"A Different Paradigm in Music Education is a "let's consider some possibilities" book. Instead of a music methods book, it is a look at where the music education profession is and how music teachers might improve what it is we do. It is about change. It is about questioning the current music education paradigm, especially regarding its exclusive role as the only model. The intent is to help pre-service and in-service music educators consider new modes of pedagogical thought that will allow us to broaden our reach in schools and better help students develop as creative musicians across their lifespan. The book includes an overview of several opportunities and course examples that would make music education more relevant and meaningful, especially for students that are not interested in our traditional performance offerings. The author wishes to stimulate discussions, with the goal for the music education profession to grow and mature." publisher
"World Music Pedagogy, Volume III: Secondary School Innovations provides a rationale and a resource for the implementation of World Music Pedagogy in middle and high school music classes, grades 7-12 (ages 13-18). Such classes include secondary general music, piano, guitar, songwriting, composition/improvisation, popular music, world music, music technology, music production, music history, and music theory courses. This book is not a depository of ready-made lesson plans but rather a tool to help middle and high school teachers to think globally in the music classroom. Strategies and techniques of World Music Pedagogy are promoted by discussions of a multicultural music education, descriptive vignettes of realistic teaching environments, conversations with culture-bearers/pedagogues, and prompts for self-reflection. This volume approaches important issues of multicultural education and social justice that are often neglected in music education texts--proving to be a valuable resource for both nascent music educators and veteran practitioners alike." publisher
World Music Pedagogy, Volume IV: Instrumental Music Education provides the perspectives and resources to help music educators craft world-inclusive instrumental music programs in their teaching practices. Given that school instrumental music programs--concert bands, symphony orchestras, and related ensembles--have borne musical traditions that broadly reflect Western art music and military bands, instructors are often educated within the European conservatory framework. Yet a culturally diverse and inclusive music pedagogy can enrich, expand, and transform these instrumental music programs to great effect. Drawing from years of experience as practicing music educators and band and orchestra leaders, the authors present a vision characterized by both real-world applicability and a great depth of perspective. Lesson plans, rehearsal strategies, and vignettes from practicing teachers constitute valuable resources. With carefully tuned ears to intellectual currents throughout the broader music education community, World Music Pedagogy, Volume IV provides readers with practical approaches and strategies for creating world-inclusive instrumental music programs.
"World Music Pedagogy, Volume V: Choral Music Education explores specific applications of the World Music Pedagogy process to choral music education in elementary, middle, and high school contexts, as well as within community settings. The text provides clear and accessible information to help choral music educators select, rehearse, and perform a diverse global repertoire. It also guides directors in creating a rich cultural context for learners, emphasizing listening, moving, and playing activities as meaningful music-making experiences. Commentary on quality, commercially available world music repertoire bridges the gap between the philosophy of World Music Pedagogy and the realities of the performance-based choral classroom. All chapters open with a series of vignettes that illuminate the variety of possibilities within multiple K-12 contexts, providing the reader with a sense of how the ideas presented might look "on the ground." Ready-to-integrate activities serve as concrete and pedagogically sound examples to guide directors as they develop their own instructional materials according to the needs of their choir. Content features choral and vocal music-making traditions from South and West Africa; Latin America; Southeast, East, and South Asia; the Pacific Islands; Australia; New Zealand; Scandinavia; and the Baltics." publisher
"World Music Pedagogy, Volume VI: School-Community Intersections provides students with a resource for delving into the meaning of "world music" across a broad array of community contexts and develops the multiple meanings of community relative to teaching and learning music of global and local cultures. It clarifies the critical need for teachers to work in tandem with community musicians and artists in order to bridge the unnecessary gulf that often separates school music from the music of the world beyond school and to consider the potential for genuine collaborations across this gulf. The five-layered features of World Music Pedagogy are specifically addressed in various school-community intersections, with attention to the collaboration of teachers with local community artist-musicians and with community musicians-at-a-distance who are available virtually. The authors acknowledge the multiple routes teachers are taking to enable and encourage music learning in community contexts, such as their work in after-school academies, museums and libraries, eldercare centers, places of worship, parks and recreation centers, and other venues in which adults and children gather to learn music, make music, and become convivial through music This volume suggests that the world's musical cultures may be found locally, can be tapped virtually, and are important in considerations of music teaching and learning in schools and community contexts. Authors describe working artists and teachers, scenarios, vignettes, and teaching and learning experiences that happen in communities and that embrace the role of community musicians in schools, all of which will be presented with supporting theoretical frameworks." publisher
Growing Musicians: Teaching Music in Middle School and Beyond focuses on teaching adolescents within the context of a music classroom, regardless of content area (orchestra, band, choir, or general music). It provides a look at the importance of music courses in the lives of adolescents as they navigate the path between being a child and an adult. As every music student is completely unique, there is no one-size-fits-all prescriptive way of working with this age group. Rather, music educators must approach adolescents with high musical standards and aspirations to learn and achieve within music; a willingness to honor the individuality of each adolescent musician; a sense of structure, but an ability to be flexible; a desire to foster and promote a safe classroom environment where students feel empowered to be themselves and speak openly about what they think and believe; an understanding that music classes are not only safe places where students learn how to become better musicians but also better people through musical experiences focused on humanity and empathy; and a dose of humor, or at least the ability to acknowledge that adolescents are extremely funny whether or not they realize it. In addition, this book encourages pre-service and practicing music educators to mindfully examine and better understand their own teaching practices.
Covering the fundamentals of teaching instrumental music to secondary-school students, this indispensable resource examines the history and evolution of music education in Canada, along with changing currents in the philosophical and psychological approaches to curriculum design, student instruction, and classroom management.
While program building is an essential, time-consuming part of every music teacher's job, students are rarely prepared for it. Ryan covers issues important to student teachers, new teachers, teachers changing schools, and teachers looking to rejuvenate their existing programs.