Improving Functional Outcomes in Physical Rehabilitation by
Achieve the best functional outcomes for your patients. Here is a practical, step-by-step guide to understanding the treatment process and selecting the most appropriate intervention for your patient. Superbly illustrated, in-depth coverage shows you how to identify functional deficits, determine what treatments are appropriate, and then to implement them to achieve the best functional outcome for your patients. This one-of-a-kind resource features case studies in the text accompanied by videos online at DavisPlus that demonstrate how the interventions selected make a difference in your patients' lives.
Biomechanics: A Case-Based Approach by
Biomechanics: A Case-Based Approach focuses on the comprehension, retention, and application of the core concepts of biomechanics using problem-based learning strategies. The text features a broad range of case studies and examples to illustrate key content throughout the text. Relevant and realistic problems presented in the text provide students with the opportunity to associate what they're learning in the class with real life on the job situations.One of the highlights of this text is the manner in which the content is presented. The author emphasizes the concepts of biomechanics, rather than focusing on solving associated mathematical problems. An informal writing style is used to engage students without sacrificing anything in terms of the rigor of the content. Case studies are used throughout the text to illustrate key content areas while competency checks found at the conclusion of each major section map to the first three areas of Bloom's Taxonomy: remember, understand, and apply. The author takes a unique approach to ensure that all students understand the content using the technique of guided discovery throughout the text. To accommodate a variety of student learning styles, key concepts are presented physically, graphically and mathematically.
Cardiopulmonary Physical Therapy: Management and Case Studies by
Cardiopulmonary Physical Therapy: Management and Case Studies, Second Edition is a unique and succinct textbook for the classroom that blends clinical notes on assessment and management together with case-based instructional approaches to cardiopulmonary care for acute and ambulatory care patients. This one-of-a-kind text describes current approaches that cover traditional physical therapist management strategies and includes evidence-based chapters on early mobilization and exercise training on a wide range of cardiopulmonary patient groups. The updated Second Edition presents twenty-four cases that were designed to complement each chapter topic and represent the most common pulmonary, cardiac, and neurological conditions that are typically managed in cardiopulmonary care. These cases have been carefully selected and developed over several years to illustrate a spectrum of clinical issues essential for the preparation of the entry-level therapist. The very interactive nature of the case history approach is engaging and provides the opportunity to work through many of the steps of the clinical decision-making process. Cardiopulmonary Physical Therapy: Management and Case Studies, Second Edition also includes answer guides for the questions posed in the assessment and management chapters, as well as for the twenty-four cases. New in the Second Edition: · Twenty-four carefully selected evidence-based cases designed to go "hand-in-hand" with chapter topics · An international perspective that is relevant to physical therapy practice in several countries · Detailed chapter on noninvasive ventilation and mechanical ventilation · Several chapters describe early mobilization and exercise training for a range of cardiopulmonary patient groups including those admitted to an intensive care unit · Faculty will benefit from the "Talk Me Through" PowerPoint slides, which provide a great opportunity for independent learning and complement classroom teaching The two-fold evidence and case-based learning approach used by Dr. W. Darlene Reid, Frank Chung, and Dr. Kylie Hill allows for a more engaging experience. The inclusion of interactive materials will allow students to learn and develop skills to prepare themselves for their professional transition while clinicians can use the text as a reference tool.
Cases in Pediatric Occupational Therapy by
Cases in Pediatric Occupational Therapy: Assessment and Intervention is designed to provide a comprehensive collection of case studies that reflects the scope of current pediatric occupational therapy practice. Drs. Susan Cahill and Patricia Bowyer, along with more than 50 contributors, begin each section with an introduction to the practice setting and direct instructors and students to additional resources for more information. The text includes more than 40 cases that include client overviews, relevant history and background information; information regarding the analysis of occupational performance; information about progress in treatment; and questions to promote the development and refinement of clinical reasoning skills. Cases are presented from various practice settings, including: The neonatal intensive care unit Early intervention School systems Outpatient services Hospital-based settings Mental health settings Community settings Each case included in Cases in Pediatric Occupational Therapy is written by professionals with first-hand experience working with pediatric clients from the specific practice setting, and it aligns with the occupational therapy process represented in the AOTA's Occupational Therapy Practice Framework, Third Edition. In addition, supplemental information, photographs, and video clips help to bring the cases to life. Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional materials to be used in the classroom. Cases in Pediatric Occupational Therapy will guide occupational therapy students, faculty, and practitioners through effective clinical decision making during the selection of assessment procedures and the development of client-centered and context-specific intervention plans.
Case Studies: Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology by
Designed with the distinctive, user-friendly presentation Dr Stahl's audience know and love, this new stream of Stahl books capitalize on Dr Stahl's greatest strength - the ability to address complex issues in an understandable way and with direct relevance to the everyday experience of clinicians. The book describes a wide-ranging and representative selection of clinical scenarios, making use of icons, questions/answers and tips. It follows these cases through the complete clinical encounter, from start to resolution, acknowledging all the complications, issues, decisions, twists and turns along the way. The book is about living through the treatments that work, the treatments that fail, and the mistakes made along the journey. This is psychiatry in real life – these are the patients from your waiting room – this book will reassure, inform and guide better clinical decision making.
Case Studies Through the Healthcare Continuum by
The extensively updated Second Edition of Case Studies Through the Health Care Continuum: A Workbook for the Occupational Therapy Student is a versatile resource that focuses on assisting students through the use of case studies. Through these 34 cases, students learn about the many possible choices in the clinical decision-making process, and how these different choices can lead to many equally successful outcomes. Case Studies Through the Health Care Continuum, Second Edition by Nancy Lowenstein and Patricia Halloran encompasses new and revised case studies across the health care continuum, from early intervention to older adults. These cases involve situations that students might encounter during their interventions and require them to think about issues that might occur to disrupt their original intervention plan. Inside Case Studies Through the Health Care Continuum, Second Edition, new questions on theory and evidence will allow students to think of theory-driven and evidence-based practice concepts, as well as search the literature to support their interventions. Care was also taken to avoid using a specific frame of reference or theoretical model to enable instructors to use various frames of reference and theories with different cases. New to the Second Edition: Each case allows the student to consider the client's occupations, performance patterns, performance skills, client factors, contexts, and environments Case studies are now formatted around an Occupational Profile and an Analysis of Occupation, adhering to the AOTA's Occupational Therapy Practice Framework language Pediatric case studies Increased number of community case studies Case study on primary care, an emerging practice area in occupational therapy Case studies involving complex conditions, not just one condition Case Studies Through the Health Care Continuum: A Workbook for the Occupational Therapy Student, Second Edition is a valuable learning tool for any occupational therapy or occupational therapy assistant student as it provides a way to put theories and clinical reasoning into practice through the use of case studies.
First Aid Cases for the USMLE Step 1 by
The essential case companion to First Aid for the® USMLE Step 1 400 high-yield cases First Aid(tm) Cases for the USMLE Step 1 features 400 well-illustrated cases to help you relate basic science concepts to clinical situations. Each case includes drawings or clinical images with Q&As that reinforce key concepts. Chapters are keyed to Tao Le's First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 allowing you to simultaneously study cases and high-yield facts. Content that spans the entire exam: General Principles,Behavioral Science,Biochemistry,Microbiology and Immunology,Chapter 4. Pharmacology,Organ Systems,Cardiovascular System,Endocrine System,Gastrointestinal System,Hematology and Oncology,Musculoskeletal System and Connective Tissue,Neurology and Psychiatry,Renal System,Reproductive System,Respiratory System.
Geriatric Physical Therapy by
The definitive case-based guide to effectively managing geriatric disorders Geriatric Physical Therapy provides the most authoritative overview available on managing the special needs of the elderly in all health care settings. Through nearly 200 cases, the text offers a skill-building balance of theory and clinical application of knowledge in caring for the older adult population. This timely book addresses and incorporates aspects of prevention, fitness, and wellness into the rehabilitative model of care for elders with and without pathological conditions. Features: Nearly 200 cases examine both acute and chronic stage settings, and provides suggested tests and measures Cases focus on orthopedics and neurology for consistency with board exams, which concentrate in these therapeutic areas Tables and boxes organize and summarize important information and highlight key points for quick reference A well-referenced and scientific approach provides the depth to understand integral processes and procedures Each case in Geriatric Physical Therapy is designed to help you learn how to apply geriatric physical therapy concepts to specific patient situations. The cases are presented in a consistent manner―similar to what you would see in a clinical setting―and focus on one primary topic or problem. Chapters open with a brief overview of the topic, which reviews basic information on that topic, followed by related cases. Excellent pedagogy includes board-type review questions and chapter summaries that conclude each chapter.
Medical Nutrition and Disease: A Case-Based Approach by
Written for medical, nursing and physician assistant students, residents, dietetic interns, and health professionals in practice, Medical Nutrition and Disease: A Case-Based Approach, 4th Edition, is a practical guide to the role of nutrition in everyday clinical practice. The new edition of this best-selling text has been updated by nationally recognized nutritionists and physicians who teach nutrition in medical schools and residency programs. Key features include: ? 24 clinical cases simulating actual patient work-ups to reinforce the material ? Updated multiple choice review questions which allow readers to test their knowledge and prepare for courses, certifying exams, and earn C.E. credits ? Two new chapters: Vitamins and Minerals and Cancer Prevention ? Four new cases: Bariatric Surgery, Metabolic Syndrome, Hypertension, and Sleep Apnea Moving from the fundamentals of nutrition assessment and vitamins to more specific chapters on pathophysiology of chronic diseases to oncology and nutrition support, this book teaches you how to diagnose and manage nutritional problems, integrate nutrition into your clinical practice, and answer patients? most common questions. In addition, registered dieticians can earn 45 C.E. credits from the American Dietetic Association by successfully completing the multiple choice questions included in the book. Everything has been pre-approved, there are no additional fees.
Physical Therapy Case Files - Neurology Rehabilitation by
SHARPEN YOUR CRITICAL THINKING SKILLS AND PREPARE FOR REAL-WORLD PRACTICE WITH CLINICAL CASES New in the authoritative Case Files series, Physical Therapy Case Files: Neurological Rehabilitation gives you case studies that illustrate critical concepts you need to build and enhance your skills in physical therapy. Each case includes a discussion of the health condition, examination, evaluation, diagnosis, plan of care andinterventions, evidence-based practice recommendations, andreferences. NPTE-style review questions accompanying eachcase reinforce your learning. With Physical Therapy Case Files: Neurological Rehabilitation, everything you need to succeed in the clinic and on the NPTE is right here in your hands. 31 acute-care cases with National Physical Therapy Examination-style review questions help you learn best practices in the context of patient care Enhance your practice with evidence-based cases written by leading clinicians, researchers, and academics Includes evidence-based ratings for examination and treatment plans Perfect for coursework use and NPTE preparation
Physical Therapy Management of Low Back Pain by
Physical Therapy Management of Low Back Pain: A Case-Based Approach provides a detailed review of the theory and practice of the most common approaches to treating low back pain using a case-based approach for a single patient. The important features of nine different common and major orthopedic physical therapy approaches are explained and practical application of each approach is demonstrated via the patient case. This controlled overview enables instructors and students to analyze, compare and contrast the options in physical therapy treatment.
Responsible Test Use: Case Studies for Assessing Human Behavior by
Responsible Test Use, an interdisciplinary reference source for promoting quality assurance in testing, consists of 85 training cases that illustrate a variety of problems related to test use. Twenty-eight of the cases are new for this second edition. Each case is drawn from real life and includes: a description of the incident; focus questions to encourage active involvement with issues raised by the case; an analysis of the problems posed plus possible ways of better handling the situation; and a listing of empirically-derived dimensions of test misuse that are likely to generalize to new testing situations. Cases developed for this edition represent three test settings that were not covered in the previous edition: computer and internet testing formats, forensic, and cross cultural-English language learners. In addition, revised cases cover counseling and training, education, employment, mental health, neuropsychology, and speech-language-hearing settings.
Therapeutic Modalities in Rehabilitation (with case studies and lab activities) by
Comprehensive Coverage of Therapeutic Modalities Used in a Clinical Setting A Doody's Core Title for 2015! Therapeutic Modalities in Rehabilitation is a theoretically based but practically oriented guide to the use of therapeutic modalities for practicing clinicians and their students. It clearly presents the basis for use of each different type of modality and allows clinicians to make their own decision as to which will be the most effective in a given situation. Presented in full color, the text describes various concepts, principles, and theories that are supported by scientific research, factual evidence, and experience of the authors in dealing with various conditions. The chapters in this text are divided into six parts: Part I--Foundations of Therapeutic Modalities begins with a chapter that discusses the scientific basis for using therapeutic modalities and classifies the modalities according to the type of energy each uses.. Guidelines for selecting the most appropriate modalities for use in different phases of the healing process are presented. Part II--Electrical Energy Modalities includes detailed discussions of the principles of electricity, and electrical stimulating currents, iontophoresis, and biofeedback. Part III--Thermal Energy Modalities discusses those modalities which produce a change in tissue temperatures through conduction including thermotherapy and cryotherapy. Part IV-Sound Energy Modalities discusses those modalities that utilize acoustic energy to produce a therapeutic effect. These include therapeutic ultrasound and a lesser known modality-extracorporal shockwave therapy. Part V--Electromagnetic Energy Modalities includes chapters on both the diathermies and low-level laser therapy. Part VI--Mechanical Energy Modalities includes chapters on traction, intermittent compression and therapeutic massage. Each chapter ins Parts II-IV discuss: the physiologic basis for use, clinical applications, specific techniques of application through the use of related laboratory activities, and relevant individual case studies for each therapeutic modality.