Research Guides: Life Sciences and Biochemistry: Databases

Tip Sheets

Databases

Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) - Unlimited Collection
*NEW*
AccessScience
AccessScience is an authoritative online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines.

An award-winning gateway to scientific knowledge, it offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for teachers.
BIOSIS Previews

Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.

Date Coverage: 1926- present

BIOSIS Previews combines the content of both Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings), thus providing comprehensive coverage of nearly 5,500 life science journals as well as 1,500 items from international meetings, review articles, books, book chapters, patents, and software reviews.

Subject coverage: All areas of life science, including such topics as: agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology, immunology, microbiology, molecular genetics, neuroscience, pharmacology, public health, toxicology, zoology.

Because Queen's University Library subscribes to both BIOSIS Previews and Web of ScienceÂ®, a link in a full record from BIOSIS will take you to the corresponding record in ISI Web of Science.

Further information: Available on the vendor's website.
EMBASE
Embase (Excerpta Medica Database) is a biomedical and pharmacological database produced by Elsevier B.V., containing more than 45 million records from over 8,500 journals published world-wide. It contains bibliographic records with citations, abstracts, and indexing derived from articles in peer reviewed journals, articles in preprint servers medRxiv and bioRxiv, and abstracts and papers from over 15,000 conferences. Embase has especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research, pharmacology and toxicology.

Date Coverage: 1947 - present
MEDLINE
Ovid MEDLINE database contains more than 38 million references to biomedical and life sciences literature. The primary component of Ovid MEDLINE is MEDLINE, which is produced by the National Library of Medicine in the U.S. and contains more than 31 million references from over 5,200 scholarly journals published around the world. In addition to MEDLINE content, Ovid MEDLINE includes citations that are being processed for MEDLINE, citations that are out-of-scope from MEDLINE journals, "ahead of print" citations that precede the article's final publication in a MEDLINE journal, and more.

The same content in Ovid MEDLINE can also be searched in PubMed.

Bracken Library Database Highlight: Ovid MEDLINE

Date Coverage: 1946 to Present
PubMed

PubMed is a free literature database that contains more than 38 million references to biomedical and life sciences literature. The primary component of PubMed is MEDLINE, which is produced by the National Library of Medicine in the U.S. and contains more than 31 million references from over 5,200 scholarly journals published around the world. In addition to MEDLINE content, PubMed includes citations that are being processed for MEDLINE, citations that are out-of-scope from MEDLINE journals, "ahead of print" citations that precede the article's final publication in a MEDLINE journal, and more. Mobile access is available for PubMed.

The same content in PubMed can also be searched in Ovid MEDLINE .

Bracken Library Database Highlight

Date Coverage: 1946 – present
Web of Science (Core Collection)
A large, multidisciplinary database, Web of Science provides access to bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references from scholarly journals and conference proceedings. A cited reference search enables you to find articles that cite a previously published work.

This database consists of these subject components, which can be searched simultaneously or individually (to search individually, limit to required citation database(s) at bottom of screen):

Science Citation Index Expanded - science and technology journals from 1900-present
Social Sciences Citation Index - social sciences journals from 1956-present
Arts & Humanities Citation Index - arts and humanities journals from 1975-present
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S) from 1990-present
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) from 1990-present
Journal Citation Reports (listing impact factors and other journal performance metrics) are available through Web of Science.

Science Citation Index: 1900 - present ; Social Sciences Citation Index: 1956 - present ; Arts and Humanities: 1975 - present
VisualDx

VisualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety. With a strong dermatology component, this application can help quickly build a differential to evaluate the possibilities, compare variations, and improve diagnostic accuracy. Its vast medical image library includes many skin types, and pigments effectively providing access to clinical information and images at the point of care, on any device - mobile, tablet, or desktop. Images may be used in course management systems.

Find more databases