Skip to main content

Intermediate Senior English

Resources for teaching English at the intermediate-senior level.

Classroom Videos

Black Canadian YA Literature

Fate of Flames

"Four girls with the power to control the elements must come together to save the world from a terrible evil in this "series opener [that] has it all" (Kirkus Reviews).  At the death of one Effigy, another is chosen, pulled from her normal life into the never-ending battle." publisher

Siege of Shadows

"The Effigies seek out the true origins of the Phantoms that terrorize their world in this thrilling follow-up to Fate of Flames, which Elise Chapman calls "an immersive and monstrously fun read." There's nowhere to hide. Not when you're an Effigy." publisher

Legacy of Light

"The Effigies must uncover the connection between Saul, Blackwell, and the Phantoms before it's too late in this epic conclusion to the Effigies trilogy. The world is in chaos. But if the Effigies can't put the pieces together soon, there may not be much left of the world they've fought so desperately to save." publisher

The Field Guide to the North American Teenager

"A hilarious YA contemporary realistic novel about a witty Black French Canadian teen who moves to Austin, Texas, and experiences the joys, clichés, and awkward humiliations of the American high school experience--including falling in love. " publisher 

The Journey of Little Charlie

"Newbery Medalist Christopher Paul Curtis brings his trademark humor and heart to this story of a boy struggling to do right in the face of history's cruelest evils." publisher

Viola Desmond Won't Be Budged

" In Nova Scotia, in 1946, an usher in a movie theatre told Viola Desmond to move from her main floor seat up to the balcony. She refused to budge. Viola knew she was being asked to move because she was black. After all, she was the only black person downstairs. All the other black people were up in the balcony. In no time at all, the police arrived and took Viola to jail. The next day she was charged and fined, but she vowed to continue her struggle against such unfair rules. She refused to accept that being black meant she couldn't sit where she wanted. Viola's determination gave strength and inspiration to her community at the time." publisher

Learning to Breathe

"Sixteen-year-old Indy struggles to conceal her pregnancy while searching for a place to belong in this stunning debut novel that's perfect for fans of Amber Smith and Sara Zarr." publisher

The book of Negroes

"Aminata Diallo is kidnapped from Africa as a child and sold as a slave in South Carolina. Fleeing to Canada after the Revolutionary War, she escapes to attempt a new life in freedom." publisher

Black Beach

Sixteen-year-old Tamera lives in La Cresta, a rural fishing community on a Caribbean island. Despite having the support of relatives, including her dad, Earl, her elder sister, Mary and her best friend and first cousin, Jan, she struggles to deal with her mom's mental health issues and the absence of her boyfriend, Dalton who moves out of the village to work. Tamera's life is further complicated after one of her classmates disappears, and weeks turn to months without any word of the missing girl's whereabouts. Life gets even more challenging after Tamera suffers a personal loss.  Tamera finds herself at the centre of the mystery of her classmate's disappearance, the resolution of which shocks the people of La Cresta.

Tough Case

A contemporary play about one teen's journey through the restorative justice system, a mother fighting for her son, the scared and angry victims of a senseless crime, and the mediator who helps them all come together.

Help finding Diverse Books

Options when looking for e-book and e-audiobook content

In addition to our academic eBook providers you may be interested in making the most of your local public library for eBook fiction and movie content available from home. In Kingston see Kingston Frontenac Public Library for OverDrive (eBooks & Audiobooks), Digital Magazines, and Hoopla (Movies, TV, Music & Audiobooks). Please note, expect cloudLibrary to replace these services at KFPL as of May 27, 2020.

Novelist, a database also available online at your public library, provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 200,000 fiction and readable non-fiction titles. The database also includes other content of interest to readers, such as Author Read-alikes, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, book lists on high-interest topics, Award Lists, and Feature Articles.

For school media specialists and teachers there are Standards-Based Thematic Units and Picture Book Extenders, as well as specific teaching guides for using fiction in the classroom.

eBook packages at Queen's Library

  • ACLS Humanities E-Book – Full-text collection of over 5,400 books of high quality in the humanities and related social sciences. 
  • ProQuest Ebook Central – Ebooks from a variety of disciplines published by University Presses.
  • EBSCOhost eBook Collection – ebook titles from academic publishers and university presses from around the world.
  • Oxford Scholarship Online – ebook titles published by Oxford University Press in 20 subject areas, covering the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
  • Scholars Portal Books – publishers including Springer, Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, and Elsevier, Canadian publishers, government and non-governmental organizations.

Teaching

Help Finding Diverse Books

Spotlight item

The Globe Theatre, Shakespeare and race: Professor Farah Karim-Cooper is joined by Professor Ayanna Thompson and Dr Noémie Ndiaye in looking to the future of studying race in relation to Shakespeare and his contemporaries and how they can work to move the field forwards.