International Commercial Arbitration

Arbitration Law of Canada has been designed and organized to be a handy reference text for arbitration practitioners. It has been quoted with approval in many courts across Canada as well as the Supreme Court of Canada. This is a comprehensive treatise on the law and practice of arbitration in Canada. Arbitration Law of Canada covers all aspects of commercial arbitration: When to Choose Arbitration; How to Draft an Effective Arbitration Clause; How to Choose an Arbitrator; Legal and Practical Aspects of Arbitrating in Canada under both the UNCITRAL Model Law as well as domestic legislation; and Enforcing Awards in Canada, Regardless of the Jurisdiction in which they were made.

This book provides comprehensive coverage of the basic principles and legal doctrines, and the practice, of international arbitration. It contains a systematic and concise treatment of all aspects of the arbitral process, including international arbitration agreements, international arbitral proceedings and international arbitral awards. The book addresses both international commercial arbitration and the related fields of investment and state-to-state arbitration.

Mr. Born’s authoritative 4,000-page treatise, in three volumes, provides the most comprehensive available commentary on all aspects of the international commercial arbitration process. The first and second editions of International Commercial Arbitration have been widely cited by leading national courts and have been critically acclaimed as the leading commentary in the field.

International Commercial Arbitration is a flourishing alternative to the litigation of transnational disputes in domestic courts. Unlike other subjects, it must deal with two interlocking international dispute resolution regimes: the complex international arbitral regime itself, together with the important role of courts in enforcing arbitration agreement, intervening in an ongoing arbitration, and conducting judicial review of the eventual awards.

Since arbitration laws and practices differ from country to country and often undergo changes, the business world and practitioners need up-to-date information. The International Handbook on Commercial Arbitration provides such information in the form of National Reports. Annexed are the Arbitration Act of the country concerned and all other relevant legal provisions. The work covers virtually all countries involved in international business and, consequently, in international commercial arbitration. Each National Report is written by a local leading arbitration expert from the country concerned and contains comprehensive information on the arbitration law and practice of that country. Future supplements containing new National Reports along with basic legal texts in English, updates of National Reports previously published, and amended law texts follow regularly.

This book provides a comprehensive commentary on the UNCITRAL Model Law on International Arbitration. Combining both theory and practice, it is written by leading academics and practitioners from Europe, Asia and the Americas to ensure the book has a balanced international coverage. The book not only provides an article-by-article critical analysis, but also incorporates information on the reality of legal practice in UNCITRAL jurisdictions, ensuring it is more than a recitation of case law and variations in legal text. This is a guide to the reasons the Model Law was structured as it was, and the reasons variations have been adopted.

The Singapore International Arbitration Act (SIAA), originally enacted in 1994 to give effect to the Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration, has been revised and amended four times over its lifetime, further strengthening Singapore's position as a hub for international arbitration. Following the latest amendments in 2020, this book presents the first in-depth, section-by-section commentary of the SIAA, written by Singapore-qualified arbitration practitioners and with a strong coverage of the significant corpus of Singapore arbitration jurisprudence.