The purpose of this guide is to connect you with useful information and resources for the research process -- whether it's information research, original research or secondary research -- from formulating a question to writing and publishing a paper.
Health Sciences Librarians are available to answer your questions and to meet with individuals or groups for consultations online or in person.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research
by
This new edition of the SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research represents the sixth generation of the ongoing conversation about the discipline, practice, and conduct of qualitative inquiry. As with earlier editions, the Sixth Edition is virtually a new volume, with 27 of the 34 chapters representing new topics or approaches not seen in the previous edition. To mark the Handbook's 30-year history, we are pleased to offer a bonus PART VI in the eBook versions of the Sixth Edition: this additional section brings together and reprints ten of the most famous or game-changing contributions from the previous five editions.
Designing Clinical Research
by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! For more than 30 years, Designing Clinical Research has set the standard as the most practical, authoritative guide for physicians, nurses, pharmacists, and other practitioners involved in all forms of clinical and public health research. Using a reader-friendly writing style, Drs. Warren S. Browner, Thomas B. Newman, Steven R. Cummings, Deborah G. Grady, Alison J. Huang, Alka M. Kanaya, and Mark J. Pletcher, all of the University of California, San Francisco, provide up-to-date, commonsense approaches to the challenging judgments involved in designing, funding, and implementing a study. This state-of-the-art fifth edition features new figures, tables, and design, as well as new editors, new content, and extensively updated references to keep you current. Covers clinical research in its many forms, including clinical trials, observational studies, translational science, and patient-oriented research. Presents epidemiologic terms and principles and advanced conceptual material in a practical and reader-friendly manner. Discusses key changes in the field, including confounding and directed acyclic graphs, surrogate outcomes and biomarkers, instrumental variables and Mendelian randomization, regression discontinuity designs, alternative data sources, AI and machine learning, pilot studies, as well as an update on P values and Bayesian analysis.. Covers modifications of classic randomized trials, such as pre/post, interrupted time series, difference-in-differences, stepped wedge and cluster randomized designs, as well as randomized trials in health systems. Adds new chapters on qualitative approaches to clinical research and on community-engaged research Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech
Statistics at Square Two
by
STATISTICS AT SQUARE TWO An easy-to-follow exploration of intermediate statistical techniques used in medical research In the newly revised third edition of Statistics at Square Two: Understanding Modern Statistical Applications in Medicine, a team of distinguished statisticians delivers an accessible and intuitive discussion of advanced statistical methods for readers and users of scientific medical literature. This will allow readers to engage critically with modern research as the authors explain the correct interpretation of results in the medical literature. The book includes two brand new chapters covering meta-analysis and time-series analysis as well as new references to the many checklists that have appeared in recent years to enable better reporting of contemporary research. Most examples have been updated as well, and each chapter contains practice exercises and answers. Readers will also find sample code (in R) for many of the analyses, in addition to: A thorough introduction to models and data, including the different types of data, statistical models, and computer-intensive methods Comprehensive explorations of multiple linear regression, including the interpretation of computer output, diagnostic statistics such as influential points, and many uses of multiple regression Practical discussions of multiple logistic regression, survival analysis, Poisson regression and random effects models including their uses, examples in the medical literature, and strategies for interpreting computer output Perfect for anyone hoping to better understand the statistics presented in contemporary medical research, Statistics at Square Two: Understanding Modern Statistical Applications in Medicine will also benefit postgraduate students studying statistics and medicine.
Research Design
by
The sixth edition of the best-selling text, Research Design: Qualitative, Quantitative, and Mixed Methods Approaches by John W. Creswell and J. David Creswell, continues to provide clear and concise instruction for designing research projects or developing research proposals. This user-friendly text walks readers through research methods, from reviewing the literature to writing a research question and stating a hypothesis to designing the study. At each step in the process, the authors address qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approaches to encourage readers to choose the approach that best fits the research question. Numerous examples draw from a wide variety of disciplines, featuring diverse philosophical ideas and modes of inquiry. Features like bullet points, numbered steps, and annotated research examples help students focus on the most important information in research design. The Sixth Edition has been fully revised to reflect the 7th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association with more inclusive language, updated citation styles, and updated writing suggestions. Learning objectives are now included at the start of each chapter. To help readers better achieve these learning objectives, the authors have clarified and improved the writing exercises to help readers better achieve these learning objectives. The final three chapters detailing qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods now have a parallel structure so readers can better compare and contrast these approaches. Chapter 10 on mixed methods in particular has been restructured to reflect the latest developments in mixed methods and best practices. New research examples throughout help capture and demonstrate new trends in research.
Quantitative Research Methodology in the Health Sciences
by
Indigenous methodologies : characteristics, conversations, and contexts ; Second edition.
by
Research Methodology in the Health Sciences: A Quick Reference Guide
by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Concise, readable, and easy to navigate--a practical and thorough guide to conducting efficient and effective medical research Whether you're a student, scholar, faculty member, or practicing healthcare professional Research Methodology in the Health Sciences helps you improve your research skills and critically appraise original research and apply it in evidence-based patient care. This peerless guide describes the principles of biostatistics and provides detailed examples to build your comprehension of the utility and applicability of bio-statistical tests, without going into the mathematical details of such tests. You'll find accessible coverage of the principles of biomedical ethics in research and publication, review of the medical literature, how to write a dissertation, how to prepare and submit a research manuscript for publication in a journal, how to apply for a research grant to funding agencies, and much more. To enhance the learning process, all examples drawn exclusively from real healthcare scenarios. Research Methodology in the Health Sciences covers: Planning a research study Writing a dissertation Types of studies in clinical research Observational and interventional studies Approaches to qualitative research Ethics in medical research Biostatistics and descriptive statistics Approaches to statistical inference
Introduction to Research in the Health Sciences
by
Now in its 7th edition this textbook is a must have for any health professional student. It provides a comprehensive overview of health research, in a concise and easy to read format using examples directly related to the health sciences. It helps students understand health research models, and how research goes on to inform and improve evidence-based clinical practice. For practitioners it provides guidance on published research in journals, providing an essential tool to keep their practice evidence based. Uses simple language and demystifies research jargon Covers both quantitative and qualitative research methodology, taking a very practical approach Provides an extensive glossary for better understanding of the language of research Fully updated online interactive self-assessment tests including MCQs, true or false questions and short answer questions.
Introduction to Health Research Methods
by
Designed to empower new investigators to conduct their own original research projects, the third edition of Introduction to Health Research Methods: A Practical Guide leads the reader step-by-step in performing quantitative and qualitative research in medicine, public health, and other clinical and population health fields. Organized in five sections, the text covers the entire research process from formulating a study question and selecting a study approach to collecting and analyzing data and then disseminating the findings. Chapters about methods for primary studies (collecting new data), secondary analyses (analyzing existing data), and tertiary studies (conducting literature reviews and meta-analyses) provide comprehensive coverage of the scope of health research. By breaking the research process down into a series of achievable steps, Introduction to Health Research Methods shows students and early career scholars how they can contribute to improving the health of individuals and communities through research.The Third Edition has been significantly updated to include:- Expanded coverage of qualitative research methods, including new chapters on qualitative study design, data collection, and data analysis.- Additional glossary terms that clarify key terminology for all stages of the research process and a diversity of study approaches.- Enhanced explanations of how to select and implement quantitative and qualitative research and analysis methodologies. - New and updated coverage of topics such as framing research questions, developing testable hypotheses, defining specific aims, responsibly conducting research, selecting study designs, minimizing bias, applying theoretical paradigms, ensuring rigor and reproducibility, conducting quality assessment, managing grants, and more.
Canadian Essentials of Nursing Research
by
The easy-to-understand content, the non-intimidating writing style, and improved organization by methodologic content are features of the 4th edition of Canadian Essentials of Nursing Research that help Canadian nursing students become skilled readers of nursing studies. Updated by a new author, Dr. Kevin Woo, this text helps instructors engage their students in how research findings can improve their students' clinical performance. Featuring balanced coverage of quantitative and qualitative research, critiquing guidelines, Tips, and Canadian research examples with critical thinking exercises, this edition fosters an appreciation of research as a path to enhancing nursing practice, health policy, populations, and health outcomes. To help students learn to read and critique research reports, Canadian Essentials of Nursing Research features the Critiquing Guidelines. Each chapter includes guidelines for conducting a critique of various aspects of a research report. The guidelines provide a list of questions that walk students through a study, drawing attention to aspects of the study that are amenable to appraisal by research consumers. In addition to updating the book with new information on conventional research methods, Quality improvement projects and Clinical significance are addressed. This edition features updated online resources more aligned with the text, including a brand new test bank with questions at the application level and higher.
Research Design and Analysis
by
A concise, straightforward overview of research design and analysis, helping readers form a general basis for designing and conducting research The practice of designing and analyzing research continues to evolve with advances in technology that enable greater technical analysis of data--strengthening the ability of researchers to study the interventions and relationships of factors and assisting consumers of research to understand and evaluate research reports. Research Design and Analysis is an accessible, wide-ranging overview of how to design, conduct, analyze, interpret, and present research. This book helps those in the sciences conduct their own research without requiring expertise in statistics and related fields and enables informed reading of published research. Requiring no background in statistics, this book reviews the purpose, ethics, and rules of research, explains the fundamentals of research design and validity, and describes how to select and employ appropriate statistical techniques and reporting methods. Readers gain knowledge central to various research scenarios, from sifting through reports of meta-analyses and preparing a research paper for submission to a peer-reviewed journal to discussing, evaluating, and communicating research results. This book: Provides end-to-end guidance on the entire research design and analysis process Teaches readers how to both conduct their own research and evaluate the research of others Offers a clear, concise introduction to fundamental topics ideal for both reference and general education functions Presents information derived from the author's experience teaching the subject in real-world classroom settings Includes a full array of learning tools including tables, examples, additional resource suggestions, complete references, and appendices that cover statistical analysis software and data sets Research Design and Analysis: A Primer for the Non-Statistician is a valuable source of information for students and trainees in medical and allied health professions, journalism, education, and those interested in reading and comprehending research literature.
Keys to Running Successful Research Projects
by
Keys to Running Successful Research Projects: All the Things They Never Teach You provides a step-by-step guide for the management of a successful research project or program. Through the use of illustrative case studies, the book covers all aspects of management that should be included during researcher training, helping researchers overcome the many challenges they face in their day-to-day management of people, time and resources. Links throughout provide more detailed information from gold standard sources on every topic. It is a must-have reference for postdocs, research managers and administrators in colleges, universities, hospitals and research institutes. In addition, it is an ideal resource for those working in grant and contract funding groups in the life sciences and medical fields. Covers the nuts and bolts of research management in the life sciences, medical and health fields Provides simple solutions to issues that come up on the job Ensures that hard-fought for money is spent wisely and well
Nursing Research
by
Become better at understanding and applying nursing research to your everyday work with Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based Practice, 9th Edition. Written by an all-star team of educators and research experts, this four-time recipient of the American Journal of Nursing's Book of the Year is the perfect text to help ground you in the processes behind nursing research and evidence-based practice. This new ninth edition has been thoroughly updated and refocused to better match the needs of the nurse who will read and apply research versus the professional researcher herself. This new edition also features: new research examples and vignettes; easy-to-use navigation tools; enhanced readability; expanded information on how to integrate interprofessional education and evidence-based practice; and well-balanced coverage of both qualitative and quantitative research methods. It's a must-have resource for any nurse wanting to take advantage of the nursing research and evidence-based practice currently out there. Balanced but distinct coverage of both the qualitative and quantitative approaches to nursing research acquaints you with the processes behind research and evidence-based practice. Complete, high-quality research examples, including three sample critiques, demonstrate how to apply the principles outlined in the text to published quantitative and qualitative research studies. Research Vignettes introduce you to real-world practitioners of nursing research and help bridge the gaps among clinical research, academia, and clinical practice. All-star group of contributors represents a widely respected team of experts in nursing research and evidence-based practice. Effective learning aids in every chapter include Key Terms, Learning Outcomes, Helpful Hints, Evidence-Based Practice Tips, Appraising the Evidence, Critiquing Criteria, Critique of a Research Study, Critical Thinking Decision Paths, Critical Thinking Challenges, and Key Points. NEW! Revised, refocused, and streamlined content throughout to better address the needs of consumers of research for evidence-based clinical practice. NEW! All-new research examples and Research Vignettes have been added throughout to demonstrate the most current high-quality published studies, and to exemplify the work on prominent nurse-researchers. NEW! Content on mixed-methods research along with secondary analysis has been added to the chapter on nonexperimental designs. NEW! Expanded coverage of systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines addresses these important aspects of research. UNIQUE! Integration of interprofessional education concepts and activities addresses the growing interest in interprofessional education and interprofessional collaborative practice. NEW! Enhanced readability and navigation tools make it easier for you to locate, understand, and retain information in the text. NEW! Revamped coverage of theory content and strategies for developing an evidence-based practice feature consolidated chapters that are more visual and less text-heavy.
Nursing Research in Canada
by
Equip yourself with the tools to better understand and apply research to your everyday practice with Nursing Research in Canada: Methods, Critical Appraisal, and Utilization, 4th Edition. Written by an all-star team of educators and research experts from the U.S. and Canada, this thoroughly updated text is the perfect resource to help ground you in the processes behind nursing research and evidence-informed practice. The fourth edition has been thoroughly updated and refocused to better match the needs of the nurse who will read and apply research rather than conduct research. This text also features new research examples that reflect the most current Canadian studies, fresh vignettes, easy-to-use navigation tools, enhanced readability, and well-balanced coverage of both qualitative and quantitative research methods. It's a must-have resource for both undergraduate and graduate nursing students alike! Balanced but distinct coverage of both the qualitative and quantitative approaches to nursing research acquaints you with the processes behind research and evidence-informed practice. Complete, high-quality research examples, including three sample critiques, demonstrate how to apply the principles outlined in the text to published quantitative and qualitative research studies. Research Vignettes introduces you to real-world practitioners of nursing research and help bridge the gaps among clinical research, academia, and clinical practice. An updated design improves the legibility of content dense pedagogical features - particularly tables and boxes. Effective learning aids in every chapter include Key Terms, Learning Outcomes, ResearchHints, Evidence Informed Practice Tips, Appraising the Evidence, Critiquing Criteria, Critique of a Research Study, Critical Thinking Decision Paths, Critical Thinking Challenges, and Key Points. NEW! All-new research examples and Vignettes have been added throughout to demonstrate the most current high-quality published studies, and to exemplify the work on prominent nurse-researchers. NEW! Content on mixed-methods research along with secondary analysis has been added to the chapter on nonexperimental designs. NEW! Improved coverage of Qualitative methods balances out coverage and addresses this important aspects of research. NEW! Expanded coverage of systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines addresses these important aspects of research.
Principles and Practice of Clinical Research
by
Principles and Practice of Clinical Research, Fourth Edition has been thoroughly revised to provide a comprehensive look at both the fundamental principles and expanding practice of clinical research. New to this edition of this highly regarded reference, authors have focused on examples that broadly reflect clinical research on a global scale while including a discussion of international regulations, studies, and implications. In addition to key topics such as bioethics, clinical outcome data, cultural diversity, protocol guidelines, and "omic" platforms, this edition contains new chapters devoted to electronic health records and information resources for clinical researchers, as well as the many opportunities associated with big data. Covering a vast number of topics and practical advice for both novice and advanced clinical investigators, this book is a highly relevant and essential resource for all those involved in conducting research.
Reading Research
by
Ideal for both students and health professionals alike, Reading Research: A User-Friendly Guide for Nurses and Health Professionals, 6th Edition is a practical beginner-level introduction to health sciences research. The text is written in a manner that assumes you have little or no experience with analyzing published research, and provides guidelines for reading and understanding research articles. It also covers important elements of published research, such as research methods, common terminology, data analysis and results. All chapters have been updated. The book also briefly discusses common barriers to the application of research results in practice. Concise overview of health sciences-related research maximizes your study time by including all popular types of research methodologies. UNIQUE! Tips boxes provide easy-to-follow, practical suggestions for those who are new to the subject. UNIQUE! Alert! boxes warn of common assumptions made when reading research. Accompanying website provides up-to-date links for relevant research projects and other research-related sites, and offers Reader's Companion Worksheets for qualitative, quantitative, mixed method, and systematic reviews. NEW! All chapters updated with the key terms and explanation of common research methods. NEW! Content on using the web, social media and avoiding predatory journals. NEW! Expansion on applying research to improve patient outcomes helps you to understand the importance of research. NEW! Introductory overview chapter gives you a better understanding of how the book is organized and how to utilize its content.
Research for the Health Professional
by
Learning by doing Discriminate between quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods. Access and critically evaluate literature related to their practice areas. Encourage and inspire participation in research and evidence-based practice activities. Share research and evidence-based practice findings through a variety of methods. Learn about software packages that can assist with qualitative and quantitative analysis. Review coverage of client-centered needs and desired outcomes as they relate to the available evidence. Use "Skill-Building Tips," suggestions to understand the content in each chapter and avoid common pitfalls.
The R Book
by
A start-to-finish guide to one of the most useful programming languages for researchers in a variety of fields In the newly revised Third Edition of The R Book, a team of distinguished teachers and researchers delivers a user-friendly and comprehensive discussion of foundational and advanced topics in the R software language, which is used widely in science, engineering, medicine, economics, and other fields. The book is designed to be used as both a complete text--readable from cover to cover--and as a reference manual for practitioners seeking authoritative guidance on particular topics. This latest edition offers instruction on the use of the RStudio GUI, an easy-to-use environment for those new to R. It provides readers with a complete walkthrough of the R language, beginning at a point that assumes no prior knowledge of R and very little previous knowledge of statistics. Readers will also find: A thorough introduction to fundamental concepts in statistics and step-by-step roadmaps to their implementation in R; Comprehensive explorations of worked examples in R; A complementary companion website with downloadable datasets that are used in the book; In-depth examination of essential R packages. Perfect for undergraduate and postgraduate students of science, engineering, medicine economics, and geography, The R Book will also earn a place in the libraries of social sciences professionals.
Nursing Research
by
Find out why this book is a student favorite! Providing a solid foundation in nursing research and evidence-based practice, Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based Practice, 10th Edition offers balanced coverage of both qualitative and quantitative research methodologies and an easy-to-read, easy-to-understand approach. This edition features new content on trending topics, including the Next-Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN), as well as improved usability, user-friendly learning aids, and full-text research articles to help you better understand how to apply research to everyday clinical practice. Balanced coverage explores the nursing research process and the EBP process, as well as qualitative and quantitative research methodologies. User-friendly writing style and engaging learning aids throughout the text include full-text research examples, Helpful Hints, EBP Tips, IPE Highlights, Research Vignettes, Clinical Judgment Challenges, Critical Appraisal Criteria, and more! Innovative format integrates examples from current, high-quality, relevant full-text research articles. "All-star" team of contributors is a widely respected collection of experts in nursing research and EBP. NEW and UPDATED! Full-text research articles, including a population health study and a quality improvement study, serve as foundational examples throughout the text and Research Vignettes illustrate the types of high-quality research and evidence-based practice (EBP) projects that are driving advances in nursing practice. NEW! Content on trending topics includes: Precision science and tailored healthcare based on evidence Big data Secondary analysis Data collection using social media and technology Focus groups Descriptive qualitative methods Genetics, genomics, and "omics" Social determinants of health and population health Healthy People 2030 The new U.S. Surgeon General's Report on Oral Health The NIH funding roadmap IPEC Core Competencies The opioid crisis HPV NEW! Next-Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN) content introduces the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Measurement Model and includes Clinical Judgment Challenges in each chapter to help prepare students for the NGN. NEW! Expanded coverage of the latest developments in the field includes: Content on research methods (scoping, rapid realist, etc.) and guidelines (evidence- versus expert-based) other than meta-analysis. Content on mixed-methods research that reflects the growing emphasis on mixed research methodologies. Content on quality improvement (including the National Database of Nursing Quality Indicators [NDNQI], magnet status, and the Triple Aim) that addresses the growing importance of evidence-based quality improvement initiatives in clinical settings. NEW! Improved usability, with more illustrations, larger table type, increased use of bulleted text, enhanced readability, italicized in-text research examples for greater visibility, and better-aligned learning outcomes and chapter-ending key points make it easier for students to locate, understand, and retain information.
Research During Medical Residency
by
This book is a guide for medical residents and faculty in the fundamentals of clinical research, publication practices, and conference skills. It offers advice on how to incorporate scholarly activities into training routines, so the process becomes more manageable and less burdensome. Suggestions for pursuing other scholarly activities, outside of clinical research, are also offered. Participation in research and other scholarly activities is a requirement for graduation from medical residency programs in the United States and many other countries. Faculty physicians who train residents are also required to produce annual scholarly work. Adding scholarship onto an already long list of requirements often feels a bit daunting to medical residents and the faculty who teach them. Fortunately, there are many forms of scholarly activity, including basic and clinical research, quality improvement projects, and educational assessments, so everyone can find interesting and feasible projects to complete. This valuable reference provides users with a reliable source to turn to whenever they have questions on how to develop, conduct, publish, or present a research project. Written with the perspective of busy faculty and residents in mind, the content balances the need for enough detail to be instructive with the need for quick access to key points.
Academic Publishing
by
This book focuses on the topic of academic publishing. It discusses the mounting, serious problems that researchers, particularly new researchers, encounter when trying to publish their research. The book addresses the issues of publishing as well as the salient factors militating against academic publication and the mitigating factors encouraging academic publication. It provides potential solutions, suggestions, and strategies for overcoming some of these problems. Growing research output from Southeast Asia including Singapore, Malaysia, Taiwan, and China reveals the struggles that many authors have to confront when attempting to publish their work in reputable journals. In both South Africa and other parts of Africa, academic researchers are beginning to show strong evidence of credible academic output. These researchers all need valid outlets for their work and the security that authentic peer review brings to the reviewing process. In the fields of education, social sciences, and professional practices, e.g., architecture and law, recent years have seen the emergence of new outlets for practitioners' research outputs in areas such as one's own practice, self-reflection, and narrative inquiry. These outlets are discussed in this book. The book also discusses the malign influence of predatory publications in detail. This book will be beneficial to university academics, postgraduate students, Ph.D. supervisors, and new researchers.
Translational Surgery
by
Translational Surgery covers the principles of evidence-based medicine and applies these principles to the design of translational investigations. The reader will come to fully understand important concepts including case-control studies, prospective cohort studies, randomized trials, and reliability studies. Investigators will benefit from greater confidence in their ability to initiate and execute their own investigations, avoid common pitfalls in surgical research, and know what is needed for collaboration. Further, this title is an indispensable tool in grant writing and funding efforts. The practical, straightforward approach helps the translational research navigate challenging considerations in study design and implementation. The book provides valuable discussions of the critical appraisal of published studies in surgery, allowing the reader to learn how to evaluate the quality of such studies. Thus, they will improve at measuring outcomes; making effective use of all types of evidence in patient care. In short, this practical guidebook will be of interest to every surgeon or surgical researcher who has ever had a good clinical idea, but not the knowledge of how to test it.