A selection of freely available streaming video resources. Examples include:
Open Culture Movies Online
Free classics, indies, film noir, documentaries and other films.
Open Video Project
The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other communities. Videos include documentaries, historical events, educational and ephemeral topics, and lectures.
Documentary Storm
Free, full-length documentaries chosen from around the web.
Thanhouser Films Online (1909-1917)
Silent films accompanied by music composed exclusively for this collection and film notes by Victor Graf.
Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
Cassic films that have entered the public domain.
National Screening Room (Library of Congress Digital Collections
The National Screening Room showcases the riches of the Library's vast moving image collection, designed to make otherwise unavailable movies, both copyrighted and in the public domain, accessible to the viewers worldwide. United States-focused archival film and video reflecting historical attitudes, perspectives, and beliefs over time.
British Pathé Digital Collections
Historical video from the British Pathé newsreel archives, organized by historical event and topic. 220,000 films dating from 1896 to 1984.
Europeana
Explore over 50 million digital resources, including artworks, artefacts, books, videos and sounds from across Europe’s leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums.
European Film Gateway
Historical documents as preserved in European film archives and cinémathèques: photos, posters, programmes, periodicals, censorship documents, rare feature and documentary films, newsreels and other materials. Facilitates online access to historical documents with links to the archives that hold the originals.
TVO Documentaries
Canadian-made documentaries.
