Skip to main content

Legal Research Manual

This edition of Legal Research Manual builds on many previous editions. While the manual is designed principally for use with the first year legal research classes, upper year law students will also find it a useful reference.

Digests and Encyclopedias

Halsbury's Laws of England (5th ed.)

Halsbury's Laws of England is a comprehensive encyclopedia covering the law of England and Wales. Arranged alphabetically by broad topic in close to 100 main volumes, it provides an authoritative statement of the law by experts. It is available through the library's subscription to Lexis Advance Quicklaw Plus.

 

The Digest: Annotated British, Commonwealth, and European Cases

The Digest provides, in digested form, the whole case law of England and Wales, together with a considerable body of cases from the courts of Scotland, Ireland, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and other countries of the Commonwealth. Cases dealing with the law of the European Communities are also included. The case digests are printed with annotations listing the subsequent cases in which judicial opinions have been expressed in the English courts. The Digest contains summaries of hundreds of thousands of cases drawn from over a thousand different series of law reports.

Call number: English Legislative Materials. Please note it is only updated to 2018.

 

Stroud's Judicial Dictionary of Words and Phrases (7th ed) (2006)

This includes definitions from English, Scottish and Commonwealth sources. Judicial interpretations of words and phrases used in statutes which have been repealed or amended have been retained. Stroud's is very selective in its references to statutory definitions.   This dictionary is in the Law Library's Reference Section.

Call number: KD313 .G74 2006 Reference