Best Practices for Protecting Individual Privacy in Conducting Survey Research by 
Designing and Conducting Survey Research by
The industry standard guide, updated with new ideas and SPSSanalysis techniques Designing and Conducting Survey Research: A ComprehensiveGuide Fourth Edition is the industry standard resource thatcovers all major components of the survey process, updated toinclude new data analysis techniques and SPSS procedures withsample data sets online. The book offers practical, actionableguidance on constructing the instrument, administrating theprocess, and analyzing and reporting the results, providingextensive examples and worksheets that demonstrate the appropriateuse of survey and data techniques. By clarifying complexstatistical concepts and modern analysis methods, this guideenables readers to conduct a survey research project from initialfocus concept to the final report. Public and nonprofit managers with survey researchresponsibilities need to stay up-to-date on the latest methods,techniques, and best practices for optimal data collection,analysis, and reporting. Designing and Conducting SurveyResearch is a complete resource, answering the "what", "why",and "how" every step of the way, and providing the latestinformation about technological advancements in data analysis. Theupdated fourth edition contains step-by-step SPSS data entry andanalysis procedures, as well as SPSS examples throughout the text,using real data sets from real-world studies. Other new informationincludes topics like: Nonresponse error/bias Ethical concerns and special populations Cell phone samples in telephone surveys Subsample screening and complex skip patterns The fourth edition also contains new information on the growingimportance of focus groups, and places a special emphasis on dataquality including size and variability. Those who employ surveyresearch methods will find that Designing and Conducting SurveyResearch contains all the information needed to better design,conduct, and analyze a more effective survey.
Designing and Doing Survey Research by
Designing and Doing Survey Research is an introduction to the processes and methods of planning and conducting survey research. The book provides step-by-step guidance on: Designing your research Ethical issues Developing your survey questions Sampling Budgeting, scheduling and managing your time Administering your survey Preparing for data analysis With a focus on the impact of new technologies, this book provides a cutting-edge look at how survey research is conducted today as well as the challenges survey researchers face. Packed full of international examples from various social science disciplines, the book is ideal for students and researchers new to survey research. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Doing Survey Research by
The significantly updated third edition of this short, practical book prepares students to write a questionnaire, generate a sample, conduct their own survey research, analyse data, and write up the results, while learning to read and interpret excerpts from published research. It combines statistics and survey research methods in a single book.
Doing Surveys Online by
Lecturers, request your electronic inspection copyVera Toepoel's practical, how-to guide to doing surveys online takes you through the entire process of using surveys, from systematically recruiting respondents, to designing the internet survey, to processing the survey data and writing it up. This book helps students and researchers in identifying possible strategies to make the best use of online surveys, providing pro's and con's, and do's and don'ts for each strategy. It also explores the latest opportunities and developments that have arisen in the field of online surveys, including using social networks, and provides expert guidance and examples of best practice throughout. Suitable for those starting a research project or conducting a survey in a professional capacity, this book is the ideal go-to reference for anyone using internet surveys, be it a beginner or a more experienced survey researcher.
Factorial Survey Experiments by
The factorial survey method is well established in the social sciences as a method of assessing respondents' beliefs about the world, judgment principles, or decision rules. Instead of single-item questions, respondents are confronted with multi-dimensional stimuli ("vignettes") that resemble real-life judgments or decision-making situations. Within these vignettes, attributes are experimentally varied in their values. This method enables the researcher to combine the advantages of experimental designs and surveys.
Hard-To-Survey Populations by
Surveys are used extensively in psychology, sociology and business, as well as many other areas, but they are becoming increasingly difficult to conduct. Some segments of the population are hard to sample, some are hard to find, others are hard to persuade to participate in surveys, and still others are hard to interview. This book offers the first systematic look at the populations and settings that make surveys hard to conduct and at the methods researchers use to meet these challenges. It covers a wide range of populations (immigrants, persons with intellectual difficulties, and political extremists) and settings (war zones, homeless shelters) that offer special problems or present unusual challenges for surveys. The team of international contributors also addresses sampling strategies including methods such as respondent-driven sampling and examines data collection strategies including advertising and other methods for engaging otherwise difficult populations.
Health Measurement Scales by
Clinicians and those in health sciences are frequently called upon to measure subjective states such as attitudes, feelings, quality of life, educational achievement and aptitude, and learning style in their patients. This fifth edition of Health Measurement Scales enables these groups toboth develop scales to measure non-tangible health outcomes, and better evaluate and differentiate between existing tools.Health Measurement Scales is the ultimate guide to developing and validating measurement scales that are to be used in the health sciences. The book covers how the individual items are developed; various biases that can affect responses (e.g. social desirability, yea-saying, framing); variousresponse options; how to select the best items in the set; how to combine them into a scale; and finally how to determine the reliability and validity of the scale. It concludes with a discussion of ethical issues that may be encountered, and guidelines for reporting the results of the scaledevelopment process. Appendices include a comprehensive guide to finding existing scales, and a brief introduction to exploratory and confirmatory factor analysis, making this book a must-read for any practitioner dealing with this kind of data.
How to Conduct Surveys by
The Fifth Edition of the best-selling How to Conduct Surveys guides readers through the process of developing their own rigorous surveys and evaluating the credibility of surveys created by others. Offering practical, step-by-step advice and written in the same clear and accessible style as her other works, author Arlene Fink centres her guidance on choosing the appropriate type of survey, writing survey questions and responses, formatting the survey, deciding on the characteristics and numbers of respondents to include, determining the frequency of surveying respondents, and analyzing and reporting the results. The Fifth Edition pays particular attention to the internet and online surveys, considering best practices and techniques for developing a thorough and effective survey.
Qualitative Health Research: Creating a new Discipline by 
Qualitative Methods for Health Research by
To download an e-inspection copy click here or for more information contact your local sales representative.Packed with practical advice and research quick tips, this book is the perfect companion to your health research project. It not only explains the theory of qualitative health research so you can interpret the studies of others, but also showcases how to approach, start, maintain, and disseminate your own research. It will help you: Understand the role of the researcher Develop an effective research proposal Seek ethical approval Conduct interviews, observational studies, mixed methods, and web-based designs Use secondary and digital sources Code, manage, and analyse data Write up your results Whether you are studying public health, sports medicine, occupational therapy, nursing, midwifery, or another health discipline, the authors will be your surrogate supervisors and guide you through evaluating or undertaking any type of health research. Judith Green is Professor of Sociology of Health at King's College London. Nicki Thorogood is Programme Director, DrPH, at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine.
Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare by 
Qualitative Research in the Health Professions by
Qualitative research can provide a great depth of understanding for health professionals in practice. Although many general research texts used in health discipline research courses present a broad spectrum of research methods, their discussion of qualitative methods is often limited. Qualitative Research in the Health Professions by Drs. William A. Pitney, Jenny Parker, Stephanie M. Mazerolle, and Kelly Potteiger, is a practical and straightforward text for those learning about qualitative research in the health professions.
Randomized Response and Related Methods by
Randomized response is a data collection strategy specifically designed for surveys of a sensitive nature. By establishing a probabilistic connection between question and answer, randomized response and related methods protect respondents who are asked to disclose personal information. Covering a half century of theoretical and applied research, the Second Edition significantly updates and expands what was, at the time, the first comprehensive and practical guide to randomized response.
Rating Scales in Mental Health by
Rating Scales in Mental Health is ideal for mental health clinicians and researchers who use psychometric instruments in their practice. The updated edition of this highly regarded compendium describes and analyzes 116 scales arranged in 20 categories, including anxiety, bipolar disorder, depression, eating disorders, geriatrics, psychosis, sexual disorders, substance abuse, and suicide risk. Material on each rating scale consists of * an overview * general applications * selected psychometric properties * references and copyright information * time needed to complete scale * a representative study Samples of many scales are included, as are tables in a quick-reference format.
Researching Health by
The second edition of Researching Health covers everything that a student or new researcher will need when starting to conduct their own research in a range of healthcare settings. The chapters guide the reader through each specific qualitative, quantitative and mixed method, and show how these work in practice. In the second edition, the authors place particular focus on the critical appraisal of research - asking not only how different forms of research can be conducted, but also how we can use the research of others effectively. Two new chapters have also been included, on: - Gender and Health Research - Public Health ResearchA full companion website accompanies the book, with a range of teaching materials for lecturers and online learning resources for students. It is an ideal companion for undergraduate and postgraduate students on health programmes. The book is also valuable reading for researchers, academics, managers and practitioners working across the healthcare field.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Data Collection by 
Survey Research Methods by
The Fifth Edition of Floyd J. Fowler Jr.'s bestselling Survey Research Methods presents the very latest methodological knowledge on surveys. Offering a sound basis for evaluating how each aspect of a survey can affect its precision, accuracy, and credibility, the book guides readers through each step of the survey research process. This fully updated edition addresses the growth of the Internet for data collection and the subsequent rapid expansion of online survey usage, the precipitous drop in response rates for telephone surveys, the continued improvement in techniques for pre-survey evaluation of questions, and the growing role of individual cell phones in addition to--and often instead of--household landlines. Throughout the book, the author puts the profound changes taking place in the survey research world today into perspective, helping researchers learn how to best use new and traditional options for collecting data. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Usability Testing for Survey Research by
Usability Testing for Survey Research provides researchers with a guide to the tools necessary to evaluate, test, and modify surveys in an iterative method during the survey pretesting process. It includes examples that apply usability to any type of survey during any stage of development, along with tactics on how to tailor usability testing to meet budget and scheduling constraints. The book's authors distill their experience to provide tips on how usability testing can be applied to paper surveys, mixed-mode surveys, interviewer-administered tools, and additional products. Readers will gain an understanding of usability and usability testing and why it is needed for survey research, along with guidance on how to design and conduct usability tests, analyze and report findings, ideas for how to tailor usability testing to meet budget and schedule constraints, and new knowledge on how to apply usability testing to other survey-related products, such as project websites and interviewer administered tools.
