Skip to Main Content

Indigenous Studies

Finding Indigenous News Sources

The following databases and collections include Indigenous news content such as newspapers. 

Alternative Press Index
Interdisciplinary index of over 300 periodicals, newspapers and magazines which report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database
Canadian magazines, scholarly journals, news and wire feeds and Canada focused articles spanning business, education, current affairs; also agriculture, economics, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and many more subject areas.

Ethnic NewsWatch
A resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. This includes community publications not found in any other database.

Independent Voices (Open Access)
An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Indigenous Peoples, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press, and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Current Indigenous Newspapers & Publications

Selected newspapers and other news publications local to Ontario.

Anishinabek News
Published by the Union of Ontario Indians.

The Métis Voyageur
The publication of the Métis Nation of Ontario. 

Muskrat Magazine
An online Indigenous arts, culture, and living magazine that honours the connection between humans and Indigenous traditional ecological knowledge by exhibiting original works and critical commentary.

Ontario Birchbark
Launched in 2002. A publication specifically designed to serve the Indigenous people of Ontario.

Turtle Island News
National weekly newspaper, published at the Grand River Territory of the Six Nations in southern Ontario.

Two Row Times
A free weekly news publication aimed at reaching the Ontario-wide Native market as well as Haudenosaunee communities in the United States.

Wawatay News
First published in 1974. The Wawatay News covers communities of northern Ontario.

National 

APTN News
Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN) is a Canadian television network that provides programming made by, for, and about Indigenous Peoples and issues.

CBC News Indigenous
CBC News site that deals with Indigenous issues including news stories, video and podcasts.

First Nations Drum
National newspaper (No longer publishing but archived content can be accessed).

Turtle Island News
National weekly newspaper, published at the Grand River Territory of the Six Nations in southern Ontario.

Windspeaker
Windspeaker, established in 1974, is Canada's most widely circulated Indigenous news publication. Owned and operated by the Aboriginal Multi-Media Society of Alberta (AMMSA), this national news outlet also publishes several regional newspapers, including Saskatchewan Sage, Ontario Birchbark, BC Raven's Eye and Alberta Sweetgrass.

 

Regional 

The Eastern Door
A community-based newspaper serving the community of Kahnawake, Quebec.

Eagle Feathers
A news source serving Saskatchewan's First Nation and Métis communities.

Ha-Shilth-Sa
First Nations Newspaper featuring  news from Nuu-chah-nulth peoples in British Columbia. 

IndigiNews
Created in partnership through a partnership between Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN) and The Discourse, IndigiNews currently covers the Okanagan Valley and Vancouver Island.

Ku'ku'kwes News
Independent news website that covers Atlantic Canada.

Mi'kmaq Maliseet Nations News
A First Nation owned, community focused monthly newspaper 

Nunatsiaq News
Weekly newspaper that serves Nunavut and the Nunavik region of Quebec. Articles are published in English, French, Inuktitut or Inuinnaqtun

Nunavut News North
NNSL Media is the umbrella of Northern News Services Limited’s seven weekly newspapers, two websites and an array of social media channels across the Northwest Territories and Nunavut. Newspapers include the News/North and Yellowknifer.

Raven's Eye (AMMSA)
A news publication specifically designed for the Indigenous people of British Columbia and Yukon.

United States

Indian Country Today (ICT)
ICT has grown into the largest news organization serving Native American communities

The Circle
Dedicated to presenting news from a Native American perspective, while granting an equal opportunity to community voices. Monthly news.

National Native News
a headline news service that provides a Native perspective. NNN is distributed by Native Voice One (NV1) and can be heard on radio stations across the US and Canada.

Visit University of California, Berkley Library's "Native American Studies: Media (Blogs, Podcasts, News)" research guide for more Indigenous news sources from the United States.

Related Organizations

The Native American Journalists Association (NAJA)
NAJA serves and empowers Indigenous journalists through programs and actions designed to enrich journalism and promote Indigenous people and cultures.

News Podcasts & Radio

Select Indigenous news podcasts in Canada:

Media Indigena: Indigenous current affairs
A weekly roundtable about Indigenous issues and events in Canada and beyond. Hosted by Rick Harp.

Espaces Autochtones (in French)
From Radio-Canada, provides coverage of Indigenous news, including topical issues, accomplishments and the history of different communities