Skip to Main Content

Asian Studies

Finding Articles

Articles are smaller in scope than books and can therefore focus on more particular aspects of a given topic. Since articles are faster to produce and publish, the most up-to-date research often appears in this form.

Key Journal Indexes

Asia-Studies Full-Text Online
Full-text access to scholarly literature, statistics, and analysis of the Asia-Pacific region.
 
Provides access to reports, working paper series, and peer reviewed journals and e-journals published by prestigious Asia-Pacific research institutions around the world. The contents focus on social sciences and humanities issues related to Asia, Australia and the Pacific Islands.
 
Bibliography of Asian Studies
REF Z3001 .B49 1965-1991
Indexes journal articles and book chapters on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast and South Asia. Emphasis is on topics related to humanities and the social sciences and content indexed is primarily Western-language publications.
 

China Academic Journals Full-Text Database

Full-text collections of Chinese-language academic journals from the China National Knowledge Infrastructure addressing the following topics: Economics and Management; Politics, Military and Law; Education and Social Sciences.

Other Useful Indexes

Academic Search Complete
Indexes Asian-area publications such as Asia Pacific Biotech News, Asia Pacific Journal of Anthropology, Asia-Pacific Journal of Teacher Education, Asian Affairs, Asian Studies Review, China Today, Chinese America: History Perspectives, Chinese Education Society, and Chinese Science Bulletin.
 
PAIS
Includes mini-abstracts to journal articles, books, statistical yearbooks, and more... from around the world. Coverage includes: international company information; and scholarly literature on the public and social policy of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, and contemporary public issues.
 
Historical Abstracts
Comprehensive index to scholarly literature on world history from 1450 to present (excluding the U.S. and Canada).

Core Journals

Asian Survey

Critical Asian Studies

Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies

Journal of Asian Studies

Contemporary Southeast Asia

Journal of Asian American Studies

Why Use an Index?

Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as other materials related to  American history.    

Some will contain the full text of journals but if the full text is not readily available, click on Get It Link Icon.

If the "Get It" link does not find anything, don't assume that the Library does not hold the item.  A search in Omni for the title of the journal (or book) might find the title.. 

If clicking on a full text link does not take you directly to the article, you will need to navigate to get the article you want - depending on the resource provider.

Evaluate Articles

Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them. 

Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholarly from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference.

How to Search for a Journal using Omni

Once you’re in Omni: 

  • Select the ‘journal title exact" option from the dropdown menu
  • Type in the name of the journal
  • Press "Search". 

TIP: Search the journal title and not the article title.

Both print journals and e-journals will appear in your search results if we have access to them. Check the extent of our holdlings, both in print and online.