Note: For a comprehensive introduction to education research, use the Education Research Guide.
With over 2000 titles, Education Source is the world's largest collection of full-text education journals. It includes both professional titles of interest to teachers and scholarly research journals that report on studies in the field of educational research.
Use Education Source to gain access to top teacher journals, including Education Canada and Educational Leadership. Use your Queen's netID and password for access from off campus.
Tip: Use TI Title to force key words into the title of your results.
Google Scholar searches across disciplines and includes more than journal literature. Your results may include books, reports from academic institutional repositories and centres of research, dissertations,and materials from professional societies. Google Scholar results can be limited and sorted by date and Google search tips can also be applied.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs is a multi-disciplinary database that includes education literature. If you want to find out if a topic has been discussed in Canadian education journals this is your source to search.
The Faculty of Education prefers the American Psychology Association style for the formatting of scholarly papers including in-text and reference citations.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
Highlights include the following:
Full color throughout for the first time.The debut of a tabbed, spiral-bound edition, which joins the paperback, hardcover and e-book formats.An updated chapter with guidelines for writing without bias that address age, disability, gender, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, intersectionality and the use of “they” as singular.A new chapter about APA’s updated journal article reporting standards.New student-specific resources, including a sample paper and guidelines for formatting annotated bibliographies.Best practices for ethical writing, including discussions on avoiding plagiarism and updated guidance on navigating the publication process and disseminating research findings.100+ new reference examples, including coverage for websites, social media and classroom resources, plus more than 40 new sample tables and figures.The recommendation for only one space after punctuation at the end of a sentence.
“The APA Style team has deftly incorporated a decade’s worth of research and user feedback into the new edition,” said APA Executive Publisher Jasper Simons. “Writers in classrooms, libraries, offices and coffee shops around the globe will find useful, relevant information as they craft their work.”
Blog Perspectives (Can. Teachers' Federation)
Education Canada (Canadian Education Association)
ETFO Voice (Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario)
Education Forum (OSSTF)
Education Law Reporter
Elementary & Secondary edition
Education Today (Ontario - OPSBA)
Ceased in 2019. Back issues are open access.
TEACH Magazine (Canadian)
Canadian Teacher Magazine (Pacific Edge Publishing)
The Teaching Librarian (Ontario)
Open access back issues. Current year is available in the Ed Library in print.
Canadian School Libraries Journal (Can School Libraries)
Educational Leadership (ASCD)
For teacher journals focused on a curriculum subject see the Primary Junior and Intermediate Senior Guides.