This book provides comprehensive coverage of the basic principles and legal doctrines, and the practice, of international arbitration. It contains a systematic and concise treatment of all aspects of the arbitral process, including international arbitration agreements, international arbitral proceedings and international arbitral awards. The book addresses both international commercial arbitration and the related fields of investment and state-to-state arbitration.
Mr. Born’s authoritative 4,000-page treatise, in three volumes, provides the most comprehensive available commentary on all aspects of the international commercial arbitration process. The first and second editions of International Commercial Arbitration have been widely cited by leading national courts and have been critically acclaimed as the leading commentary in the field.
The Third Edition contains 27 chapters, which comprehensively examine the law and practice of international commercial arbitration, authoritatively discussing all leading international conventions, national arbitration statutes and institutional arbitration rules. The treatise focuses on both international instruments (particularly the New York and Inter-American Conventions) and national law provisions in all leading jurisdictions (including the UNCITRAL Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration). It has also been comprehensively revised, expanded and updated to include all legislative, judicial and arbitral authorities, and other materials in the field of international arbitration prior to June 2020. It also includes expanded treatment of annulment, recognition of awards, counsel ethics, arbitrator independence and impartiality and applicable law.
International Commercial Arbitration is a flourishing alternative to the litigation of transnational disputes in domestic courts. Unlike other subjects, it must deal with two interlocking international dispute resolution regimes: the complex international arbitral regime itself, together with the important role of courts in enforcing arbitration agreement, intervening in an ongoing arbitration, and conducting judicial review of the eventual awards.
Since arbitration laws and practices differ from country to country and often undergo changes, the business world and practitioners need up-to-date information. The International Handbook on Commercial Arbitration provides such information in the form of National Reports. Annexed are the Arbitration Act of the country concerned and all other relevant legal provisions. The work covers virtually all countries involved in international business and, consequently, in international commercial arbitration. Each National Report is written by a local leading arbitration expert from the country concerned and contains comprehensive information on the arbitration law and practice of that country. Future supplements containing new National Reports along with basic legal texts in English, updates of National Reports previously published, and amended law texts follow regularly.