eBooks
Anesthesia Student Survival Guide: A Case-Based Approach by
Anesthesia Student Survival Guide: A Case-Based Approach is an indispensable introduction to the specialty. This concise, easy-to-read, affordable handbook is ideal for medical students, nursing students, and others during the anesthesia rotation. Written in a structured prose format and supplemented with many diagrams, tables, and algorithms, this pocket-sized guide contains essential material covered on the USMLE II-III and other licensing exams. The editors, who are academic faculty at Harvard Medical School, summarize the essential content with 32 informative and compelling case studies designed to help students apply new concepts to real situations. Pharmacology, basic skills, common procedures and anesthesia subspecialties are covered, too, with just the right amount of detail for an introductory text. The unique book also offers a section containing career advice and insider tips on how to receive good evaluations from supervising physicians. With its combination of astute clinical instruction, basic science explanation, and practical tips from physicians that have been there before, this handbook is your one-stop guide to a successful anesthesia rotation.
Regional Anesthesia in Trauma by
The management of pain from acute injuries is a priority in trauma care. Regional analgesic techniques are very effective at treating acute pain and are gaining in popularity as recognition of their beneficial effects on morbidity increases. Regional Anesthesia in Trauma employs multiple narrative problem-solving case scenarios that explore the use of regional anesthesia in: * Blunt chest trauma, amputations, upper and lower extremity fractures and spinal injury * Burn injury * Patients with pre-existing nerve injury and other co-morbidities * Patients at risk for compartment syndrome * Pregnant, obese, elderly and pediatric patients * Local anesthetic systemic toxicity With a focus on ultrasound-guided techniques, the reader is guided through the technical aspects of performing regional anesthesia as well as the medical and surgical considerations that influence the choice of analgesic therapy. Regional Anesthesia in Trauma is invaluable for practitioners and trainees in anesthesiology, emergency medicine and trauma surgery.
eBooks
Cardiac Electrophysiology by
Clinical cardiac electrophysiology is one of the most rapidly expanding fields in cardiology. There are currently no comprehensive case based books in this field.nbsp;A Case Review of Cardiac Electrophysiologynbsp;is a case based review of cardiac electrophysiology. The aim of this book is to provide a comprehensive case based review of cardiac electrophysiology.nbsp;It will include implantable device cases as well as ablation cases and difficult clinical cases andnbsp;may be used as a useful review in cardiac electrophysiology for those taking board examinations. There will also be cases that will be useful for associate professionals working in the field of cardiac electrophysiology including those individuals working for industry.
Case Based Echocardiography: : Fundamentals and Clinical Practice by
Case Based Echocardiography will provide a case-based introduction/primer to the practice of echocardiography with liberal use of images and actual patient histories. The reader will be able to gain extensive practical knowledge of the practice of echocardiography with the use of these case reports. These will concentrate on the skills necessary to increase specialist knowledge of echocardiography practice.
Coronary Artery CTA: A Case-Based Atlas by
This new case-based book fills a gap in the literature by guiding the reader through the challenging clinical problems encountered in daily practice. Each case presents the clinician with a complete patient work-up that includes clinical history, radiological and clinical findings, treatment summary and suggested readings. Ideal for radiology and cardiology residents, as well as experienced physicians, this text helps the reader arrive at a diagnosis for each clinical problem presented.
Heart Failure: A Cased-Based Approach by
This is a highly visual, case-based approach that covers the spectrum of the clinical presentation of heart failure. Each chapter revolves around one or more cases that best represent the diagnosis and treatment of a specific type of heart failure. The book encompasses newly diagnosed cases of heart failure, optimizing therapy for patients with known heart failure, heart failure associated with a variety of cardiac diseases, and heart failure in patients with systemic diseases. Authors also address the rapidly expanding field of familial-based cardiomyopathies and the difficult task of determining prognosis. The newly diagnosed cases of heart failure include non-ischemic dilated cardiomyopathy, post-myocardial infarction heart failure, tako-tsubo cardiomyopathy, atrial fibrillation as a cause of heart failure, and manifestations of diastolic dysfunction causing heart failure. The section on optimizing therapy for patients with chronic heart failure encompasses treatment for an initially stabilized patient who begins to decline and presents with an acute exacerbation; treating patients with devices such as defibrillators, resynchronization pacemaker systems, or both; and actions that can be taken when, despite the full gamut of treatment, a patient is still symptomatic or gradually declining. Included is a discussion of hemodynamic optimization and advanced therapy for end-stage failure. Additionally, the book covers in depth procedures for determining prognosis and evaluating familial disease; and includes descriptions of medications commonly used for heart failure. Chapters are consistently formatted to include an overview of underlying pathophysiology, presentation of the representative iteachingi case, and a discussion of optimal management including assessment of current evidence and guidelines. The book also features video loops of select procedures, available online. KEY FEATURES: Over thirty expert authors offer a practical, visual approach to common but complex management problems in heart failure Demonstrates real-world clinical management decisions and applications of current guidelines and evidence through case presentations Discusses assessment and treatment of newly diagnosed and chronic cases of heart failure Addresses heart failure associated with the gamut of cardiac diseases and in patients with systemic diseases Provides links to video loops of select procedures "
Books
Atlas of Vascular Medicine: A Case-Based Approach to Current Management by
"Atlas of Vascular Medicine" provides concise overviews of current management of vascular diseases utilizing a case-based format. A wide range of cases is presented encompassing arterial, venous, and lymphatic diseases. The atlas covers the major areas of vascular medicine in eight sections. Each section includes a concise overview of the area, followed by discussions of the major disease entities within that area. Each disease entity is introduced by an illustrative case presentation and is followed by a detailed topic review including clinical features, laboratory and imaging workup, treatment and prognosis, clinical pearls, discussion of differential diagnoses, and review questions. The presentations are well illustrated to provide a visual, user-friendly approach. Each case presentation has been selected to provide representative examples of the most likely presentation in clinical practice, with complications and variants discussed in the management summary concluding the case. "Atlas of Vascular Medicine" Features: Comprehensive coverage of major entities in vascular medicine Concise summaries of management principles Case approach showing application of principles in clinical practice Highly illustrated with high-quality images from frequently encountered modalities Clinical Pearls, Differential Diagnoses, and Questions and Answers conclude each case Expert faculty contributors"
Electrocardiography Review: A Case Based Approach by
Electrocardiography Review provides 150 carefully selected electrocardiogram case studies derived from Dr. Rimmerman,,s files at the Cleveland Clinic. The electrocardiograms have been chosen to help maximize learning and ABIM Certifying Exam preparation, emphasizing concepts that are not traditionally taught in electrocardiogram courses or on the hospital wards. Each case appears on a two-page spread with a clinical history and full-size ECG on the left, and includes electrocardiogram interpretation, key teaching points with clinically relevant commentary, key clinical electrocardiogram diagnoses, and board examination essentials on the right. A recommended approach to ECG interpretation is presented for concept reinforcement, while a section on keys to a passing score outlines the critical components of optimal exam preparation. Finally, coding essentials with specific board exam diagnostic codes are provided for each tracing.
eBooks
Atlas of Lymphoscintigraphy and Sentinel Node Mapping by
Although lymphoscintigraphy was originally introduced into clinical routine for identification of the cause of peripheral edema, more recently it has been widely applied for radioguided biopsy of the sentinel lymph node in patients with solid cancers. The procedure is now considered crucial for adequate planning of oncologic surgery in a growing number of cancers. This atlas presents a collection of richly illustrated teaching cases that demonstrate the clinical relevance and impact of lymphoscintigraphy in different pathologic conditions. After introductory chapters on the anatomy, physiology, and pathophysiology of lymphatic circulation, the role of lymphoscintigraphy in differential diagnosis of peripheral edema and characterization of intracavitary lymph effusions is addressed. The principal focus of the book, however, is on the use of lymphoscintigraphic mapping for radioguided sentinel node biopsy in cutaneous melanoma and cancers at a range of anatomic sites. The most commonly observed lymphoscintigraphic patterns are depicted, and anatomic variants and technical pitfalls of the procedure receive careful attention. The role of tomographic multimodality imaging is also considered. The atlas will be an excellent learning tool for residents in nuclear medicine and other specialists with an interest in the field.
Case-Based Brain Imaging by
"In a market full of case reviews, this one stands out because it provides more information, more detailed discussions of differential diagnoses, and more companion cases than its competitors, while still maintaining a good breadth of coverage. The cases represent a significant and timely upgrade from the first edition." -- Doody Enterprises, Inc. Case-Based Brain Imaging, Second Edition, an update of the highly regarded Teaching Atlas of Brain Imaging, has full coverage of the latest technological advancements in brain imaging. It contains more than 150 cases that provide detailed discussion of the pathology, treatment, and prognosis of common and rare brain diseases, congenital/developmental malformations, cranial nerves, and more. This comprehensive case-based review of brain imaging will help radiologists, neurologists, and neurosurgeons in their training and daily practice. Key Features: More than 1,000 updated high-resolution images created on state-of-the-art equipment Advanced CT and MR imaging introduces readers to current imaging modalities Pathological descriptions of radiologic diagnoses help clarify the pathophysiology of the disease Pearls and pitfalls of imaging interpretation for quick reference Authors are world-renowned brain imaging experts Radiology residents, neuroradiology fellows preparing for board exams, and beginning practitioners will find this book an invaluable tool in learning how to correctly diagnose common and rare pathologies of the brain.
Case-Based Nuclear Medicine by
Praise for the first edition: "Recommend[ed]...for novices and masters alike. It will improve the reader's breadth of knowledge and ability to make sound clinical decisions." - Clinical Nuclear Medicine Ideal for self-assessment, the second edition of Case-Based Nuclear Medicine has been fully updated to reflect the latest nuclear imaging technology, including cutting-edge cardiac imaging systems and the latest on PET/CT. Each chapter is packed with high-quality images that demonstrate the full-range of commonly encountered disease manifestations as seen in the practice of nuclear medicine. The lavishly illustrated cases begin with the clinical presentation and a concise patient history followed by imaging findings, differential diagnoses, the definitive diagnosis and follow-up information, a brief discussion of the background for each diagnosis, and a list of pearls and pitfalls. Features: Comprehensive coverage of everything from single photon emission computed tomography to PET/CT imaging Cases presented as 'unknowns' enable readers to develop their own differential diagnoses - just like on the exam Over 400 high-resolution images, including full-color PET/CT and cardiac scintigraphic images, document the cases Numerous tips, tricks, pearls, and pitfalls highlight key points at the end of each chapter A scratch-off code provides 12 months of access to RadCases, a searchable online database of 250 must-know nuclear medicine cases This user-friendly atlas is an essential resource for all residents and fellows in radiology and nuclear medicine as they review for exams and prepare for rounds. Clinicians will find the succinct presentation of cases an invaluable quick reference in daily practice.
Choosing the Correct Radiologic Test by
Owing to financial constraints, greater pressure is being put on physicians to order only appropriate radiologic exams. The American College of Radiology (ACR) Appropriateness Criteria have emerged as a widely accepted standard by which the appropriate use of radiologic exams is judged. This book enables physicians and trainees to learn the ACR recommendations in a clinically relevant and intellectually stimulating way. More than 400 clinical scenarios are organized into ten modules based on organ systems. Each scenario is addressed by means of an interactive quiz in which the reader is invited to select the best option from various imaging modalities. Each choice is given a numerical rating of appropriateness, with accompanying comments when necessary. Correlative images of pathologies are included to enhance the reader's appreciation of the diagnostic power of the modality in question. This book is ideal as a tool both for self-study and for quantitative evaluation of students' knowledge.
Diagnostic Endosonography: A Case-Based Approach by
The available textbooks on endoscopic ultrasound (EUS) typically focus on technique and interpretation of commonly observed images and scenarios and are aimed primarily at trainees. However, independent practitioners of EUS are often challenged by unusual cases which they are expected to handle competently despite the absence of authoritative guidance. The "Diagnostic Endosonography"aims to fill this gap by presenting carefully selected cases that will expand the practitioner s knowledge base and cover important clinical challenges. The case material is organized principally according to anatomic site. Approximately 170 case reports are included, each of which is accompanied by an average of three to five high-quality EUS images; in addition, CT and PET scans are shown when appropriate. For each case, the case description is followed by helpful teaching points as well as up-to-date literature references and suggestions for future research."
Dxa Primer for the Practicing Clinician by
Despite public perception, osteoporosis remains a widespread, devastating disease, and a very serious and costly public health threat. Early detection and treatment must be a priority for primary health care providers. Dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry (DXA) is the principal x-ray technology used to diagnose osteoporosis in its early, asymptomatic stages, to assess treatment efficacy, and to guide treatment decisions. It remains the gold standard today. A DXA Primer for the Practicing Clinician: A Case-Based Manual for Understanding and Interpreting Bone Densitometry is developed around real cases of patients' DXA measurements. The content is derived from presentations given by the authors at a national society training course and exemplifies not only the complete body of education provided through these lectures but the full range of previously undiscussed nuances as well. This practical, easy-to-read title provides the day to day problems of DXA usage that new users may encounter and that training courses do not have time to provide in detail. The central focus of the book is the presentation of what is normal and what is problematic in the use of DXA, depicting various scenarios with real case histories of patients, their corresponding DXA images and the data that explain the problems. Unique in approach and presentation, this case-based manual will be of immense value to all practitioners -- and students - interested in providing optimal diagnosis and treatment of osteoporosis.
Genitourinary Imaging by
Genitourinary Imaging will enable you to diagnose the full range of cases involving the genitourinary system. Features of Genitourinary Imaging: Nearly 400 high-resolution radiographs demonstrating basic to advanced genitourinary cases, with an additional 395 radiographs available online! A variety of common and uncommon presentations covering everything from adenomyosis to vas deferens calcifications Examples of cases that must be diagnosed immediately, to avert potential disaster in daily practice and on exams.
Imaging Gliomas after Treatment: A Case-Based Atlas by
This atlas is a detailed guide to the imaging appearances of gliomas following treatment with neurosurgery, radiation therapy, and chemotherapy. Normal and pathological findings are displayed in detailed MR images that illustrate the potential modifications due to treatment. Particular emphasis is placed on characteristic appearances on the newer functional MR imaging techniques, including MR spectroscopy, diffusion-weighted imaging, and perfusion imaging. These techniques are revolutionizing neuroradiology by going beyond the demonstration of macroscopic alterations to the depiction of preceding metabolic changes at the cellular and subcellular level, thereby allowing earlier and more specific diagnosis. A key section comprising some 40 clinical cases and more than 500 illustrations offers an invaluable clinical and research tool not only for neuroradiologists but also for neurosurgeons, radiotherapists, and medical oncologists.
Imaging Spine after Treatment by
This book reviews in detail the role of neuroradiological imaging in the evaluation of patients who have undergone surgery or interventional radiology procedures, and particularly its value in the documentation of normal and pathological post-treatment changes, detection of complications, and follow-up. The opening sections describe pretreatment images in various conditions, including trauma, degenerative disc disease, and osteoporosis, and the different types of neurosurgical and interventional treatment that may be used. The post-treatment appearances of normal sequelae and complications on conventional radiography, CT, and MRI are then documented in detail on the basis of a large series of clinical cases, with a wealth of images. Guidance is provided on selection of one or a combination of imaging modalities. This book will be an invaluable clinical and research tool not only for neuroradiologists but also for neurosurgeons, and interventional radiologists.
Managing Common Interventional Radiology Complications: A Case Based Approach by
This book provides an easy-to-use manual that will help trainee and practising interventional radiologists by providing cases which cover most of the complications that a general interventionalist may encounter in normal practice. There will be 40-50 cases. The cases will be presented succinctly but thoroughly, such that the reader is equipped to manage the complication immediately. At least 50% of cases will be from District General Hospital Consultants.
Radionuclide Imaging of Infection and Inflammation by
This atlas fills a gap in the literature by documenting in detail the role of nuclear medicine imaging of infection and inflammation. The pathophysiologic and molecular mechanisms on which radionuclide imaging of infection/inflammation is based are clearly explained, but the prime focus of the book is on the clinical relevance of such procedures. Their impact is demonstrated by a collection of richly illustrated teaching cases that describe the most commonly observed scintigraphic patterns, as well as anatomic variants and technical pitfalls. Due attention is paid to the application of recently developed techniques, including multimodality fusion imaging such as SPECT/CT and PET/CT. Emphasis is placed in particular on the ability of multimodality imaging to increase both the sensitivity and the specificity of radionuclide imaging. This atlas will be an excellent learning tool for residents in nuclear medicine and illuminating for other specialists with an interest in the field.
Books
Duke Radiology Case Review by
Residents, fellows and practicing radiologists who are preparing for certification exams (the current ABR Part II oral, the future ABR Core and Certifying, CAQ and MOC) will find the new edition of this case-based review book an indispensable tool for success. Duke Radiology Case Review has long been considered one of the standards in board review, and is a well-known adjunct to the popular and well-attended board review course given by the prestigious Department of Radiology at Duke University. Close to 300 case presentations are structured to align with the way residents are taught to work through patient cases. Divided by body region and including chapters on interventional radiology and nuclear medicine, each case offers a clinical history, relevant images, and bulleted points describing the differential diagnosis. This is followed by the actual diagnosis and key clinical and radiologic facts about the diagnosis and suggested readings. This edition includes a new chapter on cardiac imaging.
eBooks
Trauma, Surgical Critical Care and Surgical Emergencies: A Case and Evidence-Based Textbook by
This book provides a comprehensive and contemporary discussion about the three key areas of acute care surgery; trauma, surgical critical care, and surgical emergencies. The 65 chapters are arranged by organ, anatomical site and injury type, and each includes a case study with evidence-based analysis of diagnosis, management, and outcomes. Unless stated otherwise, the authors used the GRADE evidence classification system established the American College of Chest Physicians.
Books
Emergency Neurology by
What Do I Do Now? Emergency Neurology is designed as a resource for clinicians at all levels of training in all fields of medicine who treat patients with urgent and emergent neurological syndromes. It uses a novel approach focusing on the "clinical impasse" that so often occurs in complex cases, and emphasizes the creative intellectual process clinicians relish. Authored by Morris Levin, along with colleagues from the Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, this volume presents 32 common urgent/emergent cases divided in to four distinct sections: (1) Diagnostic Questions (ADULT), (2) Treatment Considerations (ADULT), (3) Ethical, Neuropsychiatric and Legal issues and 4) Pediatric issues. The chapters are short and to the point, bearing in mind the increasing work demands on physicians. Thus, the approach in this book, as in the "What Do I Do Now?" series in general, is highly practical, logical and fun.
eBooks
General Practice Cases at a Glance by
General Practice Cases at a Glance is a workbook of clinical scenarios, ideal for those working in general practice, on their GP rotations, or looking to improve their history-taking, diagnostic and management planning skills. Written by practising teaching GPs, it provides an accessible overview of the richness and complexity of general practice. With 50 engaging consultations, covering all age ranges and a broad spread of clinical areas, each symptom-based chapter begins with the clinical presentation of a patient, before going on to uncover the full history and examination. As you work through each true-to-life case, there are red flag symptoms, useful charts and tables, and further resources to deepen your knowledge. General Practice Cases at a Glance: Is suitable for clinical students, Foundation doctors, and those preparing for the MRCGP's CSA Includes 50 case scenarios from across the medical spectrum, from mental health and paediatrics to musculoskeletal and ENT medicine Is comprehensively illustrated Features current clinical guidelines, and charts and tables to accompany each case Is the companion volume to General Practice at a Glance, ISBN 978-0-470-65551-1, (Awarded First Prize in the Primary health care category at the 2013 BMA Medical Book Awards) but is also a stand-alone resource
Books
100 Cases in General Practice, Second Edition by
The new edition of this best-selling title from the popular 100 cases series explores common scenarios that will be encountered by the medical student and junior doctor when working in the community setting, and which are likely to feature in qualifying examinations. The book covers a comprehensive range of presentations from tiredness to tremor. Comprehensive answers highlight key take home points from each case and provide practical advice on how to deal with the challenges that occur in general practice at all levels.
Family Medicine Examination and Board Review by
An engagingly written case-based review for the Family Medicine Board Examination and the USMLE Step 3 Family Practice Examination and Board Review, Third Edition is the ideal study guide for the primary and recertification exam in family medicine and for licensureexams. The third edition has been completely updated with new cases, new questions, and new study results--and you'll also find new bits of humor that make the book fun to read and your study more enjoyable. This trusted reviewhas been applauded by residents and students for its "building-block approach" to teaching that assures you understand one subject before moving on to the next. FEATURES More than 360 progressive case studies that reflect the realities of clinical practice and prepareyou for your exams A 149-question final exam with answers referenced to pages in the book Detailed answer explanations for most questions that explain not only why an answer is right, but why the other answers are wrong Comprehensive coverage of ALL topics on the boards andrecertifying exam Super-effective learning aids such as Quick Quizzes, learning objectives, clinical pearls, and more Color photographs of conditions most easily diagnosedby appearance Written not only to help you pass your exams, but to also update your knowledge of family medicine with state-of-the-art information An outstanding refresher for primary care physicians, physician assistants, and nurse practitioners
Primary Care Geriatrics: A Case-Based Approach by
Employing a unique case-based approach, Ham's Primary Care Geriatrics continues to be your comprehensive source of clinical solutions for this challenging population. This gerontology medical reference book features an interdisciplinary perspective that empowers you with team-oriented knowledge on the best diagnosis, treatment, and management strategies available to address the complex needs of older adults. "Overall this is a useful, well written, practical elderly medicine book, ideal for use in primary care. It is reasonable priced and an excellent addition to the bookshelf, virtual or real". Reviewed by: Dr Harry Brown, July 2014 Effectively treat your geriatric patients, and provide helpful guidance to their families, through engaging geriatric case studies that illustrate the principles and key clinical information you need. Form a definitive diagnosis and create the best treatment plans possible using the evidence-based medicine guidelines throughout. Find the information you need quickly and efficiently with a 2-color layout and consistent format, and test your knowledge with USMLE-style questions in every chapter. Offer your geriatric patients the most up-to-date treatment options available with six new chapters addressing Principles of Primary Care of Older Adults, Interprofessional Team Care, Billing and Coding, Frailty, Pressure Ulcers, and Anemia. Access the complete geriatric text online anytime, anywhere at Expert Consult, along with an online Cognitive Status Assessment with four tests and patient teaching guides, a dermatology quiz, and informative videos on Gait and Balance and Dizziness.
eBooks
Case-Based Geriatrics: A Global Approach by
A full-color case-based guide to the principles and clinical aspects of geriatric care 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW! "It is intended as a case-based textbook of geriatrics that also integrates the complexities of geriatric medicine into a meaningful whole. These are excellent objectives, all met in a wonderful way. This book stands out from other textbooks of geriatric medicine....This is a brilliant addition to the literature of geriatric medicine. Some topics are covered in different ways, but this is never repetitious, rather more like looking at a gem from different angles. The evidence-based, case-based, pre-test, post-test format makes this an ideal book from which to learn. The breadth and depth are stunning. The editing and format would be enough to highly recommend this book, but the beautiful use of color on every page, permitting lavish illustrations, tables, figures, and examples of tests, makes this at the same time a brilliant exposition of the true nature of geriatric medicine, and a work of art as well. Run, do not walk, to see it!"--Doody's Review Service Case-Based Geriatrics utilizes a case-and-evidence-based approach to help you understand the key principles and clinical points of geriatric medicine and healthcare. Written to reflect the field's growing trend toward interdisciplinary collaboration, the book is of value not only to physicians, but to the entire health team involved in the care of the elderly. This unique text is constructed around case presentations, which are used as the primary teaching tool. These cases reflect issues and principles of geriatrics that are encountered and practiced worldwide. You will learn how cultural characteristics of both patients and providers have added new layers of complications to this already challenging field - and how they can be recognized and overcome. Each case is directly linked to the learning objectives found in each chapter. Review questions appear at the beginning and end of each chapter to test your understanding. Case-Based Geriatrics is divided into three sections: Issues in Aging -- features foundational chapters covering essential topics such as biology of aging, worldwide demographics, the geriatric physical exam, sensory changes in aging, and approaches to laboratory testing and imaging in aging Inter-professional Geriatrics -- provides an overview of multi-professional team care and covers important topics such as pre -and-post operative care, discharge planning and transitional care, end-of-life care, home care, and long-term care Geriatric Syndromes and Important Issues -- covers common disorders such as delirium, dementia, depression, stroke, hypertension, osteoporosis, and more
Clinical Cases in Geriatric Dermatology by
This concise practical guide is designed to facilitate the clinical decision-making process by reviewing a number of cases and defining the various diagnostic and management decisions open to clinicians. It is richly illustrated and diverse in scope, enabling the reader to obtain relevant information regarding both standard and unusual cases in a rapid, easy to digest format. The first in the series will be on Geriatric Dermatology and will be prepared within one month of acceptance and include photos. Each case will also include a narrative description and patient management tips
Books
Primary Care Geriatrics: A Case-Based Approach by
Employing a unique case-based approach, Ham's Primary Care Geriatrics continues to be your comprehensive source of clinical solutions for this challenging population. This gerontology medical reference book features an interdisciplinary perspective that empowers you with team-oriented knowledge on the best diagnosis, treatment, and management strategies available to address the complex needs of older adults. "Overall this is a useful, well written, practical elderly medicine book, ideal for use in primary care. It is reasonable priced and an excellent addition to the bookshelf, virtual or real". Reviewed by: Dr Harry Brown, July 2014 Effectively treat your geriatric patients, and provide helpful guidance to their families, through engaging geriatric case studies that illustrate the principles and key clinical information you need. Form a definitive diagnosis and create the best treatment plans possible using the evidence-based medicine guidelines throughout. Find the information you need quickly and efficiently with a 2-color layout and consistent format, and test your knowledge with USMLE-style questions in every chapter. Offer your geriatric patients the most up-to-date treatment options available with six new chapters addressing Principles of Primary Care of Older Adults, Interprofessional Team Care, Billing and Coding, Frailty, Pressure Ulcers, and Anemia. Access the complete geriatric text online anytime, anywhere at Expert Consult, along with an online Cognitive Status Assessment with four tests and patient teaching guides, a dermatology quiz, and informative videos on Gait and Balance and Dizziness.
Books
The Coagulation Consult by
There have been many changes in the field of coagulation during the past decade. New concepts of epidemiology of risk factors for thrombosis now help clinicians predict who is more likely to form clots after surgery, or after being placed on oral contraceptives. New anticoagulants have the potential to redefine how patients with atrial fibrillation and venous thrombosis are managed. There are new forms of recombinant clotting factors which have changed our approach to hypofibrinogenemia and von Willebrand's disease. Newer antiplatelet agents are available and their use in patients receiving cardiac stents has mushroomed. The management of thrombosis in the setting of pregnancy has changed over the past decade, as well as the way clinicians approach women with multiple miscarriages. An entire new class of compounds, the thrombopoietins, are available to treat individuals with immune thrombocytopenic purpura (ITP). The Coagulation Consult covers major topics of interest to hematologists who are asked to consult on individuals with coagulation related diseases, and encompasses the field's most recent developments. This "case-directed" book describes state-of-the-art approaches to patients with bleeding and clotting disorders, as well as laboratory tests for coagulation. Chapters include different vignettes, focus on typical clinical consult questions, and lay out specific types of treatment. Practicing clinicians being confronted with coagulation consult students, residents, fellows and attending physicians will find this unique text an invaluable resource for some of the newer areas of coagulation science, therapy and pharmacology.
Haematology: Clinical Cases Uncovered by
With over 20 real patient cases and outcomes, this title in the Clinical Cases Uncovered series is designed to help students and junior doctors learn how to recognise and understand significant diseases in haematology. Each case covers the history taking, examination, investigations and management of a particular disease, with question and answer sections to tie in the underlying basic and clinical science and help build further knowledge and understanding. At the end of each case there is a review to consolidate learning with a self-assessment section containing MCQs, EMQs and SAQs. Including colour blood films, haematology slides and patient photos throughout to reinforce learning, understanding and investigative skills, Haematology: Clinical Cases Uncovered helps prepare for life on the wards. Haematology CCU is now available as a mobile app for iPad, iPhone and iPod touch. Download it for FREE http://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/haematology-clinical-cases/id425126264?mt=8 to access the basic science, recommendations on how to approach your patient, and the first clinical case. There are a further 22 cases available separately as in-app purchases.
eBooks
Atlas of Ileoscopy by
This atlas presents high-quality images of clinical cases of small bowel diseases, with a focus on the importance of terminal ileoscopy as the first step in detecting this group of rare pathologies. Among the conditions covered are celiac disease, inflammatory bowel disease, neoplasms, infections, and pediatric disease. The multidisciplinary approach to the presentation of clinical cases, with contributions from histology, radiology, capsule endoscopy, enteroscopy, and surgery, ensures that the atlas will provide an accurate learning course for beginners and also an effective update for specialists.​
Case Studies of Postoperative Complications after Digestive Surgery by
The proposal for this book is to offer a systematic description of the most frequent complications occurring in the three parts of the digestive tract: HPB, Upper GI and colorectal tracts. Every complication, from esophageal to the rectum, is described systematically through two or three practical cases as has been treated by actual surgical practices of authors serving as surgeon practitioners. Description of the case, presentation of indication for surgery, type of primary surgical intervention and complication is described textually but also and by means of clinical signs, laboratory tests, radiological studies (CT scans and schematic drawings) and other methods used for diagnosis and treatment. The reader will have access to a practical book in which every current complication can be easily recognized, along with relevant information as guide for an adequate treatment.
Challenging Cases in Pulmonology by
From acute respiratory diseases to chronic lung conditions, pulmonology is a vital area of clinical medicine. Due to a wide array of respiratory diseases, clinical presentation of pulmonary conditions can be complex and oftentimes challenging. In addition to recognizing common characteristics of lung diseases, identifying unusual clinical presentation of pulmonary conditions remains an important educational experience. This concise and easy-to-read title provides that experience in practical context, using a case-based system of learning where a unique case is presented and discussed and questions are provided to challenge the learner and reinforce the transmission of knowledge. Challenging Cases in Pulmonology is not an exhaustive review but rather focuses on common and important problems, with emphasis on evaluation and treatment. The book offers 16 chapters consisting of two or more cases followed by five to ten multiple choice questions. A valuable resource for pulmonologists, allergists, primary care physicians, internal medicine, fellows in allergy and pulmonology, and residents in training, this practical title will also be of interest to nurses, physician assistants, and medical students studying pulmonology. Challenging Cases in Pulmonology complements two previously published case-based titles edited by Dr. Mahmoudi: Challenging Cases in Allergy and Immunology (Humana Press, 2009) and Challenging Cases in Allergic and Immunologic Diseases of the Skin (Springer, 2010).
Endovascular Interventions by
Endovascular Interventions uses a case-based approach to present the current methodology used for the treatment of peripheral arterial and venous diseases. Utilizing a series of case studies, the book presents readers with a range of complexities and complications encountered in daily practice, along with tips and tricks for overcoming them. Chapters are organized to give a comprehensive look at conditions involved in endovascular interventions, including intracranial strokes, lower extremity artery disease, access-related pseudoaneurysm, complications of intra-aortic balloon pumps, aortic dissections, and septic arteritis. Endovascular Interventions: A Case-Based Approachis a practical guide and valuable resource for the practicing interventional cardiologist, interventional radiologist, vascular surgeon and cardiothoracic surgeon.
Handbook of Parathyroid Diseases by
The Handbook on Parathyroid Diseases presents a comprehensive and concise overview of our current knowledge in the area of parathyroid function, hormone regulation and disease states. The Handbook educates the reader using a case-based approach presenting current evidence in the field. The material is presented in an easy to read and understandable language and uses a plethora of tables and text boxes where possible. Complex concepts are conveyed in simple and clear language. Leading international experts contribute to this state of the art book providing a true depth of knowledge and practicality.
Hepatology and Transplant Hepatology: A Case Based Approach by
Hepatology and Transplant Hepatology: A Case Based Approach presents a collection of interesting cases in liver disease seen at a very busy and large liver transplant center in the United States. These cases cover the full range of pathology that an internist or gastroenterologist may expect to see in a lifetime of taking care of patients with acute or chronic liver disease, before or after liver transplant. Each case is presented as you would see it in a clinical situation where a patient presents a complaint or something is noted on exam or blood work. The question/answer format will help one through the problem of making a diagnosis or in considering a differential diagnosis and also point to the best way to manage each condition. The volume is divided into pre-transplant and post-transplant hepatology. Each case is 3 pages with the first page presenting the case and pertinent lab data and 3-4 questions (i.e. differential diagnosis, tests to order, x-rays/CT required).The second page illustrates the tests, scans, biopsies and asks for the pertinent findings. The third page provides the diagnosis and what may have been expected with other diagnoses. Here is a single source dealing with questions specific for patients with complications of advanced liver disease and also clinical situations seen in transplant hepatology.Hepatology and Transplant Hepatology: A Case Based Approach will have great appeal to anyone in hepatology/transplant hepatology and also to residents/fellows and internists interested in gastroenterology.
eBooks
Genetic Neuromuscular Disorders by
This book describes the genetic diagnostic entities of neuromuscular disorders. Each neuromuscular syndrome is presented clinically as a case study, accompanied by text reviewing different molecular defects, DNA research and differential diagnosis. nbsp; This collection of neuromuscular disorders features the different clinical phenotypes related to each genotype and are representative of the whole spectrum of a genetic muscle disorder, helping the clinician and neuromuscular physician to make a diagnosis. Key points for each genetic disease are identified to suggest treatment, when available, or the main clinical exams useful in follow-up of patients. nbsp; Genetic Neuromuscular Disorders: A Case-Based Approach is aimed at neuromuscular physicians and neurology residents.
Neurosurgery Case Review by
An ideal resource for board exam preparation, this review distills the essentials of neurosurgery in a user-friendly question and answer format. Divided into three OC "
Practical Ethics in Clinical Neurology by
Practical Ethics in Clinical Neurology: A Case-Based Learning Approach Practical Ethics in Clinical Neurology (PECN) is a case-based ethics textbook designed for readers who want a concise, accessible book to help them assess and resolve ethical challenges in everyday practice. With chapter topics and case content that reflect commonly encountered issues in adult and pediatric neurology, PECN meets the needs of students, residents, fellows, and practicing neurologists. With easy, web-based access to key guidance documents from the American Academy of Neurology, and references to important sections in Dr. James L. Bernat,,s Ethical Issues in Neurology, 3rd ed. (the most highly respected ethics textbook in neurology), PECN helps readers focus on the essential ethical and professional considerations in each case. Directors of medical student clerkships and residency programs in neurology will find that PECN helps them meet the learning objectives of the AAMC, ACGME, and ABPN. Look inside and explore' , Case-based approach places key ethical principles into a practical, real-world context to aid in decision-making. , An outstanding array of learning features includes the following sections: Learning Objectives, Clinical Vignettes, Questions to guide self-study and group discussions, Key Points, Key Words, Suggestions for Further Reading, and more. , Clinical pragmatism model helps readers analyze ethical issues in a clinical context.
Practical Neurology Visual Review by
Now in a fully revised and updated Second Edition, Practical Neurology Visual Review previously known as (Practical Neurology DVD Review) continues to be a powerful educational tool for mastering the clinical practice of neurologic diagnosis. The book opens new venues for teaching and learning the essentials of neurology by utilizing an interactive patient-based audiovisual electronic format. Discover todays most practical guide to neurologic diagnosis. -Case-based format includes 131 real-world scenarios to sharpen readers critical thinking and diagnostic skills. -Over 370 multiple-choice questions reinforce essential knowledge. -Over 130 online video clips address common and unusual neurologic presentations. -Principles of bedside neurology include description and localization of findings, differential diagnosis, evaluation, management, and counseling. NEW to the Second Edition -Full-color design facilitates visual learning. -50 new cases from two institutions provide new diagnostic challenges. -Additional diagnostic images highlight critical pathologic features. -QR codes located in the print book allow easy access to videos via any smartphone or tablet QR reader -Companion website features digital interactive case presentations -Presentations by expert instructors ensure clear and accurate descriptions of neurologic conditions, their signs, and symptoms.
eBooks
The Difficult Case in Head and Neck Cancer Surgery by
Authoritative and lavishly illustrated, this book is a valuable compendium of surgical techniques for the most complex oncologic problems in the head and neck patient. It distills the author's decades of experience in the surgical management of cases in which the excision of complex lesions is difficult and reconstruction is problematic. In the first half of the book, each chapter addresses cancer in a different region of the head and neck. Each chapter provides discussion of etiology, pathology, pathophysiology, and surgical anatomy, providing the necessary background for diagnostic evaluation, surgical treatment as well as nonsurgical treatment, including chemotherapy and radiation. Additional chapters cover such important topics as care for the pediatric patient, radiotherapy, restoration secondary to tumor ablation, and speech, voice, and swallowing implications following ablative procedures. Features: Detailed descriptions that guide the clinician through each surgical procedure Comprehensive discussion of management strategies that provides clinicians with a solid understanding of the available treatments and the possibilities and limitations of each Nearly 1,000 high-quality illustrations, photographs, and radiographic images that demonstrate pathologic and surgical concepts in precise detail Coverage of the latest techniques in skull base surgery and laryngeal surgery Valuable discussion of nursing care, nutrition, and speech therapy An essential resource for optimizing the care of patients with advanced cancer, this book is ideal for clinicians and residents in otolaryngology-head and neck surgery, facial plastic and reconstructive surgery, oral and maxillofacial surgery, oncology, and general surgery.
FDG PET/CT in Clinical Oncology: Case Based Approach with Teaching Points by
FDG PET/CT has rapidly emerged as an invaluable combined imaging modality that provides both anatomic and functional information. This book, comprising a collection of images from oncology cases, is organized according to the role of FDG PET/CT in the evaluation and management of oncology patients, and only secondarily by organ or tumor entity. In this way, it reflects the issues that clinicians actually address, namely: identification of an unknown or unsuspected primary; determination of the extent of disease; evaluation of response to therapy; and surveillance after response, i.e., detection of recurrent disease. In total, 100 cases involving different primary tumors are presented to illustrate findings in these different circumstances. FDG PET/CT in Clinical Oncology will be of great value to all newcomers to this field, whether medical students, radiology, nuclear medicine, or oncology fellows, or practicing physicians.
Melanocytic Lesions by
Melanocytic Lesions: A Case Based Approach provides a concise yet comprehensive guidelinenbsp;on how to diagnose common as well as problematic and challenging melanocytic lesions. In the first 11 chapters, each entitynbsp;is illustrated by an actual case; followed by discussion of how the diagnosis is reached, of the histologic differential diagnoses and of diagnostic pitfalls and ends with bulleted teaching points.nbsp;Pertinent and up to date referencesnbsp;are included at the end of each chapter. The latter chaptersnbsp;cover current microstaging and classification of melanoma, ancillary techniques including immunohistochemistry as well as available molecular assays and molecular targeted therapy. All figures and glass slides of the discussed cases are hosted online for easy viewing andnbsp;access. Melanocytic Lesions: A Case Based Approach will serves as a useful resource for pathologists, dermatologists and researchers dealing with melanocytic lesions.
eBooks
The Lasik Handbook by
From surgical planning and patient prep, to the latest tools and techniques, The LASIK Handbook: A Case-Based Approach uses real-world examples and straightforward language to help readers optimize results and avoid potential pitfalls. The text is patient-focused rather than technology-focused and leads the refractive surgeon through a series of real life cases in a progression from the more straight-forward to the increasingly complex with useful take home points in each surgical planning, technique and management of complications are reviewed in a case-based contemporary approach relevant no matter your level of experience. This hands-on resource provides' , Practical, case-based format uses real-world examples to promote safe, effective practice, relevant to all refractive surgeons. , Convenient indexes group cases by clinical findings, making it easy to locate those cases relevant to your prospective patient , Emphasis on patient-centered care focuses on surgical planning, preparation, and approach, including the prevention and management of complications. , Coverage of a wide range of equipment familiarizes readers with the latest tools and technologies. , Expert perspectives identify the pros and cons of the equipment used in LASIK procedures. , ...Take Home Pointsf highlight valuable information for quick reference. 70-question self-assessment test reinforces understanding. NEW to the Second Edition' , Fully updated content describes the fundamentals of LASIK treatment as well as the latest tools, techniques, and tips. , 105 cases (including 30 new cases) cover a wide array of actual clinical experience. , 21 instructional videos demonstrate technique and management available in a companion website , 70 self-assessment questions with detailed discussions allow you to test your knowledge and an interactive online question bank provides opportunities to enhance critical thinking and assess learning. , New chapters on the latest technologies address corneal topography, OCT, femtosecond and excimer lasers and collagen cross-linking written by experts. , New chapters on international perspectives covers LASIK as performed around the world. , New chapter on lens implant power selection after LASIK surgery.
Learning Strabismus Surgery by
Ideal for both the student seeking a firmer understanding of strabismus surgery and the experienced surgeon looking to improve clinical decision-making, this practical resource uses a case-based approach to help readers conceptualize, plan, and perform complex strabismus procedures at every difficulty level. With this handy reference, you ll examine complex cases each with a unique set of clinical findings then analyze the information, choose a surgical approach, and make a detailed plan for the procedure, all the while being guided by the steady hands of experienced strabismus surgeons. At the end of each case you,,ll review the findings and think about what worked + and what could have been done better. Then you,,ll take a short-answer quiz to lock in the key concepts. Look inside and discover Fifty-two real-world cases help you apply surgical concepts and optimize patient outcomes Labeled difficulty levels from basic to expert help you find the right complexity for focused review , Comprehensive cross-referencing lets you focus on the cases you need to review when you need them , Expert perspectives help you assess complex cases, weigh your options, and refine clinical choices , Extensive video library brings you into the operating room to watch the experts operate , Review questions improve recall and make it easy to prepare for certification examinations , Reader-friendly format condenses vital surgical information into one handy reference
Books
Clinical Cases in Glaucoma: An Evidence-Based Approach by
1. Ocular hypertension
2. Glaucoma suspect
3. Primary open-angle glaucoma
4. Medical therapy: monotherapy, fixed combinations, side effects and quality of life implications
5. Laser trabeculoplasty
Angle-closure glaucoma
7A. Trabeculectomy versus tube
7B. Choice of surgery: nonpenetrating deep sclerectomy
7C. Transscleral cyclophotocoagulation
7D. Endocyclophotocoagulation
8. Complications after trabeculectomy
9. Tube complications
10. Complications of nonpenetrating deep sclerectomy
11. Complications of newer surgeries
12A. Glaucoma in Children
12B. Postrefractive surgery glaucoma
12C. Glaucoma after vitreoretinal surgery
12D. Neovascular glaucoma
12E. Cataract and glaucoma
12F. Compliance
13. Informed consents
14A. How to overcome imaging artifacts and prevent misinterpretation of imaging results
14B. Sources of errors while interpreting perimetry
14C. Sources of errors while perfoming and interpreting tonometry
15A. Clinical trials in glaucoma
15B. Basics of a trial design for glaucoma
Index.
eBooks
Palliative Care: A Case-Based Guide by
A clinical case-based handbook has a role in general clinicians' practice of caring for patients with serious or life-limiting illness. The explosion of the field of Hospice and Palliative Medicine impacts all physicians and healthcare providers. Fellowship trained s- cialists graduate in greater numbers annually. These and more seasoned specialists are now certified by the American Board of Medical Specialties as subspecialists. Research in this field is expanding in scope and quantity, and peer reviewed journals devoted to this work are multiplying. Moreover, peer reviewed journals in primary care and other subspecialties of medicine regularly include papers that focus on end-of-life care, quality of life issues, and symptom management. Overall then, access to clinical information necessary to care for patients with life-limiting illness is not only essential, but also increasingly available. This case-based clinical book aims to help with the actual practice of caring for patients with life-limiting illness. Numerous texts and journals exist to provide the data to inform care, yet there remains a need to find practical points and information about the practical application of the principles of palliative care. Thus, we hope that the cases, key points, and practical tips will help health care providers who are not experts already in palliative care in the care of patients with serious illness and challenging problems. Some chapters follow one patient through the course of an illness to highlight the applicability of palliative care throughout the disease process.
Palliative Medicine: A Case-Based Manual (3rd Edition) by
Using a series of cases to illustrate salient points this manual matches the cases with curricular objectives effectively conveying to the student understanding of palliative medicine.
eBooks
Radiology Illustrated: Pediatric Radiology by
This case-based atlas presents images depicting the findings typically observed when imaging a variety of common and uncommon diseases in the pediatric age group. The cases are organized according to anatomic region, covering disorders of the brain, spinal cord, head and neck, chest, cardiovascular system, gastrointestinal system, genitourinary system, and musculoskeletal system. Cases are presented in a form resembling teaching files, and the images are accompanied by concise informative text. The goal is to provide a diagnostic reference suitable for use in daily routine by both practicing radiologists and radiology residents or fellows. The atlas will also serve as a teaching aide and a study resource, and will offer pediatricians and surgeons guidance on the clinical applications of pediatric imaging.
Books
100 Cases in Paediatrics, Second Edition by
The new edition of this best-selling title from the popular 100 cases series explores common paediatric scenarios that will be encountered by the medical student and junior doctor during practical training on the ward, in the emergency department, in outpatient clinics and in the community, and which are likely to feature in qualifying examinations. The book covers a comprehensive range of presentations from cough to constipation, organized by sub-specialty area for ease of reference. Comprehensive answers highlight key take home points from each case and provide practical advice on how to deal with the challenges that occur when practising paediatric medicine at all levels.
Pediatric Otolaryngology by
This book is designed to educate the primary care physician on the diagnosis of common otolaryngology disorders in the paediatric patient. Included are how to manage minor disorders and when to refer patients to a specialist. This is a publication of the AAP Section on Otolaryngology and is written and edited exclusively by its members to ensure adherence to accepted practices.
eBooks
DSM-5® Clinical Cases by
DSM-5® Clinical Cases presents patient cases that exemplify the mental disorders categorized in the newly released DSM-5®, bringing DSM-5® alive for teachers and students of psychiatry, psychology, social work, nursing, and related mental health and healthcare fields. Cases are cross-referenced with DSM-5® and help the reader understand diagnostic concepts, including symptoms, severity, comorbidities, age of onset and development, dimensionality across disorders, and gender and cultural implications. Every feature in the book helps to bridge the distance between the formal classification and the real-life presentation of patients: * All cases are original and previously unpublished, making for fresh, compelling reading for both experienced clinicians and those new to diagnostic classification. Case authors were selected for their expertise in the disorder described in the case. For ease in identifying specific cases, case titles are clinically relevant, based on the primary complaint, and identify the DSM-5® diagnosis described.* Each case adheres to a consistent format developed by the editors to fully illuminate the disorder being profiled. Features may include history of present illness, family psychiatric history, medical history, mental status exam results, DSM-5® diagnostic features, lab and physical findings, and a summary.* A brief discussion follows each case, analyzing the clinical presentation, highlighting key points, and exploring issues of comorbidity that may complicate both the diagnosis and subsequent treatment. This approach is especially helpful since few cases in real-life are unambiguous.* Easy-to-use appendixes enable readers to locate cases by type of disorder, special interests, and DSM-5® diagnosis.* The book is designed to serve as a companion text in a variety of contexts -- from abnormal psychology courses to medical school and residency training programs. In addition, those studying for specialty examinations will find reviewing the cases very useful. Fascinating, practical, and instructive, DSM-5® Clinical Cases succeeds in bringing the DSM-5® to the examining room.
Geriatric Psychiatry Review and Exam Preparation Guide: A Case-Based Approach by
"Geriatric psychiatry is a relatively young discipline within the field of psychiatry in North America. And with an aging population, developing a workforce that is equipped to meet the mental health needs of older adults is an urgent priority. Geriatric Psychiatry Review and Exam Preparation Guide offers geriatric psychiatrists, general psychiatrists, and other healthcare workers a detailed and up-to-date reference that can be used to prepare for ward rounds, in case discussions, in educational sessions with patients and families, or for exam preparation. Experts from across Canada have contributed chapters on dementia; mood, anxiety, and other disorders; and other issues and topics unique to working with older adults and their caregivers. Each chapter includes a case scenario, concise point-form summaries of diagnostic and treatment approaches, up-to-date evidence syntheses, discussions of controversies, a series of practical and thought-provoking questions and answers, and recommended resources for further reading. The result is a succinct and advanced review of geriatric psychiatry that will help clinicians improve the psychiatric care of an aging population."
Reactive Attachment Disorder: A Case-Based Approach by
A child's close bond with mother, father, or guardian usually provides a foundation for trust in all future attachments. Children deprived of early and healthy dependency--who do not form normal attachment with their caregivers--may later suffer from Reactive Attachment Disorder (RAD). This childhood disorder is characterized by a general failure in social relationships resulting from pathogenic care. Although first included in the third edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM-III) in 1980, RAD is one of the more uncommon and understudied forms of psychopathology. Reactive Attachment Disorder: A Case-Based Approach adds to a now growing research base, providing scholars and clinicians with a well-rounded analysis of RAD and suggested treatments. The case-based approach used in this Brief follows the representative case of "Jorge," presented as unfolding over time and structured to illustrate challenges of diagnosis, to show examples of co-morbidity, and to provoke reflection on what questions may arise during treatment. Readers are asked to appraise the overlap with other clinical syndromes, the forms of psychotherapy which may apply, and the potential role of psychiatric medications as part of a comprehensive treatment plan.
Books
100 Cases in Psychiatry, Second Edition by
The new edition of this best-selling title from the popular 100 cases series explores common psychiatric and mental health scenarios that will be encountered by the medical student and junior doctor during practical training on the ward, in the emergency department, in outpatient clinics and in the community, and which are likely to feature in qualifying examinations. The book covers a comprehensive range of presentations from hallucinations to self-harm, organized by sub-specialty area for ease of reference. Comprehensive answers highlight key take home points from each case and provide practical advice on how to deal with the challenges that occur when practising psychiatry at all levels.
Child and Adolescent Psychopathology by
Child and Adolescent Psychopathology: A Casebook provides 25 real-life cases to give students a deeper understanding of a wide range of disorders within the context of the DSM-5. As they explore complex cases, students learn to integrate theory into research-based assessments and interventions. Each case provides opportunities to practice clinical skills in the assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of childhood disorders from a number of theoretical perspectives and at various levels of interest and expertise. Reflecting the latest developments in the field, the Fourth Edition now includes a new case study on social phobia/social anxiety disorder, additional post-case questions, and an expanded introductory chapter discussing trends in case formulation.
Co-Occurring Mental Illness and Substance Use Disorders by
Co-occurring Mental Illness and Substance Use Disorders: A Guide to Diagnosis and Treatment provides a clinically detailed, evidence-based, and exhaustive examination of a topic rarely plumbed in psychiatry texts, despite the fact that co-occurring mental illness and substance use disorders are common. The authors argue for a more holistic and integrated approach, calling for clinicians to tactfully but persistently evaluate patients for a broad range of co-occurring disorders before determining appropriate treatment. Focusing on a substance use disorder in isolation, without determining whether another psychiatric disorder is co-occurring, can doom treatment efforts, and the reverse also is true. To help clinicians keep the big picture in mind, the book is organized around 18 cases, each of which addresses a particular diagnostic skill (e.g., assessment), group of disorders commonly comorbid with substance use disorders (e.g., PTSD, eating disorders), specific treatment (e.g., pharmacological interventions), or special population (e.g., adolescents). This case-based approach makes it easy for readers to understand strategies and master transferable techniques when dealing with their own patients. * Because the initial face-to-face sessions are especially important with this patient population, the book includes chapters on the diagnostic assessment and the initial interview, as well as offering interviewing tips throughout to help the clinician develop the necessary care and skill in this arena. Also included is a chapter on integrating motivational interviewing into the treatment.* Each of the 18 cases stands alone, allowing the reader flexibility in using the text. For example, the 18 cases and discussions can be read sequentially, or as needed, depending on the reader's special interest or current need. * The book also features chapters on how to effectively work with patients whose disorders might be affecting other members of a patient's family, since the likelihood of a successful outcome is enhanced if an integrated treatment plan is developed for their co-occurring disorders.* The questions that accompany each chapter can be used as an organizational tool prior to reading or to test knowledge and comprehension afterward.* The text is completely up-to date and provides DSM-5 diagnostic information essential to each case. Co-occurring Mental Illness and Substance Use Disorders: A Guide to Diagnosis and Treatment offers a straightforward approach to people with complicated presentations, offering mental health clinicians the skills they require to effectively assess, diagnose, and treat these patients and their families.
eBooks
Clinical Scenarios in Surgery by
Clinical Scenarios in Surgery: Decision Making and Operative Technique presents 125 cases in all areas of general surgery: GI, breast, hepatobiliary, colorectal, cardiothoracic, endocrine, vascular, trauma, pediatric, critical care, and transplant. Each full-color case begins with a patient presentation and proceeds through differential diagnosis, diagnosis and treatment, surgical procedures, postoperative management, and a case conclusion. Each case includes key technical steps, potential pitfalls, and take-home points.
Rhinoplasty: Cases and Techniques by
This is by far the best book on rhinoplasty I've ever encountered. It needs to be in the library of every rhinoplasty surgeon as well as any student wishing to learn how to perform rhinoplasty surgery. -- Melvin A. Shiffman, MD, Journal of Cosmetic Surgery & Medicine The most demanding and challenging of all aesthetic surgical procedures, rhinoplasty is made easily accessible in this practical, how-to book from the world's leading practitioners. Not only does Rhinoplasty: Cases and Techniques demonstrate a wide array of approaches, techniques, outcomes, and surgical pearls, tips, and nuances, but it also offers a unique cross-cataloguing feature that is especially helpful for referencing specific deformities and the procedures used to correct them. Special Features Virtually every nasal deformity is indexed and cross-referenced, so that you can quickly find the nasal type and procedure you are looking for--and learn how leading experts have tackled the same operative situation you are facing Contributions from 30 preeminent international surgeons place techniques from the masters at your fingertips, allowing you to learn a variety of surgical styles and approaches. Nearly 1,000 full-color intraoperative and before-and-after photographs and drawings help you visualize every concept Each of the 69 illustrated case studies contain detailed surgical analysis, plans, goals, operative sequences, and outcomes that will increase your knowledge of individual techniques and approaches A video component available FREE on the Thieme media center, and referenced to specific topics in the book, clearly and concisely demonstrates techniques for executing surgical plans, placing different types of sutures and grafts, and much more Important fundamentals on patient selection, preparation, techniques, postoperative care, complications, and sequelae are covered thoroughly, especially helpful for residents and new practitioners Rhinoplasty: Cases and Techniques offers examples, insights, and the expertise of the finest surgeons in the world as you plan your own procedures. It is mandatory reading for all facial plastic surgeons, plastic surgeons, otolaryngologists, residents, and fellows who are preparing, studying for, and performing safe, effective, and successful rhinoplasty.
Diagnostic Molecular Pathology in Practice: A Case Based Approach by
This entirely case-based book covers a broad cross-section of the practical issues frequently encountered in the day-to-day activities of a molecular genetic pathologist. The book is divided into four sections on the principal areas addressed in molecular genetic pathology (MGP): inherited diseases, hematopathology, solid tumors, and infectious diseases. The topics covered by the cases in each section include test selection, qualitative and quantitative laboratory techniques, test interpretation, prognostic and therapeutic considerations, ethical considerations, technical troubleshooting, and result reporting. This book will be ideal for trainees in MGP and clinical molecular genetics who require a practice-based preparation for board examinations. It will also be very useful for residents and fellows in medical specialties to which MGP is pertinent, and for practicing pathologists who want to learn more about the current practice of molecular diagnostics.
Orthopedic Traumatology by
Physicians are under increasing pressure to provide quality health care in the most cost-effective way possible. The escalating costs of orthopedic care are driving the need to base clinical decision making on evidence-based data that will help physicians provide optimal care to every patient. Evidence-based medicine is the future of orthopedic surgery. In a world where the quality of surgical outcomes will be increasingly measured, evidence-based data will heavily guide decision making in orthopedic trauma. Orthopedic Traumatology: An Evidence-Based Approach provides the reader with a focused and comprehensive review of the literature surrounding the management of the orthopedic trauma patient. The book centers around clinical scenarios with each chapter based on a specific case. Renowned orthopedic trauma surgeons from across the country serve as contributing authors, writing based on these scenarios and giving their expert opinions on management while using data as their guide. Each chapter describes and summarizes the data, but achieves this objective in a case-based format. Each case is brief, but includes relevant imaging. The case scenarios are heavily weighted toward treatment of more controversial injuries. As there is currently no book on the market that focuses solely on orthopedic trauma and evidence-based medicine, this book is sure to be a useful reference for residents and practicing physicians alike.
Otolaryngology Cases by
Designed to prepare otolaryngology residents and practitioners for the sort of cases they will see in daily practice, this comprehensive review provides readers with systematic, up-to-date coverage of every major ENT specialty, including otology and neurotology, the skull base, rhinology, laryngology, head and neck cancer, sleep disorders, pediatric otolaryngology, trauma, facial plastic and reconstructive surgery, and more. Each carefully selected case follows a consistent user-friendly format that guides the user through history, differential diagnosis, test interpretation, the definitive diagnosis, medical and surgical management, rehabilitation, and follow-up. The authors provide clearly articulated management algorithms and contemporary assessment strategies for each clinical scenario. Multiple-choice questions appear at the end of each chapter to enhance understanding of the case studies and optimize the learning experience. Features: 88 clinical cases direct from the experts at the University of Cincinnati, Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery Discussion of key ENT topics, such as otitis media, sudden sensorineural hearing loss, spasmodic dysphonia, the facial nerve, obstructive sleep apnea, and more More than 150 illustrations, including full-color intraoperative images and high-quality radiographs Consistent presentation throughout the book enhances ease-of-use 282 multiple-choice review questions that are ideal for self-assessment Extensive bibliography with references to the current literature Practical and concise, this must-have book is an indispensable tool for ENT residents and fellows. It also serves as a handy refresher for experienced physicians in otolaryngology-head and neck surgery, primary care, pediatrics, and internal medicine who are looking for an efficient way to hone their diagnostic and management skills. "It is not often that one can find a well-written, high-yield text with high-quality color images, for $89.9[9]." - Head & Neck "This publication is [a] great value. I cannot recall a better book passing through my hands as a Book Review Editor. I wish I still had it!" - Journal of Laryngology & Otology
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Oral Board Review: Interactive Case Studies by
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Oral Board Review is the first publication devoted to preparing for the ABPMR Part II certification examination. This interactive workbook contains 68 cases drawn from all major topic areas identified on the oral exam outline. The vignettes set up common physiatric problems, structured to walk you through the types of questions you will encounter and frame meaningful responses to real-life scenarios. Cases are formatted to simulate a discussion between an examiner and examinee, presenting a focused approach that directs the candidate to the most appropriate answers. Each case contains questions covering the five clinical skills measured on the oral boards: data acquisition, problem solving, patient management, systems-based practice, and interpersonal communication skills and professionalism. Using a question and response format that actively engages readers, the book is designed to foster a systematic approach to clinical questions that can be applied to any case so you can think on your feet, understand the goal of the prompts, and respond effectively--whether in an exam situation, or at the bedside. KEY FEATURESStructured to help build skills and confidence necessary for success on the PM&R oral board exam (Part II)Representative case scenarios cover all diagnostic categories; every case contains questions corresponding to the five clinical competencies measured on the examUnique interactive format with conversational question and answer vignettes for individual or group studyExpert authors from many of the leading national programsIncludes downloadable ebook for anytime access on mobile devices
eBooks
Medical Leadership and Management by
Leadership and management in the context of healthcare is about improving the quality of medical care delivered at all levels. Doctors frequently lead healthcare teams with responsibility for significant clinical resource which requires management and leadership skills regardless of specialty. A growing body of literature has also argued that medical leadership plays an integral part in the success and effectiveness of organisational change in the health sector. Being an effective medical leader requires a different set of skills from being a good clinician. It is therefore important that future medical graduates are supported and equipped with the high-level skills required for their role (e.g. leading and developing multidisciplinary teams, understanding organizational systems, processes and interdependencies, redesigning services and working collaboratively with a wide range of stakeholders). This growing interest across the globe in preparing medical graduates for the role of medical manager and leader requires a comprehensive approach to education and training which begins at an undergraduate level. As an undergraduate these skills are frequently neglected or not taught well. However, with the correct resources and using a case-based approach the undergraduate program can easily support the development of practical leadership and management skills. The case studies and supporting text will provide an overview of the fundamentals of leadership theory and practice relevant to medical students, junior doctors and specialty trainees. Using internationally recognized competency frameworks this book will support the acquisition of knowledge and skills relevant to medical management and leadership such as project management, intelligent leadership, presentation skills, audit, organizational decision making and engaging relevant stakeholders.
Patient Safety: A Case-Based Comprehensive Guide by
Despite the evolution and growing awareness of patient safety, many medical professionals are not a part of this important conversation.nbsp; Clinicians often believe they are too busy taking care of patients to adopt and implement patient safety initiatives and that acknowledging medical errors is an affront to their skills. Patient Safety provides clinicians with a better understanding of the prevalence, causes and solutions for medical errors; bringing best practice principles to the bedside.nbsp; Written by experts from a variety of backgrounds, each chapter features an analysis of clinical cases based on the Root Cause Analysis (RCA) methodology, along with case-based discussions on various patient safety topics.nbsp; The systems and processes outlined in the book are general and broadly applicable to institutions of all sizes and structures. The core ethic of medical professionals is to "do no harm".nbsp; Patient Safety is a comprehensive resource for physicians, nurses and students, as well as healthcare leaders and administrators for identifying, solving and preventing medical error.
Books
100 Cases in Clinical Medicine by
Making speedy and appropriate clinical decisions and then choosing the best course of action is an essential skill for doctors. Exploring initial medical assessment, 100 Cases in Clinical Medicine presents 100 scenarios commonly seen by medical students and junior doctors in the emergency or outpatient department, on the ward, or in the community setting. Each case begins with a succinct summary of the patient's history, examination, and initial investigation. The text includes photographs where relevant and questions on the diagnosis and management of each case. The answers provide a detailed discussion on each topic, with further illustration where appropriate. Most of the cases included are common problems but the book also includes more unusual cases to illustrate specific points and to emphasize that rare things do present. The first 20 cases are arranged by systems; the next 80 are in random order because symptoms such as breathlessness and pain may relate to many different clinical problems in various systems. These true-to-life cases will teach students and junior doctors to recognize important clinical symptoms and signs and to develop the diagnostic and management skills needed for the cases they will encounter on the job.
100 Diagnostic Dilemmas in Clinical Medicine by
100 Diagnostic Dilemmas in Clinical Medicinepresents 100 real-life scenarios seen in the hospital and community setting. A succinct summary of the patient's history, examination and any initial investigations is followed by a detailed consideration of the diagnosis and management of each case, in the short, medium and, where appropriate, long-term. Making speedy and appropriate clinical decisions, and choosing the best course of action to take as a result, is one of the most important and challenging parts of training to become a doctor. These true-to-life cases will teach students and junior doctors to recognize important medical conditions, and to develop their diagnostic and management skills.
Cases and Concepts: Basic Science Review. Step 1 by
Cases & Concepts Step 1: Basic Science Review helps medical students prepare for USMLE Step 1 by studying basic science topics combined with clinical data, learning both the "why" of a principle and how it is seen in practice. Working through 116 clinical cases in microbiology, immunology, pharmacology, biochemistry, genetics, embryology, behavioral science, neuroscience, and epidemiology, the reader gains experience analyzing cases, learns classic presentations of common diseases and syndromes, and integrates basic science concepts with clinical applications. Cases are followed by USMLE-style questions with answers and rationales. Thumbnail and Key Concept boxes highlight key facts. A companion website offers fully searchable text online.
Case Studies in Biomedical Ethics: Decision-Making, Principles, and Cases by
The most comprehensive and up-to-date collection of its kind, Case Studies in Biomedical Ethics: Decision-Making, Principles, and Cases, Second Edition, explores fundamental ethical questions arising from real situations faced by health professionals, patients, and others.Featuring a wide range of more than 100 case studies drawn from current events, court cases, and physicians' experiences, the book is divided into three parts. Part 1 presents a basic framework for ethical decision-making in healthcare, while Part 2 explains the relevant ethical principles:beneficence and nonmaleficence, justice, respect for autonomy, veracity, fidelity, and avoidance of killing. Parts 1 and 2 provide students with the background to analyze the ethical dilemmas presented in Part 3, which features cases on a broad spectrum of issues including abortion, mental health,experimentation on humans, the right to refuse treatment, and much more. The volume is enhanced by opening text boxes in each chapter that cross-reference relevant cases in other chapters, an appendix of important ethical codes, and a glossary of key terms.
Davidson's 100 Clinical Cases by
Davidson's 100 Clinical Cases was awarded First Prize in Medicine in the 2009 British Medical Association Medical Book Awards. This book reflects the real world in which doctors practise medicine. The selection of clinical problems guides the reader, step by step, through the correct path in the maze between the presenting complaint of a patient and the final diagnosis. The text emphasises the value of interpreting available clinical and investigative information in a logical way before considering a definitive diagnosis. The 100 cases are based on the 'presenting problems' of Davidson's Principles and Practice of Medicine. The book provides an international outlook reflecting the differences in the practice of medicine in the developing world and in low-resource settings, and addresses the epidemiological, economic and other reasons for many of these important differences. The cases are written by a team of senior doctors, from 12 countries, with considerable teaching experience. The book now includes 100 cases all closely linked to the 'presenting problems' sections of the latest 21st Edition of Davidson's Principles and Practice of Medicine. In this expanded new edition there are many new cases including aluminium phosphide poisoning; occupational lung disease; tremor; and drug interactions.
Professionalism in Medicine: A Case-Based Guide for Medical Students by
Learning medical professionalism is a challenging, evolving, and life-long endeavor. Professionalism in Medicine: A Case-Based Guide for Medical Students helps begin this process by engaging students and their teachers in reflection on cases that resonate with the experiences of life in medicine. Through the book's seventy-two cases, commentaries, videos, and literature-based reviews, students explore the many challenging areas of medical professionalism. Readers will appreciate the provocative professionalism dilemmas encountered by students from the pre-clinical years and clinical rotations and by physicians of various specialities. Each case is followed by two commentaries by writers who are involved in health care decisions related to that case, and who represent a wide variety of perspectives. Authors represent 46 medical schools and other institutions and include physicians, medical students, medical ethicists, lawyers, psychologists, nurses, social workers, pharmacists, health care administrators, and patient advocates.
MSK Examination Videos
Examination of the Upper Extremity
Examination of the Neck and Back
Demonstration of Pivot Shift (Knee Exam)
CLIPP - Computer-Assisted Learning in Pediatrics Program