Educational programming from a premiere source. Catch up on this year's Forest of Trees Festival -- online in this year of pandemic response:
One of the channels in CBC's curio.ca education portal, News in Review is "Canada's premier current event series for the classroom". (CBC website). Released monthly through the school year, each video includes in-depth coverage of 4 current news stories. Stories are thoughtfully chosen to connect to topics likely to be covered in Canadian high school curriculum. Teacher guides with helpful background context and lesson activities are indexed and available via open access at CBC News in Review.
NOTE: Teacher candidates: create a teacher account using the information for Queen's students.
On Core: Core Curriculum on Demand
OnCore is a Canadian video streaming collection that has been carefully curated for K-12 by the staff at Ontario video distributor McIntyre Media.
The CAMPUS edition of nfb.ca includes over 3,600 titles, educational playlists and teacher resources. Teacher account holders can access the personal playlist and chapter creation features.
If you want to create yourself a teacher account within the Queen's campus account you can initiate that on the Queen's access page. This teacher account will allow you to create your own playlists and to snip videos into chapters for your playlists. The features are helpful and easy to use. Teacher will love this!
"Outspoken. Outstanding." Go to the Docs for Schools -- fantastic resources.
If we don't already own the film you need just use the recommendation feature for us to consider a license.
Films on Demand includes both professional learning for teaching practices as well as videos on all high school subjects.
Producers include A&E, BBC, CNBC, HBO, History Education, National Geographic, and more. You just need your Queen's netID and password to access this comprehensive source of over 8,200 full length titles (also available in over 100,000 segments).
You can make your own personal account so you can create playlists for your lessons, using segments of videos if want to show just a short clip. This popular feature allows you to insert video viewing efficiently into your classroom.
Includes classics, new releases, documentaries, and more from major film producers, including Paramount Films, 20th Century Fox, and Miramax Films.
Audio Cine Films includes films from Walt Disney Pictures, Pixar Animation Studios, Cony Pictures Entertainment, Columbia Pictures, and more of the major film studios. The Fall 2023 brochure gives an overview of recent favourites.
CAN-Core Academic Video is a Canadian streaming video platform with over 6,000 titles in a wide range of subject areas, including a large collection of documentary and feature films by Indigenous filmmakers.
Global Environmental Justice Collection
This collection of 36 films from Docuseek explore human rights and environmental protection issues triggered by inequality, global development and climate change. The films were selected by faculty and are supported by teaching guides.