Religious Studies & Theology

A number of bibles in English and French from the King James and Douai to modern translations are located in the Reference Collection in the BS185-192 range. For other editions and languages, check the library catalog or ask in Special Collections.

The principal English editions are:

• King James or Authorized Version (1611): REF BS185.19uu .O9 [Before 1950?]

To search Omni by Uniform Title: Bible. English. Authoriz[s]ed  (e.g. The Holy Bible Containing the Old and New Testaments)

• King James Bible via Literature Online.

Searchable; part of LION. Under REFERENCE SHELF, change 'Select reference' to King James Bible.

• American Revised or American Standard Versions (1901): Jordan Special Collections BS190 .A1 1901 N (a revision of the King James Version)

To search Omni : Bible. English. American Revised (e.g. Holy Bible, containing the Old and New Testaments)

• Revised Standard Version (1952): REF BS191.A1 1952 N4 (a revision of the American Standard Version)

To search Omni : Bible. English. Revised Standard (e.g. The Holy Bible)

• New King James Version (1982): REF BS185.1982 N37 1982

To search Omni : Bible. English. Authorized. 1982 (e.g. Holy Bible: the New King James Version)

• Douai-Rheims Version: (Roman Catholic)

To search Omni : Bible. English. Douai. or Bible. O.T. English. Douai. (e.g. Douay-Rheims Catholic Bible (online))

• New American Bible Version (1970): BS192.3 .1970 N48 1970t (Roman Catholic)

To search Omni : Bible. English. New American (e.g. Saint Joseph edition of the New American Bible)

• Jerusalem Bible Version (1966): REF BS195.J4 1966 (Roman Catholic: translated on the basis of Greek and Hebrew texts)

To search Omni : Bible. English. Jerusalem (e.g. The Jerusalem Bible)

• Codex Sinaiticus: Codex Sinaiticus, a manuscript of the Christian Bible written in the middle of the fourth century, contains the earliest complete copy of the Christian New Testament. The hand-written text is in Greek.

Commentaries

• Books of the Bible: REF BS540.B62 1989
• Cambridge Companion to the Bible: BS475.2.C26 1997
• Harper's Bible Commentary: REF BS491.2.H37 1988t
• Encyclopedia of Biblical Theology: the Complete Sacramentum Verbi: REF BS440.B46713 1981
• "An important work of Roman Catholic biblical scholarship, providing articles on theological significant words."
• The Interpreter's Bible: BS491.I7
• The King James and Revised Standard versions with general articles and introduction, exegesis, and exposition.
• The New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocryphal / Deuterocanonical Books
• The Oxford Bible Commentary
• The Oxford Companion to the Bible: REF BS440.M434 1993t

Signed articles cover "key persons, places, events, concepts, institutions and realities of biblical times". Bibliographic citations included. Along with a short general bibliography at the end, maps and an index are included".

Dictionaries

• Dictionary of the Bible
• The New International Dictionary of Biblical Archaeology: BS622.N48 1983

Has "brief definitions of terms and concise signed articles on persons, places, deities relevant to the study of Biblical archaeology". Includes bibliographies.

Internet Sacred Text Archive: Christianity