Skip to Main Content

HIST 803: Irish History, 1798 to the Present

Selected Resources

Dictionary of Irish Biography
The Dictionary of Irish Biography, a collaborative project between Cambridge University Press and the Royal Irish Academy, is the most comprehensive and authoritative biographical dictionary yet published for Ireland.

New Cambridge Modern History
D208 .N53
This 14 volume set is the "most important general modern history" which covers the period from the Renaissance to 1945.

 
The "History" collection of reference works is one component in the Oxford Reference Online database, a huge and comprehensive resource which contains the full text of over 120 dictionaries, companions and other reference publications covering the complete subject spectrum.
 
Oxford Companions are a series of books providing general knowledge within a specific area, including the following:
 
Oxford Companion to British History
With over 4000 A-Z entries, this dictionary offers a wealth of fact and insight into 2000 years of British life - the people, the places, the events, and the social, economic and cultural changes that have influenced the way we live now.
 
 
Oxford Companion to Irish History
REF DA912  .O94 2002

Background Info

There are many different types of reference sources, which include dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, bibliographies, handbooks, style manuals to name a few.

Encyclopedias and dictionaries provide a general overview of  a subject and information such as names, dates, and facts. They also provide historical and political events that may have impacted a person's work and the society and culture in which they lived and worked.

Featured Resource

By Samuel Lewis, 1837
REF DA975 .L67 (4 volumes)