Literacy for Learning by
Literacy for Learning: A Handbook of Teaching Strategies for Middle and High School Teachers is a collection of proven, effective teaching strategies to promote content area literacy and help teachers incorporate literacy learning as a means of improving learning in all subject areas. The book presents a concise overview of content area literacy research and a rationale for teachers in all subject areas. Those who teach, or are about to teach, middle and high school students, will find a variety of engaging strategies for improving student comprehension and retention of content material. Numerous examples of how the strategies can be used across the curriculum are included. 122 strategies in all are included, plus tips and suggestions for their use. This valuable, handy, and easy-to-use resource contains strategies for teaching reading, writing, and vocabulary. Each section contains numerous strategies for use across the curriculum. An additional section focuses on ways to incorporate technology and multi-media resources into teaching to promote learning. Each strategy presented includes learning objectives, Common Core State Standards connections, a concise overview, and simple, easy-to-follow instructions for implementing the strategies. Teachers can pick up this book and immediately begin using the strategies in their own classrooms. With the implementation of Common Core State Standards, it will become more important than ever for every teacher to be a literacy teacher. This book should find widespread acceptance as a handy tool to help all teachers achieve this goal.
Differentiated Instructional Strategies for Reading in the Content Areas by
'Filled with activities, ideas, and methods for integrating reading instruction, Chapman and King's text provides content classrooms with necessary materials for differentiating reading instruction to meet individual student needs'--Anita Price Davis, Professor Emerita of Education, Converse College 'Offers best practices for before, during, and after reading to improve comprehension; great ideas for assessing vocabulary knowledge and teaching vocabulary; and excellent activities to help with interventions for RTI'--Coleen Martin, Fifth-Grade Teacher Wilder Waite Grade School, Peoria, IL Completely revised and reorganized, this second edition of the best-selling guide by Carolyn Chapman and Rita S. King offers creative, substantive methods for increasing students' content learning by helping them become better readers. Featuring new strategies, current research, expanded coverage of key topics, plus new material on planning, and information about English language learners, this updated edition shows how to use differentiated instruction, multiple intelligences, scaffolding, constructivism, and cooperative learning methods to support reading comprehension. With ideas for all subject areas, including in maths, science, social studies, and other subject areas, the book helps teachers: - Create the right environment for motivating readers - Assess readers effectively - Incorporate guided reading, shared reading, a four-block model, language experience, and read-alouds - Teach vocabulary using methods such as visuals, context clues, and miscue analysis - Improve comprehension before, during, and after reading Brimming with samples, suggestions, and lists that facilitate quick implementation in the classroom, this second edition of Differentiated Instructional Strategies for Reading in the Content Areas helps ensure that all students can experience improved learning and achievement.
Sustaining Strategic Readers by
Focusing on the secondary "whole" learner
Creating a comprehensive structure for learning
Word study: the wonder of words
Fluency: finding the flow
Vocabulary: making meaningful connections
Comprehension: frontloading and downloading.
Content Area Reading and Learning by
How can teachers make content-area learning more accessible to their students? This text addresses instructional issues and provides a wealth of classroom strategies to help all middle and secondary teachers effectively enable their students to develop both content concepts and strategies for continued learning. The goal is to help teachers model, through excellent instruction, the importance of lifelong content-area learning. This working textbook provides students maximum interaction with the information, strategies, and examples presented in each chapter. This book is organized around five themes: Content Area Reading: An Overview The Teacher and the Text The Students The Instructional Program School Culture and Environment in Middle and High School Classrooms. Pedagogical features in each chapter include: a graphic organizer; a chapter overview, Think Before, Think While and Think After Reading Activities - which are designed to integrate students' previous knowledge and experience with their new learnings about issues related to content area reading, literacy, and learning, and to serve as catalysts for thinking and discussions. This textbookis intended as a primary text for courses on middle and high school content area literacy and learning.
Building Comprehension in Adolescents by
Comprehension problems have become an epidemic: One out of every four secondary school students is unable to read and comprehend the material in textbooks.* Start addressing the root of the problem today with this practical guidebook, designed to strengthen adolescents' reading comprehension and written expression so they can master academic content. Developed for middle and high school teachers, this book helps educators improve students' reading and writing through Self-Regulated Strategy Development (SRSD), an evidence-based instructional approach that shows students how to apply proven strategies independently to boost their school success. Teachers will get complete lesson plans for teaching strategies that Use proven, validated SRSD methods that are based on sound instructional theory and have had documented positive effects.Build a foundation for higher achievement.Teachers will discover ways to embed reading, writing, and organization strategies into science and social studies lessons, so students can sharpen their understanding of complex academic content.Are classroom-ready and easy-to-use, with helpful lesson overviews and objectives, suggested teacher scripts, explicit step-by-step instructions, and detailed vignettes.Help a wide range of struggling learners, from students with disabilities to learners who simply need extra supports (great for the whole class or with individual students ).Free up teacher time.When students learn self-regulation strategies, teachers have much more flexibility--they can assist one group while other students engage in productive independent work. Practical, photocopiable worksheets and other instructional materials make the lessons easy to implement in any classroom. Teachers will help students develop new skills with a variety of self-monitoring checklists, goal charts, self-instruction sheets, graphic organizers, and more. With the highly effective strategies in this research-backed guide, educators will help build a stronger foundation for academic success and ensure that all of their students are reading and writing to learn. *The Alliance for Excellent Education, 2006 Improve skills critical to higher achievement: vocabulary developmentessay writingstory writingbiography writingidentifying the main idea of a paragraphsummarizing contentquick writingsustaining attentiongoal settingnote organizationclassroom preparationhomework completion
40 Ways to Support Struggling Readers in Content Classrooms, Grades 6-12 by
The major challenge of teaching secondary content in the current era of accountability lies in helping all students read the massive textbooks, understand the complex concepts and ideas, and demonstrate proficiency on high-stakes tests.
No Child Left Behind (2002) has created a growing sense of urgency on the part of every secondary educator to find ways to help struggling readers achieve. The idea is not that you are expected to teach struggling readers how to read. However, you are increasingly being expected to teach the knowledge and skills related to your discipline on which all students will be tested. To reach even a modest level of proficiency, struggling readers need support.#65533;#65533;#65533;#65533;40 Ways to Support Struggling Readers in Content Classrooms Grades 6-12 contains forty research-based and classroom-tested methods that teachers can implement to help struggling readers be more successful.
Literacy in Context (Linc) by
This insightful book has the answers that will help teachers choose which strategies to use to support reading in the content areas--and how to use them effectively. nbsp; There are many effective strategies that can be used to support literacy, but how do teachers choose and use them?Literacy in Context (LinC, pronounced "link") provides middle and high school teachers with an instructional model to embed literacy instruction into content area teaching. This book details literacy strategies that can be used with content area instruction to promote the development of vocabulary, fluency, comprehension, and motivation. Unique to this book is the focus on process--it provides guidance about how to choose the most effective literacy instructional strategies for different contexts and classes of students. The book models how teachers use the LinC Cycle(assess, reflect, plan, and teach/re-teach) to make decisions about which instructional assessments and strategies to choose for their adolescent students. nbsp; nbsp; Take a Peek Inside The unique process approach shows how to use the Literacy in Context (LinC) cycle (assess, reflect, plan, and teach/reteach) to choose and use the most appropriate instructional strategies to help adolescents develop their reading skills in the content areas. Over 40 instructional strategies for supporting adolescents' learning from content area text connect to the goals of vocabulary fluency comprehension, or motivation instruction.
Comprehending content : reading across the curriculum, grades 6-12 by
Series of two DVDs from Chris Tovani's high school classroom at Smoky Hill High in Aurora, Colorado, which bring viewers into her school and classroom and show how she and her colleagues are meeting the challenge of improving students' reading skills across the curriculum. Includes examples of Cris working with students using texts from multiple disciplines in her classroom, as well as collaborating with colleagues throughout the school.
I Read It, but I Don't Get It by
I Read It, but I Don't Get It is a practical, engaging account of how teachers can help adolescents develop new reading comprehension skills. Cris Tovani is an accomplished teacher and staff developer who writes with verve and humor about the challenges of working with students at all levels of achievement--from those who have mastered the art of "fake reading" to college-bound juniors and seniors who struggle with the different demands of content-area textbooks and novels. Enter Cris' classroom, a place where students are continually learning new strategies for tackling difficult text. You will be taken step-by-step through practical, theory-based reading instruction that can be adapted for use in any subject area. The book features:anecdotes in each chapter about real kids with real universal problems. You will identify with these adolescents and will see how these problems can be solved;a thoughtful explanation of current theories of comprehension instruction and how they might be adapted for use with adolescents;a What Works section in each of the last seven chapters that offers simple ideas you can immediately employ in your classroom. The suggestions can be used in a variety of content areas and grade levels(6-12);teaching tips and ideas that benefit struggling readers as well as proficient and advanced readers;appendixes with reproducible materials that you can use in your classroom, including coding sheets, double entry diaries, and comprehension constructors. In a time when students need increasingly sophisticated reading skills, this book will provide support for teachers who want to incorporate comprehension instruction into their daily lesson plans without sacrificing content knowledge.
Now We Get It! by
Bonus web content includes a PowerPoint presentation on CSR and short video clips." to: "Bonus web content includes a PowerPoint presentation on CSR implementation.
See examples of how to teach summarizing, taking notes from a presentation: http://library.queensu.ca/webedu/is/notetaking.pdf
Summary Chart: to track key ideas from reading sources:
Mind Map: to show relationships and connections among concepts and topics
