, templates, and reminders. At the end of twelve weeks, graduate students, recent PhDs, postdoctoral fellows, adjunct instructors, junior faculty, and international faculty will feel confident they know that the rules of academic publishing and have the tools they need to succeed.
Open Access enables free and immediate access to scholarly research online, thus increasing exposure and potential impact both within the academy and beyond.
Unrestricted access to research for redistribution and reuse in subsequent outputs (by you and others), with attribution, enhances opportunities for collaboration and innovation with industry, government and other stakeholders.
Key Information
Author metrics are measurements of an author's bibliometric impact. See the following guides to learn more about measuring the impact of an individual's research.