Nursing Case Studies in Caring: Across the Practice Spectrum by Charlotte D. Barry; Shirley C. Gordon; Beth M. King""This well-written book clearly reflects extensive study, thoughtful reflection, and clinical experience. The authors have successfully provided a unique and realistic framework to aid educators in engaging students with contextual learning opportunities designed to illuminate the value of theory in practice... Score: 91 - 4 Stars "" --Susan G Wiera, MSN, Michigan State University College of Nursing, "Doody's Reviews" Uncovers the art and science of nursing grounded in caring for all nursing situations Grounded in the belief that caring is the central domain of nursing, this innovative book presents a new approach to "nursing situations." These are case studies depicting shared lived experiences between the nurse and patient that are studied from various theoretical perspectives. They are designed to foster a nursing student's ability to care effectively for a patient, family, or group. Each case study features a compelling scenario that engages the reader to feel and fully participate in the caring experience. The book presents a variety of situations that new and experienced nurses are likely to encounter, many of which present scenarios that require caring for a patient under difficult or complex circumstances. The book addresses the need, as defined by leading health care and nursing education organizations, for the study of nursing from a contextual, story-oriented perspective. It is based on the Barry, Gordon & King Teaching/Learning Nursing Framework, developed as a guide to uncover the art and science of nursing grounded in caring in all nursing situations. Following a description of the framework's foundational concepts, the text describes how to use nursing situations to facilitate learning. The scenarios offer detailed, practical strategies for analyzing nursing situations in ways that bring to life the simple and complex practice of nursing grounded in caring. These real-life stories also help students understand the impact of health conditions on individuals and families, thereby fostering empathy. Case studies address nursing situations across a variety of populations, health concerns, and practice settings. Using multiple ways of knowing and understanding, each scenario concludes with direct and reflective questions that help students develop nursing knowledge and skills. The book serves as a core resource for nurse educators and students at all levels seeking to study the art and science of nursing grounded in caring. Additionally, the book is a resource for in-service educators in health care systems that specifically address caring as an essential value for practice. KEY FEATURES: Delivers a new approach to nursing education focusing on the context of caring between nurse and patient Presents a collection of real-life nursing scenarios designed to foster caring knowledge and skills under all circumstances Offers detailed, practical strategies for analyzing nursing situations to aid in learning the practice of nursing grounded in caring Helps students to understand the impact of health conditions on individuals and families
Publication Date: 2015
Case Studies in Nursing Ethics by Sara T. Fry; Robert M. Veatch; Carol R. TaylorAs the healthcare professional in closest contact with both the patient and the physician, nurses face biomedical ethical problems in unique ways. Accordingly, Case Studies in Nursing Ethics presents basic ethical principles and specific guidance for applying these principles in nursing practice, through analysis of over 150 actual case study conflicts that have occurred in nursing practice. Each case study allows readers to develop their own approaches to the resolution of ethical conflict and to reflect on how the traditions of ethical thought and professional guidelines apply to the situation.The Fourth Edition has been completely revised and updated. It includes two new chapters, one on Moral Integrity and Moral Distress which contains AACN model of moral distress and work and one on Respect which addresses several aspects of the general problem of showing respect for patients and others. It's also been updated with new case studies, new "Critical Thinking Questions" and "Research Briefs" boxes throughout, as well as citations, glossary, and web resources in health care ethics.
Call Number: WY85 .V394c 2011
Publication Date: 2010
Critical Thinking to Achieve Positive Health Outcomes: Nursing Case Studies and Analyses by Margaret Lunney (Editor)This book uses the latest research findings to apply critical thinking processes for the development of diagnostic reasoning and the selection of patient outcomes and nursing interventions.Four chapters describe the meaning of intelligence, critical thinking, and application of critical thinking processes within nursing. The case studies and their ultimate resolution to intervention and outcome illustrate these processes by enabling repeated practice. Case studies are organized into four sections; problem diagnoses, risk diagnoses, health promotion diagnoses, and strength diagnoses. A companion website provides on-line resources.
Call Number: WY100.4 .C9345 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Winningham's Critical Thinking Cases in Nursing by Mariann M. Harding; Julie S. SnyderHighly regarded for its clinically relevant and thought-provoking content, Winningham's Critical Thinking Cases in Nursing, 6th Edition features 150 case studies that cover all four clinical practice areas: medical-surgical, pediatric, OB/maternity, and psychiatric nursing. Each case covers a common patient problem, drawn from actual clinical experiences and written by nurses who are clinical experts. This edition reflects the most current standards of clinical practice, including content on pharmacology, nutrition, and diagnostic/laboratory tests to prepare you for all aspects of patient care. From nursing educators Mariann Harding and Julie Snyder, this workbook helps you develop your clinical nursing judgment and bridge the gap from nursing knowledge to nursing practice. Comprehensive case study approach uses cases drawn from actual clinical experiences to help you identify changes, anticipate possible complications, and initiate therapeutic interventions. Progressive case complexity builds on previous learning and helps you develop more and more expertise. 150 case studies cover all major clinical areas, including medical-surgical, pediatric, OB/maternity, and psychiatric cases, providing you with many diverse clinical situations and opportunities to apply knowledge and develop critical thinking skills. Body system organization makes the book easier to use with medical-surgical nursing textbooks and courses. NEW! QSEN icons highlight essential safety content. NEW! Increased emphasis on NCLEX® Exam-style alternate-format questions includes multiple-response, prioritization, and illustration-based questions, offering better NCLEX Examination preparation. NEW! Additional documentation questions and a NEW Chart View design provide more experience in documenting patient care based on real-world electronic chart formats. NEW! Reorganized format presents cases in three parts: 1) medical-surgical cases; 2) pediatric, maternity, and women's health cases; and 3) psychiatric and alternative therapies cases. NEW! Increased difficulty level includes more questions about care of older adults and multi-system situations. UPDATED content includes the latest clinical treatment guidelines, issues, and practice standards.