Indigenous Languages Revitalization

Select online reference resources:

• Online Cree Dictionary 
  Online Cree Dictionary searches through four valuable Cree Language Dictionaries.

• Wasaho Ininîwimowin Fort Severn Cree Dictionary
  This is the web version of a bilingual Ininîwimowin-English and English- Ininîwimowin dictionary, designed specifically for use in the northern Ontario Cree community of Fort Severn (Wasaho).

• itwêwina: Plains Cree Dictionary
  A Plains Cree — English dictionary. itwêwina contains an ever-increasing amount of Cree words spoken by multiple first-language Cree speakers from Maskwacîs, Alberta, collected in the joint community-university project: nêhiyawi-pîkiskwêwina maskwacîsihk – Spoken Dictionary of Maskwacîs Cree.

• Nēhiýawēwin / Plains Cree 
  Resource for a searchable bilingual Plains Cree-English Dictionary , a growing set of Plains Cree Grammar, and more.

• The Dictionary of Moose Cree
  Presently contains just over 33,475 Cree to English entries and over 10,000 English to Cree translations

• Moose and Swampy Cree Dictionary
  The dictionary contains the glossary of the three Spoken Cree volumes and the Cree Legends and Narratives from the West Coast of James Bay. The forms are given in Moose Cree. 

• Eastern Swampy & Moose Cree dictionary
  A full forms dictionary with both L and N dialects.

• EastCree Interactive Reference Grammar 
  A section in the East Cree Language Resources website focusing on the East Cree language spoken in Northern Quebec, Canada, in the James Bay area.

• Eastern James Bay Cree Dictionary on the Web
  You can search both the Northern dialect and Southern dialect.

Select online language learning lessons and resources to learn the Cree language:

• Government of Alberta: Cree Language and Culture

  From the Government of Alberta, this website contains provincially and locally developed language and culture programming related to Cree and Blackfoot language learning. Content is focused around K-12 education. 

• Doug Ellis Audio Collection
  This website was created to aid in the dissemination of the Cree language-learning audio material developed by C. Douglas Ellis as well as archival recordings of the Cree dialects spoken in Western James Bay (Ontario, Canada).

• East Cree: Language Resources
  This site is intended as a resource for Cree language teachers, literacy instructors, translators, linguists, and anyone who has an interest in the East Cree language

• Conversation Manual of the Moose and Swampy Cree
  This manual and its sound files represent the Cree languages spoken on the west coast of James Bay. From greetings to social gatherings, from school to hunting and trapping, each phrase is first given in English, then in Moose Cree (L-dialect), and then in Swampy Cree (N-dialect).