Amenorrhea: A Case-Based Clinical Guide by Nanette F. Santoro (Editor); Genevieve Neal-Perry (Editor)Amenorrhea: A Case-Based Clinical Guide is a comprehensive review of the current knowledge regarding normal female reproductive physiology. Replete with interesting case vignettes and providing diagnostic algorithms and therapeutic strategies for amenorrhea, Amenorrhea: A Case-Based Clinical Guide is divided into three sections. The first section is composed of two chapters that provide a thorough review of basic science and clinical knowledge about the organ systems responsible for normal physiology of the menstrual cycle. The second section includes discussion about menstrual cycle disruption as it relates to hypothalamic-pituitary dysfunction, surgical and natural menopause, genetic defects, premature ovarian failure/insufficiency and the effects of caloric excess and restriction. The third section offers an update on the physiological effects of prolonged amenorrhea induced surgically or by hypothalamic dysfunction and also includes an original chapter that focuses solely on the impact of race and ethnicity on the prevalence and diagnosis of amenorrhea. Amenorrhea: A Case-Based Clinical Guide brings together chapters from renowned experts who offer state-of-the-art, clinically useful information in a case-based, reader-friendly fashion. This title will be a welcome addition to the bookshelves of all clinicians who practice in women's health settings.
Publication Date: 2010
Case-Based Geriatrics: A Global Approach by Victor A. Hirth; Darryl Wieland; Maureen Dever-BumbaA full-color case-based guide to the principles and clinical aspects of geriatric care 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW! "It is intended as a case-based textbook of geriatrics that also integrates the complexities of geriatric medicine into a meaningful whole. These are excellent objectives, all met in a wonderful way. This book stands out from other textbooks of geriatric medicine....This is a brilliant addition to the literature of geriatric medicine. Some topics are covered in different ways, but this is never repetitious, rather more like looking at a gem from different angles. The evidence-based, case-based, pre-test, post-test format makes this an ideal book from which to learn. The breadth and depth are stunning. The editing and format would be enough to highly recommend this book, but the beautiful use of color on every page, permitting lavish illustrations, tables, figures, and examples of tests, makes this at the same time a brilliant exposition of the true nature of geriatric medicine, and a work of art as well. Run, do not walk, to see it!"--Doody's Review Service Case-Based Geriatrics utilizes a case-and-evidence-based approach to help you understand the key principles and clinical points of geriatric medicine and healthcare. Written to reflect the field's growing trend toward interdisciplinary collaboration, the book is of value not only to physicians, but to the entire health team involved in the care of the elderly. This unique text is constructed around case presentations, which are used as the primary teaching tool. These cases reflect issues and principles of geriatrics that are encountered and practiced worldwide. You will learn how cultural characteristics of both patients and providers have added new layers of complications to this already challenging field - and how they can be recognized and overcome. Each case is directly linked to the learning objectives found in each chapter. Review questions appear at the beginning and end of each chapter to test your understanding. Case-Based Geriatrics is divided into three sections: Issues in Aging -- features foundational chapters covering essential topics such as biology of aging, worldwide demographics, the geriatric physical exam, sensory changes in aging, and approaches to laboratory testing and imaging in aging Inter-professional Geriatrics -- provides an overview of multi-professional team care and covers important topics such as pre -and-post operative care, discharge planning and transitional care, end-of-life care, home care, and long-term care Geriatric Syndromes and Important Issues -- covers common disorders such as delirium, dementia, depression, stroke, hypertension, osteoporosis, and more
Publication Date: 2010
Cognitive Informatics in Health and Biomedicine: Case Studies on Critical Care, Complexity, and Errors by Vimla L. Patel (Editor); David R. Kaufman (Editor); Trevor Cohen (Editor)Enormous advances in information technology have permeated essentially all facets of life in the past two decades. Formidable challenges remain in fostering tools that enhance productivity but are sensitive to work practices. Cognitive Informatics (CI) is the multidisciplinary study of cognition, information and computational sciences that investigates all facets of human computing including design and computer-mediated intelligent action, thus is strongly grounded in methods and theories from cognitive science. As an applied discipline, it has a close affiliation with human factors and human-computer interaction, and provides a framework for the analysis and modeling of complex human performance in technology-mediated settings and contributes to the design and development of better information systems. In recent years, CI has emerged as a distinct area with special relevance to biomedicine and health care. In addition, it has become a foundation for education and training of health informaticians, the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology initiating a program including CI as one of its critical elements to support health IT curriculum development.This book represents a first textbook on cognitive informatics andwill focus on key examples drawn from the application of methods and theories from CI to challenges pertaining to the practice of critical-care medicine (CCM). Technology is transforming critical care workflows andre-organizing patient care management processes. CCM has proven to be a fertile test bed for theories and methods of cognitive informatics. CI, in turn, has contributed much to our understanding of the factors that result in complexity and patient errors. The topic is strongly interdisciplinary and will be important for individuals from a range of academic and professional backgrounds, including critical care specialists, psychologists, computer scientists, medical informaticians, and anthropologists.
Publication Date: 2013
Epilepsy Case Studies by William O. Tatum (Editor); Gregory D. Cascino (Editor); Joseph I. Sirven (Editor)Written by expert epilepsy clinicians from the Mayo Clinic, Epilepsy Case Studies: Pearls for Patient Care presents a wide variety of case histories drawn from "real life" experiences in people with seizures. Designed to stimulate the same deductive reasoning that is commonly used when seeing epilepsy patients in the clinic, this practical book presents the clinical scenario and then poses a range of stimulating questions to organize the reader's thoughts to address each case. Questions that revolve around each case include common ones such as "How does this test help us with the diagnosis?" and "What is the precise relationship of the patient's seizures to their overall neurological condition?" The most poignant questions include "How does this information help us to devise a treatment plan?" and "What do we know about the anticipated course and prognosis?" The questions raised in each section incorporate the clinical course and evaluation. Where possible, the discussion relies upon the latest medical evidence to support the responses and includes up-to-date techniques used for patients with and without seizure control. At the end of each case a few salient citations are referenced, as are a few of the more pertinent articles that the reader can reference to obtain an overview of the topic. Take-home messages are encapsulated in the form of clinical pearls that are designed to form the basic understanding of the case scenarios presented. A major contribution to the literature in epileptology, Epilepsy Case Studies: Pearls for Patient Care will be an invaluable reference for all clinicians who treat patients with epilepsy.
Publication Date: 2013
Patient Safety: A Case-Based Comprehensive Guide by Abha Agrawal (Editor)Despite the evolution and growing awareness of patient safety, many medical professionals are not a part of this important conversation.nbsp; Clinicians often believe they are too busy taking care of patients to adopt and implement patient safety initiatives and that acknowledging medical errors is an affront to their skills. Patient Safety provides clinicians with a better understanding of the prevalence, causes and solutions for medical errors; bringing best practice principles to the bedside.nbsp; Written by experts from a variety of backgrounds, each chapter features an analysis of clinical cases based on the Root Cause Analysis (RCA) methodology, along with case-based discussions on various patient safety topics.nbsp; The systems and processes outlined in the book are general and broadly applicable to institutions of all sizes and structures. The core ethic of medical professionals is to "do no harm".nbsp; Patient Safety is a comprehensive resource for physicians, nurses and students, as well as healthcare leaders and administrators for identifying, solving and preventing medical error.
Publication Date: 2013
Achieving Cultural Competency: A Case-Based Approach to Training Health Professionals / by Lisa Hark (Editor); Horace DeLisser (Editor); Gail Morrison (Editor)Achieving Cultural Competency: A Case-Based Approach to Training Health Professionals provides the necessary tools to meet the ever-growing need for culturally competent practitioners and trainees. Twenty-five self-study cases cover a variety of medical topics, including cardiovascular, pulmonary, neurology, oncology, hematology, immunology, and pediatric disorders. Actual scenarios that occurred in clinical settings help the user gain direct insight into the realities of practice today. Cultural factors covered within the cases include cultural diversity plus gender, language, folk beliefs, socioeconomic status, religion, and sexual orientation. This book is an approved CME-certifying activity to meet physicians' cultural competency state requirements. Get 25 pre-approved self-study American Dietetic Association credits at no additional charge when you purchase the book. Email firstname.lastname@example.org for further instructions.
Call Number: W21 .A178 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Case Studies: Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology by Stephen M. Stahl; Debbi A. Morrissette (Editor); Nancy Muntner (Illustrator)Designed with the distinctive, user-friendly presentation Dr Stahl's audience know and love, this new stream of Stahl books capitalize on Dr Stahl's greatest strength - the ability to address complex issues in an understandable way and with direct relevance to the everyday experience of clinicians. The book describes a wide-ranging and representative selection of clinical scenarios, making use of icons, questions/answers and tips. It follows these cases through the complete clinical encounter, from start to resolution, acknowledging all the complications, issues, decisions, twists and turns along the way. The book is about living through the treatments that work, the treatments that fail, and the mistakes made along the journey. This is psychiatry in real life – these are the patients from your waiting room – this book will reassure, inform and guide better clinical decision making.
Call Number: WM18.2 .S781c 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Case Studies in Biomedical Ethics: Decision-Making, Principles, and Cases by Robert M. Veatch; Amy M. Haddad; Dan C. EnglishThe most comprehensive and up-to-date collection of its kind, Case Studies in Biomedical Ethics: Decision-Making, Principles, and Cases, Second Edition, explores fundamental ethical questions arising from real situations faced by health professionals, patients, and others.Featuring a wide range of more than 100 case studies drawn from current events, court cases, and physicians' experiences, the book is divided into three parts. Part 1 presents a basic framework for ethical decision-making in healthcare, while Part 2 explains the relevant ethical principles:beneficence and nonmaleficence, justice, respect for autonomy, veracity, fidelity, and avoidance of killing. Parts 1 and 2 provide students with the background to analyze the ethical dilemmas presented in Part 3, which features cases on a broad spectrum of issues including abortion, mental health,experimentation on humans, the right to refuse treatment, and much more. The volume is enhanced by opening text boxes in each chapter that cross-reference relevant cases in other chapters, an appendix of important ethical codes, and a glossary of key terms.
Communication in Palliative Care by Janet DunphyJanet's skill in this book lies in her ability to combine theory with narrative, and natural science with humanity, to create a text that resonates deeply - bringing to light the message that intellectual knowledge is nothing if not accompanied by sensitive delivery and humanity. Mary Kiely, in the Foreword This practical, thought-provoking guide provides the unemotional, clear and accurate advice necessary for communicating with patients in a palliative care setting. Completely up-to-date, this book includes new initiatives born of the End of Life Care Strategy (2008), and details the ethics of key issues in palliative care. Crucially, it considers the fine art of communication - the pivotal aspect of being a palliative care expert that is so difficult to quantify and teach. It uses genuine anecdotes and case-studies to bring theory to life and assist in everyday application. Communication in Palliative Care is a wide-ranging, invaluable resource to palliative care professionals across all clinical settings.
Call Number: WB 310 D925c 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Essential Case Studies in Public Health by Riegelman; Katherine Hunting; Brenda L. GleasonEssential Case Studies in Public Health: Putting Public Health into Practice is a unique compilation of twenty-one cases based on real life events and problems. Written by over forty public health faculty members and practitioners, these cases vividly illustrate how professionals across various disciplines tackle public health challenges. Covering a wide range of topics and issues from HPV vaccines as school entry requirements to implementing community-based water systems in rural Honduran communities to a mumps epidemic in Iowa, this text helps students apply a wide range of knowledge and skills relevant to public health outbreak investigation, policy analysis, regulatory decision-making and more.Suitable as a stand-alone text or as an adjunct to any introductory public health text, this collection of engaging case studies provides students with the opportunity to synthesize and apply each of the five components of the "Public Health 101" curriculum framework: the public health approach; tools of population health; disease: determinants, impacts, and interventions; healthcare and public health systems; and special areas of public health focus. Selected cases can be readily applied to courses across the curriculum.
Call Number: WA 100 H948e 2012
Publication Date: 2011
Primary Care Geriatrics: A Case-Based Approach by Richard J. Ham; Philip D. Sloane; Gregg A. Warshaw; Jane F. Potter; Ellen FlahertyEmploying a unique case-based approach, Ham's Primary Care Geriatrics continues to be your comprehensive source of clinical solutions for this challenging population. This gerontology medical reference book features an interdisciplinary perspective that empowers you with team-oriented knowledge on the best diagnosis, treatment, and management strategies available to address the complex needs of older adults. "Overall this is a useful, well written, practical elderly medicine book, ideal for use in primary care. It is reasonable priced and an excellent addition to the bookshelf, virtual or real". Reviewed by: Dr Harry Brown, July 2014 Effectively treat your geriatric patients, and provide helpful guidance to their families, through engaging geriatric case studies that illustrate the principles and key clinical information you need. Form a definitive diagnosis and create the best treatment plans possible using the evidence-based medicine guidelines throughout. Find the information you need quickly and efficiently with a 2-color layout and consistent format, and test your knowledge with USMLE-style questions in every chapter. Offer your geriatric patients the most up-to-date treatment options available with six new chapters addressing Principles of Primary Care of Older Adults, Interprofessional Team Care, Billing and Coding, Frailty, Pressure Ulcers, and Anemia. Access the complete geriatric text online anytime, anywhere at Expert Consult, along with an online Cognitive Status Assessment with four tests and patient teaching guides, a dermatology quiz, and informative videos on Gait and Balance and Dizziness.