The Queen's University Library offers access to many databases providing citations to journal articles, and, in many cases, the full text of articles dealing with authors and their works.
All of the following resources can be accessed from off-campus but you will need to enter your Queen's netid and password in order to use them.
Index to scholarly literature on world history from 1450 to present (excluding the U.S. and Canada)
Collection of articles from key periodicals (413 literature and language titles are indexed), excluding the most current 2-5 years of a title.
A collection of peer-reviewed electronic journals in the arts, humanities, etc. (including 187 literature journals).
Bibliography of British and Irish History
Covers history of the British Isles and the Brtish Empire from 55 B.C. to the present.
Keats Shelley Journal
Romanticism (one year delay)
Year's work in English Studies
Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as criticism and other materials related to literature.
Some will contain the full text of journals and those that don't usually provide links to the full text if it is available via other databases in our collection.
Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.
But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them. Articles in scholarly journals are peer-reviewed—they have gone through an anonymous formal vetting and editing process—whereas articles in magazines or newspapers are accepted at the discretion of a single editor.
For more information, consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholary from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference.