Research Guides: Religious Studies & Theology: Judaism

Books

American Post-Judaism by Shaul Magid
Call Number: BM205 .M25 2013
ISBN: 9780253008022
Publication Date: 2013-04-09
How do American Jews identify as both Jewish and American? American Post-Judaism argues that Zionism and the Holocaust, two anchors of contemporary American Jewish identity, will no longer be centers of identity formation for future generations of American Jews. Shaul Magid articulates a new, post-ethnic American Jewishness. He discusses pragmatism and spirituality, monotheism and post-monotheism, Jesus, Jewish law, sainthood and self-realization, and the meaning of the Holocaust for those who have never known survivors...
Where Islam and Judaism Join Together by Shai Har-El
Call Number: BP173.J8 H36 2014
ISBN: 9781137391001
Publication Date: 2014-07-02
This book is the result of many years of the author's thinking, speaking, and writing about peace. It is the fruit of many years of philanthropic activity in the Middle East Peace Network (MEPN), which the author founded in 1990. To a certain degree, it is a personal journey of a Jew into the heart of Islam in search of a common ground and possible Jewish-Muslim reconciliation. The purpose of Where Islam and Judaism Join Together: A Perspective on Reconciliation is to create an environmentthat could help reshape the future of Jewish-Muslim relations, and consequently shift the context of the Arab-Israeli conflict.
Judaism in Transition by Carmel Chiswick
Call Number: BM205 .C495 2014
ISBN: 9780804776042
Publication Date: 2014-06-04
At the core of Judaism stands a body of traditions that have remained consistent over millennia. Yet, the practice of these rituals has varied widely across historical and cultural contexts. In Judaism in Transition, Carmel U. Chiswick draws on her Jewish upbringing, her journey as a Jewish parent, and her perspective as an economist to consider how incentives affect the ways that mainstream American Jews have navigated and continue to manage the conflicting demands of everyday life and religious observance...

Articles

RAMBI: The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies A selective bibliography of articles in the Field of Judaica and in the study of the State of Israel. The database includes articles in Hebrew, Yiddish, English, French, German, and other European languages. Many works come from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, but important Judaica articles published worldwide are also included. Articles from secondary sources are listed.

ATLA Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), covers topics such as Biblical studies, world religions, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. Indexes journal articles, essays, conferences, congresses and book reviews. Selective items in full text.

Context of Scripture Online Provides access to a collection of Ancient Near Eastern texts that have an impact on the interpretation of the Bible. Each entry includes an introduction to the text, an authoritative translation, commentary, and bibliographic references.

Religious and Theological Abstracts Provides objective summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology. Periodical literature covers Christian, Jewish, and other World religions.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

A Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion

Encyclopaedia Judaica "Offers a comprehensive view of world Jewry in about 25,000 articles by an international list of contributors".

JewishEncyclopedia.com

The Routledge Dictionary of Judaism (2003)

Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics (Brill Reference)