Romantic Literature

Burney Collection of 17th and 18th Century Newspapers
The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media.

British Periodicals
This unique digital archive provides the full text of almost 500 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Eighteenth Century Journals

Times Digital Archive (1765-1985)

Literature Online (LION)
See full-text transcriptions of works.  

English Poetry (2nd edition)

Early English Prose Fiction

Gentleman's Magazine

• Years 1731-1830 are available via Hathi Trust Digital Library

The Annual Register

• Years 1758-1778 are available via Hathi Trust Digital Library

Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society

• Years 1757-1775 (volumes 50-65) are available via JSTOR

Notes and Queries

• Years 1849-1869 (series 1-4) are available via the Internet Archive and Google Books. 1849-1850: series 1 volume 1, 1850: series 1 volume 2, 1851: series 1 volume 3, 1851: series 1 volume 4, 1852: series 1 volume 5, 1852: series 1 volume 6, 1853: series 1 volume 7, 1853: series 1 volume 8, 1854: series 1 volume 9, 1854: series 1 volume 10, 1855: series 1 volume 11, 1856: series 1 volume 12, 1856: General Index: Series 1, 1856: series 2 volume 1, 1856: series 2 volume 2, 1857: series 2 volume 3, 1857: series 2 volume 4, 1858: series 2 volume 5, 1858: series 2 volume 6, 1859: series 2 volume 7, 1859: series 2 volume 8, 1860: series 2 volume 9, 1860: series 2 volume 10, 1861: series 2 volume 11, 1861: series 2 volume 12, 1862: General Index: Series 2, 1862: series 3 volume 1, 1862: series 3 volume 2, 1863: series 3 volume 3, 1863: series 3 volume 4, 1864: series 3 volume 5, 1864: series 3 volume 6, 1865: series 3 volume 7, 1865: series 3 volume 8 (missing), 1866: series 3 volume 9, 1866: series 3 volume 10, 1867: series 3 volume 11, 1867: series 3 volume 12, 1868: General Index: Series 3, 1868: series 4 volume 1, 1868: series 4 volume 2, 1869: series 4 volume 3, 1869: series 4 volume 4 (has been removed at present)

The Builder

• Years 1843-1862 (volumes 1-20) are available via the Internet Archive. 1843: volume 1, 1844: volume 2, 1845: volume 3, 1846: volume 4, 1847: volume 5, 1848: volume 6, 1849: volume 7, 1850: volume 8, 1851: volume 9, 1852: volume 10, 1853: volume 11, 1854: volume 12, 1855: volume 13, 1856: volume 14, 1857: volume 15, 1858: volume 16, 1859: volume 17, 1860: volume 18, 1861: volume 19, 1862: volume 20

Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine

• Years 1843-1863 (volumes 53-94) are available via Hathi Trust Digital Library