Mr. Emancipation: The Walter Perry Story
The story of Walter L Perry’s determination to put on a celebration that would transcend divisions of race and class. He staged an Emancipation Day festival that was where everyone wanted to be, from Eleanor Roosevelt to Martin Luther King Jr. As the late American Civil Rights Activist & Comedian Dick Gregory said "The largest Juneteenth celebration was not in America, it was in Windsor, Canada.”
The multimedia collection at Queen's Library contains thousands of DVDs and a growing number of online (streaming) videos. In addition, the library subscribes to several online video collections, which are listed below.
Perform your search in Omni and to limit your search results to Videos, select Videos from the Resource Type facet located along the left side of the screen. You can also restrict your search results to Video/Film within Advanced Search:
Audio Cine
Hundreds of films from major studios including Walt Disney Pictures, Touchstones Pictures, Hollywood Pictures, Pixar Animation Studios, Sony Pictures Entertainment, Columbia Pictures, Tristar Pictures, Universal Studios Canada and MGM Studios.
Criterion on Demand
Users may stream or download from a selection of over 2900 films ranging from classic film, documentaries, international film, North American feature films, cult classics, and more. Criterion-on-Demand makes use of the Microsoft Silverlight plug-in on both PC and Mac. Users wishing to stream or download films will need to have the plugin installed.
Curio.ca
Streaming access to the best in educational content from CBC and Radio-Canada. Documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots and more — thousands of programs and resources can be accessed on this site. Includes English and French language content. Programs include The Nature of Things, Doc Zone, Dragons' Den, The Fifth Estate, The Passionate Eye, Monster Math Squad, The Current, News in Review, Marketplace and George Stroumboulopoulos Tonight.
Films on Demand
Database of documentaries, educational videos and news footage. The Library subscribes to the Humanities & Social Sciences Collection.
NFB.ca - The National Film Board's Online Screening Room
Access to documentaries, animation and alternative dramas in streaming video, as well as NFB playlists, upcoming films and other related resources.
For additional information on video collections available at Queen's Library, visit http://library.queensu.ca/search/video-collections.
Black Studies in Video
An award-winning collection that brings together seminal documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the Black experience.
Caribbean Studies in Video
Streaming video access to the archives the Banyan Production company of Trinidad and Tobago, the first producer of original television in the Caribbean. Material include interviews with writers and cultural figures, documentaries, and theater, music, and dance performances.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. It includes published recordings owned by the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label, archival audio collections of the Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels, and music recorded around the African continent and the South Asian subcontinent.