Skip to Main Content

Systematic Reviews & Other Syntheses

Introduction

Queen’s University Library subscribes to an institutional subscription to Covidence. This software will make the research review process more time and cost-efficient. 

Recent Webinar Recordings

Introducing the new and improved bulk PDF uploader from August 2022

Watch this on-demand webinar to learn about updates to the full-text retrieval and review processes. Find out how open access articles are automatically uploaded when studies move to full-text screening or data extraction, a new drag-and-drop PDF feature...and much more!

 

Covidence data extraction: Q & A from February 2022

The one-hour session explained the concept of data extraction and how it can be done in Covidence. The webinar also answered your questions - some that had been submitted in advance and some that were raised by attendees during the session. 

Click here or below to view:

 

Covidence 101 webinar recording from November 2021

Do you have questions about how to use Covidence systematic review software for your project or review?

The recording of this live demo for Queen's researchers provides an overview of the systematic review workflow while showcasing some of Covidence’s most popular features. You’ll also get tips and tricks to jumpstart your progress.

Access the webinar recording (passcode 6UUDxP+d).

What is Covidence?

Covidence is a web-based software platform that streamlines the production of systematic reviews and other research reviews that require screening citations and full text, assessing risk of bias, or extracting study characteristics and outcomes.

Key features of Covidence are: 

  • Support for duplicated, independent processes, including at citation screening, full text review, Risk of Bias (RoB) and Data Extraction stages
  • Resolution of screening, RoB, and data extraction conflicts, and agreement on final consensus data 
  • Import of citations from a range of bibliographic databases or reference managers and automatic de-duplication of citations
  • Storage of full text study reports 
  • Automatic population of Risk of Bias tables with text selected in full text reports
  • Simple export of data into RevMan or Excel

Why join the institutional license?

  • Unlimited number of reviews (projects)
  • Unlimited number of collaborators for each review
  • Unlimited number of records/citations for each review
  • Unlimited Priority Support service for all users
  • Invitation and migration of existing organizational users (i.e. those already using Covidence with a Queen's email address)

How to join the institutional license

Note: screenshots for the instructions provided below can be found on the Queen's institutional information page of the Covidence Knowledge Base.

To join the Queen’s University institutional license: 

  1. Request an invitation to the institutional license: https://www.covidence.org/organizations/5nqJ3/signup
  2. Enter your information using a Queen’s email address (e.g. @queensu.ca, @qmed.ca, @dfm.queensu.ca) and select “Request Invitation”
  3. Open the email invitation and select “Accept this invitation”
  4. To accept the invitation, you will need to have, or otherwise create, a personal Covidence account using a Queen’s email address:
    • If you already have a personal Covidence account using a Queen’s email address, “Sign-in” using your personal Covidence account credentials
    • If you don’t already have a personal Covidence account using a Queen’s email address, select “Sign up.” Enter your information and select “Create Account.”

How to start a new review

Note: screenshots for the instructions provided below can be found on the Queen's institutional information page of the Covidence Knowledge Base. 

To start a new review using the Queen’s University institutional license:

  1. Sign-in to Covidence: https://www.covidence.org/sign_in
  2. Select “Start a new review”
  3. Under Which account do you want to use?, select “Queen’s University”

Reviews created using the Queen’s University institutional account will be visible to Covidence subscription administrators at Queen’s University Library. Reviews created using your personal account are only visible to you. 

Covidence help and support

  • Covidence provides pages of useful information including answers to FAQs and short video tutorials in their Knowledge Base.
  • Can’t find the answer that you’re looking for? Need additional help? Log into your Covidence account and select the question mark in the upper right hand corner.

New feature!

Calculate inter-rater reliability
Users and administrators can now export inter-rater reliability data from Covidence and calculate Cohen's kappa! Head over to the Export page for your review and you'll see a brand-new section where you can choose to download inter-rater reliability for title & abstract screening or full-text review. Click here to read more.

New feature!

New features have been released for Extraction 2.0.

Reviewers are now able to extract data into tables in a way that best suits the review you're working on:

  • Create and customize tables
  • Use the default tables when starting a new review
  • Update the templates throughout the data extraction process
  • Reviewers no longer need to use string fields to capture data because tables allow for a better collection of quantitative data

Automated de-duplication of imported citations

Covidence automatically detects and removes duplicate references when you import citations and abstracts from multiple databases. While you can review the duplicates identified and override any duplicate decisions, this is not a necessary part of the Covidence workflow because the deduplication algorithm performs so well. 

See the research evidence here: 

McKeown S, Mir ZM. Considerations for conducting systematic reviews: evaluating the performance of different methods for de-duplicating references. Systematic Reviews. 2021 Dec;10(1):1-8.