Skip to main content

Newspapers

A guide to available modern and historical newspapers.

Historical News

Canada

Local Newspapers on Microfilm at Stauffer Library

Stauffer library has many Canadian newspapers from the late eighteenth century to the mid-twentieth century on microfilm. They are listed here by province and city, but can also be searched by title in QCAT. Please note, there are other newspapers on microfilm at W.D. Jordan Special Collections, which can be found via QCAT.


Other Resources
 
Democracy at War (1939-1946)
An archive of WWII-era Canadian newspaper articles released by the Canadian War Museum.
 
Ontario historical newspapers
 
 
 
 
 
 
Free digital & searchable access to Prince George's newspapers from 1909 to 1976 including the Citizen.

United States

Newspapers on Microfilm at Stauffer Library

Other Resources

Search and view newspaper pages from 1836-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
 
Titles include: Atlanta Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Hartford Courant, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post.

World

British Humanities Index
AI3 .B86 (1962-2009) Compact shelving
Indexes regional news publications from England. (Supercedes The Subject Index to Periodicals).
 
 
10 newspapers (Le Figaro (1826-1942) and L'Humanité (1904-1944) included).
 
Collection of magazines, journals and specialty newspapers provides an in-depth view of life in the Victorian age. 
 
 
  • 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
  • 19th Century UK Periodicals: Empire
  • 19th Century UK Periodicals: New Readerships,
  • Illustrated London News Historical Archive
  • Times Digital Archive