Skip to main content

Religious Studies & Theology

Key Indexes

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Publication coverage: 1949 - present. The leading international index to publications in theology and religious studies.

Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
REF AI3.C3 1967-2009 A cumulative author / subject index to a selective list of Catholic journals published mainly in the U.S., Canada, England and Ireland.

Index Islamicus
Publication coverage: 1906 - present (updated annually) (Print holdings are also available for the period 1665 - 1905)
Indexes articles on Islamic subjects in periodicals and other collective publications.

RAMBI: The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
Publication coverage: 1966 - present. Index of articles on Jewish studies.

Religious and Theological Abstracts
Publication coverage: 1991 - present is online / Print index is located at REF BR1.R5 (Stauffer Library) and covers 1958-2008.
Indexes periodicals in religion, including Christian, Jewish and other world religions.

Other Useful Indexes

Abstracts of Research in Pastoral Care and Counseling
REF BV4012.2.A26 (1972-1999)
Annual publication listing all the research done during the current year.
 
Historical Abstracts  
Access restricted to the Queen's community (6 user limit)
Comprehensive index to the world's historical literature (except Canada and the United States) from 1450 to the present. Indexes journal articles, selected books and dissertations.
 
Covers all subjects relating to European medieval studies from 450 to 1500.
 
Indexes articles and reviews drawn from scholarly interdisciplinary journal titles pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Also under construction is a database of books.
 
Provides indexing from books and journals of philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields.

Why use an index?

Journal articles are not listed in QCAT. Use an index to find journal articles by doing a keyword or subject search. Articles are important in your research since they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic. There are different types of articles: scholarly, popular or trade.

Tip: Search journal title and not the article title in QCAT!

Need help? Contact your subject Librarian