Skip to main content

MUTH 110: The Republic to Rationalism: History, Arts, and Performance I

Book citation

How to analyze a book citation

Petersen, Nils Holger. "Representation in European Devotional Rituals: The Question of the Origin of Medieval Drama in Medieval Liturgy." In Origins of Theater in Ancient Greece and Beyond, edited by Eric Csapo, Margaret C. Miller, 329-60. Cambridge University Press, 2007.

The citation refers to a chapter in an edited book.
 
Tip: Search Omni by Title Exact to see if Queen's Library has the book origins of theater in ancient greece.  Omit initial articles (the, an, a).  Ignore punctuation and case.

Searching Omni for books and ebooks

Search Omni, the catalogue of Queen's University Library, by Any field (using Boolean keywords), Author/Creator, Title, Subject, or Call Number to find books, scores and other material formats in our collection. 

Use Boolean search operators AND, OR, NOT to combine terms, do phrase searching (using quotes), or truncate terms to find books on topics, or information in other formats, especially if you don't know the correct subject heading, or specific author or title.

Narrow or refine search by adding other terms: e.g. 
 
music AND theatre AND greece
greek AND music AND disc
 
Broaden search using the * symbol to truncate for variable word endings (e.g. nouns, adjectives, singular or plural) or by using OR between similar or possible terms nested in brackets: e.g. 
 
cultur* AND ethnocentri* [for ethnocentric or ethnocentrism]
music AND theat* AND ancient AND (greece OR greek OR grecian)
tango* AND (disc OR sound OR video*) (for music or dance on sound or videorecordings)
 
Use quotes around a phrase or concept: e.g. 
 
"oedipus rex" (for titles of films, plays or songs)
"cultural relativism" (use for concept of two or more words)
"cultural construct*" (use * truncation symbol to retrieve singular, plural or other word form)
"ordo virtutum" AND (morality OR drama OR play OR allegor*)
 
Limit large result sets by library location or by using NOT: e.g.
 
         tango* (limit to Queen's Location "Music" for music; to Queen's Library "Stauffer" for dance/interdisciplinary materials)
         beethoven AND symphon* AND "op. 68" NOT (disc OR sound) (to find books and/or scores principally)
         music AND gender AND opera* NOT (video* OR electronic)
 
From your results, select useful titles and click on the subjects assigned to find other books on your topic.

Browsing by Call numbers

Browsing call numbers on shelves or using the Virtual Browse feature in Omni is another strategy for locating books on a topic that can lead to serendipitous discovery.

When you find a call number in Omni on a topic of interest, browse in that call number (LC classification) range, physically or virtually, for more items on your topic. Some Music class number ranges are given as an example:

   ML159-360 (music history & criticism, by country)
   ML3545-3776 (National music: blues, folk, jazz, ethnic, etc.) 
   ML3797 (Musicology: methods of historical research)

Ebooks

The Library subscribes to a number of ebook packages. Check the Ebooks libguide for the best ways to access ebooks at Queen's (Omni, specific subject guides). Some ebook packages that are of interest for MUTH110 are:
 
Provides full-text access to major works in American, European and Middle Eastern history. Topics covered include many aspects of history, plus archaeology, area studies, art, folklore, literature, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and women's studies. Records for these books are in Omni.
 
Blackwell publishes a series of books of historiographic essays on many topics in history. They are available online through Blackwell Reference Online.
 
Historical reference compendium allows access to the texts of the Cambridge Histories series. Search or browse by topic. Relevant for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers.
 
A collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
 
Oxford Scholarship Online                        
Offers full-text access to scholarly publishing in 20 subjects from around the world,
 
Provides access to about 600,000 ebooks from a wide variety of publishers.
 
UPSO includes titles from Oxford University Press and other partner presses.  QUL has access to selected titles, indicated by a green open lock icon on search results screens.
 
Free ebook sites:
 
The Internet Archive and Open Library offers over 10,000,000 fully accessible books and texts. There is also a collection of 300,000 modern eBooks that may be borrowed or downloaded by the print-disabled at OpenLibrary.org.