The Best of Corwin: Classroom Management by
Classroom management techniques that empower you and your students!The Best of Corwin series showcases key chapters from critically acclaimed Corwin publications for a powerful compilation of perspectives on important education issues and topics. This collection This collection features excerpts from nine works by recognized experts, bringing the best classroom management techniques and practices together in one power-packed volume. Included are problem-solving strategies for handling classroom disruptions and advice for relating to students with emotional disorders. Other key topics include:How to set the tone on the first day of schoolBrain-based management strategiesPreventive and intervention methodsWin-win solutions to power strugglesWays to teach students to self-monitor and self-manageThe authors provide a substantial array of strategies and techniques you can use immediately to engage students and create a positive learning environment. Remember what brought you to this profession and imagine the joy of working with kids when you can eliminate management headaches and actually spend your time doing what you came to do-teach!
Classroom Management Strategies by
Classroom Management Strategies: Gaining and Maintaining Students' Cooperation contains a wealth of information about classroom management strategies that teachers successfully use to lead students to be on-task and engaged in lessons. The strategies are based on extensive school teaching experiences as well as on the findings of numerous studies in learning theory, social interaction, communication, developmental psychology, multicultural education, behavioristic psychology, motivation, student engagement, and violence prevention.
Classroom Management by
After decades of teaching, Nancy Steineke passionately believes this much to be true: a collaborative classroom environment is essential for student learning, and for teachers' well -being. In this guide for every teacher, Nancy makes a powerful argument that we can dramatically reduce the stress of classroom management and improve student achievement when we cultivate classroom communities built on student-centered collaboration. Laying out a plan for collaborative classroom management across a semester or a whole school year, Nancy offers teaching moves and student activities that: build strong relationships between students and teachers, and between each other help students develop, invest in, and uphold positive classroom norms show students the importance and real-life value of soft skills, including what those skills look and sound like in action. Nancy's strategies can easily be integrated into your classes as you teach required content. "By threading community-building work through your schedule," Nancy explains, "you show your students that they matter as individuals, and that social skills are intertwined with academic success." If you're wasting precious class time addressing classroom management issues and want to foster a more meaningful, productive place to learn, give Nancy's time-tested moves and activities a try. There's never been a more important time to create collaborative classroom communities where every student is seen, heard, and believed in.
The Teacher's Pocket Guide for Effective Classroom Management by
Teachers give the highest marks to this bestselling classroom management guide, and now it's better than ever. Deveolped by Tim Knoster, a behaviour expert and former teacher whose in-demand workshops have inspired thousands, this new edition is the friendly how-to book educators need to increase desired behaviour in today's K-12 classrooms. The second editon weaves in timely NEW guidance for teachers implementing multi-tiered systems of support in tandem with positive behaviour interventions and supports (PBIS), though it's still a great resource for teachers in more traditional school settings. With time-efficient, research-based strategies, relayed with humour and vivid examples, teachers will unlock the mysteries of student behaviour, prevent disruptions to learning, and support better outcomes for every student. Contains how-to stategies that help teachers: successfully use multi-tiered systems of positive behaviour support; decode the motives behind students' behavour; develop rapport with students while maintaining appropriate boundaries; establish clear expectations for behaviour thoughout the day with positive supports; skillfully redirect inappropriate student behaviour; apply proven Tier 2 RTI strategies with students who require additional supports; and use individualized, intensive Tier 3 strategies with students who pose special challenges. This book contains helpful tip sheets and classroom management tools, including an Expectations Planning Matrix, Behavior Progress Report; Behavior Contract, and more.
Sparking Student Motivation by
Delve into the what, why, and how of motivation, its effects on learning, and your ability to spark that motivation using practical strategies to improve academic outcomes.
Learning to Teach by
This best-selling text provides comprehensive coverage of general teaching methods and models. The most balanced text in its field, Learning to Teach strikes a harmony by integrating research-based practices with practical consideration and opportunity for real-world application. The text provides strong coverage of both teacher-centered and student-centered models. By covering all major teaching models plus the leadership of teaching, including planning, classroom management, assessment, motivation, and management of time and space, Learning to Teach helps future teachers master both the theory and application of successful teaching.
Transforming Your Teaching by
Teachers are forever searching for ways to help students raise test scores or improve memory and organizational skills. Brain research is finally beginning to show them how they can shape their daily teaching practices to best meet these kinds of needs, and more, in their students. But how is a teacher to make sense of all the studies, research reports, and papers? How can you know what will actually work in the classroom?In this book, Kimberly Carraway, a leading educator and "teacher of teachers," not only summarizes the most essential principles of how the brain learns, but also unpacks hundreds of ready-to-use applications of research in the classroom, translating the science into teaching strategies and learning activities that optimize student outcomes. Transforming Your Teaching is not about doing more. It's about doing things more effectively. With brain-based tips for instructional design, knowledge assessment, and the enhancement of learning skills like time management, note-taking, attention, reading comprehension, organization, and memory, this user-friendly book will empower teachers, administrators, and parents to maximize retention and classroom success for their K-12 students.
Teaching in K-12 Schools by
Are you looking for an engaging and accessible resource to support your understanding of classroom instruction? This authors of this text provide you with engaging narrative that brings K-12 classrooms to life. A reflective planning model introduced in the beginning of the text helps you make the important connection between planning and addressing curriculum standards. In addition to reflective teaching, this edition explores classroom management, diversity, standards, curriculum and lesson planning, active and authentic learning, technology in education, assessment, and working in the school community. Because this edition also pays specific attention to professional standards (INTASC, curriculum standards, and Praxis II) you will gain confidence as you prepare for a career in teaching.
Building a Better Teacher by
We've all had great teachers who opened new worlds, maybe even changed our lives. What made them so great? Everyone agrees that a great teacher can have an enormous impact. Yet we still don't know what, precisely, makes a teacher great. Is it a matter of natural-born charisma? Or does exceptional teaching require something more? Building a Better Teacher introduces a new generation of educators exploring the intricate science underlying their art. A former principal studies the country's star teachers and discovers a set of common techniques that help children pay attention. Two math teachers videotape a year of lessons and develop an approach that has nine-year-olds writing sophisticated mathematical proofs. A former high school teacher works with a top English instructor to pinpoint the key interactions a teacher must foster to initiate a rich classroom discussion. Through their stories, and the hilarious and heartbreaking theater that unfolds in the classroom every day, Elizabeth Green takes us on a journey into the heart of a profession that impacts every child in America. What happens in the classroom of a great teacher? Opening with a moment-by-moment portrait of an everyday math lesson--a drama of urgent decisions and artful maneuvers--Building a Better Teacher demonstrates the unexpected complexity of teaching. Green focuses on the questions that really matter: How do we prepare teachers and what should they know before they enter the classroom? How does one get young minds to reason, conjecture, prove, and understand? What are the keys to good discipline? Incorporating new research from cognitive psychologists and education specialists as well as intrepid classroom entrepreneurs, Green provides a new way for parents to judge what their children need in the classroom and considers how to scale good ideas. Ultimately, Green discovers that good teaching is a skill. A skill that can be taught. A provocative and hopeful book, Building a Better Teacher shows that legendary teachers are more than inspiring; they are perhaps the greatest craftspeople of all.