Skip to Main Content

HIST 803: Irish History, 1798 to the Present

Omni

Omni includes content from the various research databases to which QUL subscribes but not everything is included.

If you are looking for information on a very specific topic, or a topic that is subject specific, it is recommended that you search databases that specialize in that subject area for more thorough results.

Finding Articles

Key Journal Indexes

Covers history of the British Isles, and of the British Empire and Commonwealth. Indexes books, articles in collective volumes, and about 700 journals.
 
Time period is from 1450 to the present. Indexes over 1700 journals published worldwide, selected books and dissertations.
 
History of the United States and Canada from pre-historic times to the present

Other Relevant Databases

A collection of facsimile page images and searchable full text for hundreds of British periodicals. Topics covered include: literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
 
Collection of magazines, journals and specialty newspapers which provide an in-depth view of life in the Victorian age.
 
Facsimile page images and searchable full-text for approximately 500 international and scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
 
Indexes popular and general interest Anglo-American and European periodicals from 19th century and early 20th century.
 
Sources
A National Library of Ireland database for Irish research, contains over 180,000 catalog records for Irish manuscripts, and for articles in Irish periodicals.
 

Newspaper Archive (Fee Based)

Irish News Archive
Offers access to fourteen national and regional Irish newspapers, covering dates from 1763 to the present. The Library does not subscribe to this database but you can find information re subscription packages on this page. 

 

 

 

Why Use an Index

Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as other materials related to history.    

Some will contain the full text of journals but if the full text is not readily available, click on Get It Link Icon.

If the "Get It" link does not find anything, don't assume that the Library does not hold the item.  A search in Omni for the title of the journal (or book) might find it. 

If clicking on a full text link does not take you directly to the article, you will need to navigate a bit to get the article you want - depending on the resource provider.

Evaluate Articles

Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them. 

Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholarly from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference

How to Search for a Journal using Omni

Once you’re in Omni: 

• Select the ‘journal title exact" option
  from the dropdown menu
• Type in the name of the journal
• Press "Search". 

Both print journals and ejournals will appear in your search results if we have access to them. Check the extent of our print holdlings or the years covered online.