Skip to main content

Film & Media

Biographies

Consult biographical dictionaries to get brief information about people, dates and events.

American Directors
REF PN1998.A2C657 1983
This two volume set provides comprehensive essays on "American film directors of recognized stature". A filmography is included with each essay.
 
American Screenwriters
REF PN1998.A2A585 1984 Online
REF PN1998.A2A586 1986 Online (Vol.44, Pt.2) Second Series
Details the careers of 130 significant screenwriters. Each biocritical essay includes credit information for films and television as well as bibliographical references.
 
Biographical Dictionary of Film
REF PN1998.2.T49 2010
Over "1000 entries on leading international actors, directors, and producers" written in essay style.
 
 
Online directory which showcases the members of the Canadian Media Production Association who are Canada’s top producers of film, television and digital content.
 
Contemporary British and Irish Film Directors: a Wallflower Critical Guide
REF PN1998.2.C66 2001t
 
Contemporary North American Film Directors: a Wallflower Critical Guide Canadian resource
REF PN1998.2.C68 2002t
Fully revised and updated 2nd edition. 600 directors' careers looked at. Provides biographical information as well as textual and thematic analysis of the director's work.
 
Contemporary Theatre, Film and Television
REF PN1583.C6
Multi-volume set which gives biographical and career information on more than 11,000 professionals currently working in the entertainment industry.
 
Current Biography
REF CT100.C8
Published monthly, with a bound annual cumulation. Includes biographical sketches of various personalities.
 
Directors in British and Irish Cinema: a Reference Companion
REF PN1998.A2 D575 2006
 
Entertainers in British Films: a Century of Showbiz in the Cinema
REF PN2597.G53 1998
 
Fifty Contemporary Film Directors
REF PN1998.2.F53 2011 2nd ed.
PN1998.2.F53 2002 (title: Fifty Contemporary Filmmakers)
"Each entry offers both an overview and a critique of its subject's career and works, looking at the genres in which they work and their relationships to other films and filmmakers....Each entry is supplemented by a filmography, references and suggestions for further reading".
 
Encyclopedia of French Film Directors
REF PN1998.2 .R444 2010
 
Halliwell's Who's Who in the Movies
REF PN1993.45.H3 2003
 
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
REF PN1997.8.I58
A comprehensive series published in four volumes. Volume two includes entries on directors and volume three on actors and actresses. Each entry includes biographical information, a complete filmography, a selected bibliography, and a film scholar's critical essay.
 
Michael Singer's Film Directors: A Complete Guide
REF PN1998.A2D568
An alphabetical listing of selected international directors with a list of credits by year, birth date and address for each director if known is also provided.
Latest volume in Reference.
 
Movie Characters of Leading Performers of the Sound Era
REF PN1995.9.C36N69 1990t
Provides a brief biographical sketch of about 450 actors and actresses followed by a "list of key roles including descriptions of the characters played by the performer".
 
The New Biographical Dictionary of Film
REF PN1998.2 .T49 2010
 
Quinlan's Illustrated Directory of Film Character Actors
REF PN1998.2.Q55 1995t
Includes more than eleven hundred entries of actors and actresses who played character roles in movies.
 
Reel Women: Pioneers of the Cinema, 1896 to the Present
REF PN1998.2.A24 1991t
Excellent biographical source for women in film, covering the early and later directors, well-known and lesser-known as well as film producers, writers, editors, animators, and stunt women.
 
Reference Publication in Film (Series)
REF Call Number varies
An excellent starting point for research on various actors, actresses, and directors. The titles in this series feature not only biographical and critical comments on the films but also annotations of the key writings on the person covered.
 
The St. James Women Filmmakers Encyclopedia : Women on the Other Side of the Camera
REF PN1998.2.S683 1999
This resource has information on women filmmakers working in all countries in all contexts.
 
Television Characters : 1,485 Profiles, 1947-2004
REF PN1992.3.U5 T465 2005
 
Twayne's Filmmakers Series
Consult QCAT under the series title (see above title) for individual call numbers. Volumes provide biography, criticism and interpretations of major film makers and their work.
 
Who Was Who on Screen
REF PN1998.A2T73 1983
Gives biographical information and a list of films for screen personalities (mainly American, British, French and German) who died between 1905-82.
 
Who's Who in Canadian Film and Television Canadian resource
REF PN1998.A2W48 (various years)
Information on Canadian film and television directors, picture editors, writers, producers, cinematographers, art directors, composers, and production managers.