Passwords
Teacher Candidates have access to many video streaming collections. Some are password protected for use by the Faculty of Education only - all passwords for Teacher Candidates and Concurrent Education Students are on the Passwords Page. The password to access this page was distributed via the TC list. For help, ask at the library, email education.library@queensu.ca, or call 613-533-2191.
Curio
CBC and Radio-Canada. Documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots, and more. To take advantage of campus features (such as creating playlists) you will need to create an account.
National Film Board
Over 1000 films are available free, 3000 available with an account. Also includes teaching guides. To take advantage of campus features such as creating playlists and chapters, you will need to create a profile.
Films on Demand
Humanities and Social Sciences video collections: Anthropology, Art & Architecture, Communication, Criminal Justice and Law, Education, English, History, Music & Dance, Philosophy & Religion, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Technology & Society, World Languages.
Criterion on Demand
A large English and French streaming or download service with option of closed captioning.
On-Core
A collection of Canadian video segments that is searchable by provincial curriculum subjects, grades, and strands. Includes PDF teacher guides when available, and content is downloadable.
TVO in the Classroom
Use the search bar to find materials that connect to the Ontario K-12 Curriculum.
Access 140+ Grade 9-12 online English or French high school courses with our TVO ILC Open House. Students can study by computer or tablet to keep up with their learning or deepen understanding of a specific subject. All content is developed by TVO Ontario Certified Teachers. This content is not for credit.
Do-it-yourself engineering by
Do-it-yourself engineering lectures by Stephen Ressler, United States Military Academy at West Point. Includes workbook.
Everyday engineering : understanding the marvels of daily life by
6 videodisc : illustrations ; 20 cm. + 1 course guidebook
Notes:
36 lectures / 30 minutes per lecture.
Includes bibliographical references (pages 445-448).
The everyday gourmet : cooking with vegetables by
Join Chef Bill Briwa of The Culinary Institute of America as he answers your questions and more about selecting and storing produce while revealing how you can take the same fresh ingredients, bright flavors, and unexpected combinations you love at restaurants and easily prepare them in your own kitchen every night of the week.
National Geographic Masters of Photography by
24 lessons / 30 minutes per lesson.
Accompanying course guidebook includes bibliographical references.
DVD.
General shop safety by
This video demonstrates the types of dangers present in an industrial or manufacturing atmosphere and then explains how to prevent accidents. Actual industrial accidents (cranes collapsing, foundry explosions) are used to stress the importance of using proper methods when in a general shop. An excellent program for technology/vocational courses.
Metalworking safety by
Metalworking is a broad field of study that encompasses several large industries. This informative video demonstrates the kind of precautions that should be taken when working with metals. Sheet metal work, soldering, foundry work, and forging are covered, along with handling steel beams at a construction site (the Shedd Aquarium, in Chicago). Footage of fatal accidents and testimonials from steelworkers reinforce the importance of safety. This video should be viewed by anyone studying technology or any metal-working trade.
Welding safety by
Closed captioned for the hearing impaired.
This video covers the most important safety rules and protective equipment to use when performing MIG, TIG, arc, and gas welding. Welding helmets and their lens ratings, leather aprons and gloves, welding gas respirators, heat shields, and fire extinguishers are discussed, and various types of welders, including plasma cutters, are illustrated.
Public performance rights included.
Woodworking safety by
Woodworking can be a fun and very rewarding hobby or profession. However, the technology behind it can be dangerous without proper training and attention. This video summarizes the most critical safety measures to observe when using table saws, radial arm saws, planers, routers, lathes, joiners, large belt sanders, and other woodworking technology. The botton line woodworking tools and equipment are very powerful machines that must be understood and respected.