Research Guides: Religious Studies & Theology: Near East Religions

Books

Global Jihad and the Tactic of Terror Abduction by Shaul Shay
Call Number: HV6431 .S4683 2014
ISBN: 9781845196110
Publication Date: 2013-12-01
In recent decades, the taking of hostages has proven to be a particularly effective tactic for Islamic terrorist organizations worldwide, including al Qaeda. The global jihad movement regards citizens of foreign (mainly western) countries as prime targets for abduction, although in fact local residents have constituted the majority of kidnapping victims. This book analyzes Islamic terror abductions over the last 30 years in the Middle East (Lebanon, Syria, Iraq, Iran, Yemen, and Saudi Arabia), Asia (Afghanistan, Pakistan, India, and the Philippines), Africa (the Maghreb, the Sahel regions, and Somalia), and in Russia as a part of the RussianChechen conflict...
Muslim Identities by Aaron W. Hughes
Call Number: BP161.3 .H84 2013
ISBN: 9780231161466
Publication Date: 2013-04-09
Rather than focus solely on theological concerns, this well-rounded introduction takes an expansive view of Islamic ideology, culture, and tradition, sourcing a range of historical, sociological, and literary perspectives. Neither overly critical nor apologetic, this book reflects the rich diversity of Muslim identities across the centuries and counters the unflattering, superficial portrayals of Islam that are shaping public discourse today.
Muslims by Andrew Rippin
Call Number: BP161.2 .R53 2012
ISBN: 9780415489393
Publication Date: 2011-09-16
This new edition has been comprehensively updated and for the first time features a companion website with extensive links to additional reading and resources to help deepen students' understanding of the subject. Muslims offers a survey of Islamic history and thought from the formative period of the religion to modern times. It examines the unique elements which have combined to form Islam, in particular the Qur'n and the influence of Muhammad, and traces the ways in which these sources have interacted historically to create Muslim theology and law as well as the alternative visions of Islam found in Shi'ism and Sufism.

Articles

Index Islamicus Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Citations only

ATLA Religion Database The ATLA Religion Database is a great resource to begin exploring for peer-reviewed, scholarly articles in religious studies. It contains a wide scope of material concerning both Eastern and Western religions.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of Hinduism: Fully searchable, Brill's online encyclopedia presents the latest research on all the main aspects of the Hindu traditions.

Encyclopaedia Islamica Abridged and edited translation of one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world.

Encyclopaedia of Islam, 3rd ed. Revised and expanded edition of Brill's encyclopedia, aiming to cover all areas of the world with a Muslim presence.

Oxford Dictionary of Islam

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, REF DS35.53 O96 2009. This 6 volume set "describes all aspects of Islamic society in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries - from beliefs, institutions, and movements to practices and people". Includes bibliographies.

A Popular Dictionary of Islam 1997; Rev. ed. Defines basic concepts in Islam. Both Arabic and English terms are defined.