To view more videos click here.
Choose an appropriate statistical method using this straightforward tool. From Sage Research Methods.
Essentials of Biostatistics in Public Health by
Essentials of Biostatistics in Public Health, Third Edition provides a fundamental and engaging background for students learning to apply and appropriately interpret biostatistics applications in the field of public health. Many examples are drawn directly from the author's remarkable clinical experiences with the renowned Framingham Heart Study, making this text practical, interesting, and accessible for those with little mathematical background. The examples are real, relevant, and manageable in size so that students can easily focus on applications rather than become overwhelmed by computations. The Third Edition offers a new chapter on data visualization and interpretation including guidance on reporting statistical results in tables, figures and text. Examples of well-organized, detailed and appropriately formatted tables and figures are provided along with samples of how best to interpret them. Examples of poorly organized tables and figures are also included to illustrate common misinterpretations of results, due in part to lack of clarity in presentation. The text comes packaged with an access code card that gives your students access to an online workbook for statistical computing using Microsoft Excel. The online workbook is available in both Mac and PC versions. Updates to the Third Edition: * New chapter on data visualization and interpretation * New "When and Why" sections in each chapter include timely examples of important medical and public health applications of biostatistical techniques to help students connect the technical aspects of how specific analyses are conducted to real and relevant applications. New suggestions for instructors to facilitate in-class discussions around these applications and their interpretation are included in the instructor resources * New examples from widely publicized clinical trials and from relevant and timely studies added throughout. * New integrative exercises included in the instructor resources that allow students to practice biostatistical analysis with real data using Excel. * New link to a publicly available, longitudinal dataset containing data collected in the Framingham Heart Study
Fundamentals of Biostatistics by
FUNDAMENTALS OF BIOSTATISTICS leads you through the methods, techniques, and computations of statistics necessary for success in the medical field. Every new concept is developed systematically through completely worked out examples from current medical research problems.
A Guide for the Statistically Perplexed by
Do statistics-heavy research papers give you a headache? Are you baffled by bias, confused by correlation, or flummoxed by F-tests? A Guide for the Statistically Perplexed is here to help! This book is designed to assist students, clinicians, and researchers in becoming familiar with statistical and research techniques by covering the essentials of the topic and drawing attention to many common problem areas. Inspired to write on this topic in reaction to mistakes he encountered in actual papers, David L. Streiner uses his trademark sense of humour and light-hearted style to explain complex statistical concepts in lucid, jargon-free language. Streiner delves into topics such as presenting data (or, conversely, how not to), statistical techniques, and more advanced procedures. To help readers detect problems with research design and interpretation, he details important 'CRAP' (convoluted reasoning or anti-intellectual pomposity) detectors for which they should watch out. Even those with little or no background in statistics, measurement theory, or research will come out of A Guide for the Statistically Perplexed with a new understanding and appreciation of these topics.
How to Report Statistics in Medicine by
This new edition makes many of the basic and advanced concepts of biostatistics more accessible to readers. It is one of the few books that focus on how appropriate statistical presentation can enhance both comprehension and credibility. This is a perfect reference guide for those with either a rudimentary or an advanced statistical background.
An Introduction to Medical Statistics by 
Jekel's Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Preventive Medicine, and Public Health by
Succinct yet thorough, Epidemiology, Biostatistics, and Preventive Medicine, 3rd Edition brings you today's best knowledge on epidemiology, biostatistics, preventive medicine, and public health--in one convenient source. You'll find the latest on healthcare policy and financing · infectious diseases · chronic disease · and disease prevention technology. This text also serves as an outstanding resource for preparing for the USMLE, and the American Board of Preventive Medicine recommends it as a top review source for its core specialty examination. Discusses the financial concerns and the use and limitations of screening in the prevention of symptomatic disease. Emphasizes the application of epidemiologic and biostatistical concepts to everyday clinical problem solving and decision making. Showcases important concepts and calculations inside quick-reference boxes. Presents abundant illustrations and well-organized tables to clarify and summarize complex concepts. Includes 350 USMLE-style questions and answers, complete with detailed explanations about why various choices are correct or incorrect. This book comes with STUDENT CONSULT at no extra charge! Register at www.studentconsult.com today...so you can learn and study more powerfully than ever before! Access the complete contents of the book online, anywhere you go...perform quick searches...and add your own notes and bookmarks. Follow Integration Links to related bonus content from other STUDENT CONSULT titles--to help you see the connections between diverse disciplines. Reference all other STUDENT CONSULT titles you own online, too--all in one place!Look for the STUDENT CONSULT logo on your favorite Elsevier textbooks! Includes the latest information on Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy (BSE) · SARS · avian form of H5N1 influenza · the obesity epidemic · and more.
Medical Biostatistics by
Encyclopedic in breadth, yet practical and concise, Medical Biostatistics, Fourth Edition focuses on the statistical aspects ofmedicine with a medical perspective, showing the utility of biostatistics as a tool to manage many medical uncertainties. This edition includes more topics in order to fill gaps in the previous edition. Various topics have been enlarged and modified as per the new understanding of the subject.
Medical Statistics at a Glance by
Now in its fourth edition, Medical Statistics at a Glance is a concise and accessible introduction to this complex subject. It provides clear instruction on how to apply commonly used statistical procedures in an easy-to-read, comprehensive and relevant volume. This new edition continues to be the ideal introductory manual and reference guide to medical statistics, an invaluable companion for statistics lectures and a very useful revision aid. This new edition of Medical Statistics at a Glance: Offers guidance on the practical application of statistical methods in conducting research and presenting results Explains the underlying concepts of medical statistics and presents the key facts without being unduly mathematical Contains succinct self-contained chapters, each with one or more examples, many of them new, to illustrate the use of the methodology described in the chapter. Now provides templates for critical appraisal, checklists for the reporting of randomized controlled trials and observational studies and references to the EQUATOR guidelines for the presentation of study results for many other types of study Includes extensive cross-referencing, flowcharts to aid the choice of appropriate tests, learning objectives for each chapter, a glossary of terms and a glossary of annotated full computer output relevant to the examples in the text Provides cross-referencing to the multiple choice and structured questions in the companion Medical Statistics at a Glance Workbook Medical Statistics at a Glance is a must-have text for undergraduate and post-graduate medical students, medical researchers and biomedical and pharmaceutical professionals.
Munro's Statistical Methods for Health Care Research by
This work provides a foundation in the statistics portion of nursing. Topics expanded in this edition include reliability analysis, path analysis, measurement error, missing data, and survival analysis.
Primer of Biostatistics by
Psychology Demystified helps students of Introductory Psychology understand their primary text and all the subjects in the standard curriculum.
Statistical Thinking in Epidemiology by
While biomedical researchers may be able to follow instructions in the manuals accompanying the statistical software packages, they do not always have sufficient knowledge to choose the appropriate statistical methods and correctly interpret their results. Statistical Thinking in Epidemiology examines common methodological and statistical problems in the use of correlation and regression in medical and epidemiological research: mathematical coupling, regression to the mean, collinearity, the reversal paradox, and statistical interaction. Statistical Thinking in Epidemiology is about thinking statistically when looking at problems in epidemiology. The authors focus on several methods and look at them in detail: specific examples in epidemiology illustrate how different model specifications can imply different causal relationships amongst variables, and model interpretation is undertaken with appropriate consideration of the context of implicit or explicit causal relationships. This book is intended for applied statisticians and epidemiologists, but can also be very useful for clinical and applied health researchers who want to have a better understanding of statistical thinking. Throughout the book, statistical software packages R and Stata are used for general statistical modeling, and Amos and Mplus are used for structural equation modeling.
Statistics for Evidence-Based Practice and Evaluation by
Both practical and easy to read, Rubin's STATISTICS FOR EVIDENCE-BASED PRACTICE AND EVALUATION provides you with a step-by-step guide that will help you succeed in your course. Practice illustrations and exercises support your ability to study and retain core concepts, while practical examples provide you with the opportunity to see how and when data analysis and statistics are used by helping professionals in the real world.
Understanding the New Statistics by
This is the first book to introduce the new statistics - effect sizes, confidence intervals, and meta-analysis - in an accessible way. It is chock full of practical examples and tips on how to analyze and report research results using these techniques. The book is invaluable to readers interested in meeting the new APA Publication Manual guidelines by adopting the new statistics - which are more informative than null hypothesis significance testing, and becoming widely used in many disciplines. Accompanying the book is the Exploratory Software for Confidence Intervals (ESCI) package, free software that runs under Excel and is accessible at www.thenewstatistics.com. The book's exercises use ESCI's simulations, which are highly visual and interactive, to engage users and encourage exploration. Working with the simulations strengthens understanding of key statistical ideas. There are also many examples, and detailed guidance to show readers how to analyze their own data using the new statistics, and practical strategies for interpreting the results. A particular strength of the book is its explanation of meta-analysis, using simple diagrams and examples. Understanding meta-analysis is increasingly important, even at undergraduate levels, because medicine, psychology and many other disciplines now use meta-analysis to assemble the evidence needed for evidence-based practice. The book's pedagogical program, built on cognitive science principles, reinforces learning: Boxes provide "evidence-based" advice on the most effective statistical techniques. Numerous examples reinforce learning, and show that many disciplines are using the new statistics. Graphs are tied in with ESCI to make important concepts vividly clear and memorable. Opening overviews and end of chapter take-home messages summarize key points. Exercises encourage exploration, deep understanding, and practical applications. This highly accessible book is intended as the core text for any course that emphasizes the new statistics, or as a supplementary text for graduate and/or advanced undergraduate courses in statistics and research methods in departments of psychology, education, human development , nursing, and natural, social, and life sciences. Researchers and practitioners interested in understanding the new statistics, and future published research, will also appreciate this book. A basic familiarity with introductory statistics is assumed.